We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near convention center and inexpensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassadors Inn & Suites - Virginia Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassadors Inn & Suites - Virginia Beach to your Saves list
Ambassadors Inn & Suites - Virginia Beach
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   716 21st St., Virginia Beach, VA 23451 (Formerly Quality Inn Pavilion)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Near convention center and inexpensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

I was on business and they wouldn't pay for the Doubletree, the "official" conference hotel. The place was just across the street so it was cheaper and really convenient. The room was adequate--clean but smelled musty, mismatched paint, stained carpet, but livable. I would not stay here for a trip to the beach, but access to the convention center was wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    13
    20
    9
    25
See reviews for
27
9
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, Maryland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Folks for the adult this hotel is terrible, it is at the end of Interstate 264 as you head into the Oceanfront Area of Va. Beach, It is Isolated , dreary and depressing, It is a about a six block wlk to the oceanfront, there are few restaurants near the hotel, except at the beach. The rooms are extremely old as well as the building, the noise from the Interstate is enough to make you want to bang your head into the wall. Now for the young Adult this place is fine, low rates and close to the beach, good place for a party, Or for anyone who is not going to spend a lot of time in there rooms, but again you get what you pay for, i would much rather be in a clean, friendly establishment then this hell hole. I only reason that I stayed here was for the fact that it was off season, and the room rate was 29 dollars a night, Should Have Known Better. Skip this hotel if you aren't going to party.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, ask for a room away from 21st street, which turns into Interstate 264, near t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

My friend and I were in Virginia Beach for the Rock and Roll Half Marathon this Labor Day weekend. This Quality Inn was pretty much the only place I called (and I called many) where we were able to get a room just for one night. Everywhere else required a 2 night minimum. I read the reviews and was a bit apprehensive, but the location was ideal. It is an older hotel. But...it was clean, it had a refrigerator. microwave, coffee maker, iron and blow dryer. The bed was more comfortable than a lot of the pricey hotels. And the staff was as friendly as can be. The beach is only a few blocks away; there is a lot of foot traffic so we felt safe. It's right off I-264. Thank you Quality Inn, I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here one night, it was the worse place ever. You walk in and it smells bad. Bathroom is dirty black mold around tub. When we went to shower a huge bug was in the shower, towels were stained carpets looked dirty there was some trash left from people before. Our door didn't lock, when it did our key wouldn't work. Went trough six keys. Suppose to be free breakfast went in and they had prices writen on paper towels two dollars for bacon. Not to mention woke up with bites on my leg. Don't stay here, please choose somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Check in time was at 3 and we arrived at 5. When we got there, 4 different maids were going in and out of our room, as well as 3 other rooms. We sat for an hour to wait for them to finish. As they were cleaning, all 4 would attend to one room and leave the others with their doors open and unattended. When they finished, we went up to our room to notice an incredibly strong smell of Windex. The door didn't shut all the way, the microwave was broken, the fridge froze everything, the curtains let light in, and their was noticeable black mold. I'm not even close to done yet, this was just what we noticed at the very beginning. the water nozzle for the shower was on side ways and the bathroom towels were dirty. Since we were only staying 2 nights we decided to stick it out. The next day, upon returning from an outing to the beach, we arrived at our room to find that our key no longer worked. We had to go to the front desk where the key was processed through a machine and no explanation was given as to why it had not worked earlier. When we woke on the final morning, we finally made the most important and disturbing finding - bed bugs. Multiple. In the bed and scattered throughout the room. After further investigation, we detected the stains of bed bug fecal matter on the sheets and boric acid hidden behind the bed skirt. The boric acid has led us to believe that the management already knew about the bed bug problem but chose not to inform its customers. We packed up our bags and left immediately. Many belongings had to be thrown out and thoroughly cleaned out of precaution, though I still worry that the infestation will spread to my home.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityPavilion154, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassadors Inn & Suites - Virginia Beach, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Hello

The Management would like to take this opportunity to thank you for Choosing & staying at Quality Inn Pavilion.

We really appreciate your comment & when you brought this matter to the attention of the Front Desk during your check out , they offered if they can do anything to help you for the inconvenience, which you declined & they still offered 50% discount off your next visit to Quality Inn Pavilion. Once we sincerely apologies for the inconvenience & hope you will again consider to give us another opportunity to serve you.

Once again we sincerely apologies to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Really Good experience , i stayed in quality inn on 4th july with my friends
Room Cleaness excellent, and everything perfact
And Biggest SwimmingPool Awesome
Nice place to stay For vacation with Good prise
breakfast is good and Frontdesk and Manager really Helpful to give all informations
I defenetley will go in next week...............................................

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityPavilion154, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassadors Inn & Suites - Virginia Beach, responded to this review, August 7, 2011
Hello

The management would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for Choosing & Staying at Quality Inn Pavilion in Virginia Beach . The Stay reviews are very helpful to us as it gives us our strength & points of weakness in giving a pleasant, comfortable & a memorable stay to all our guests.

Once again thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

Quality Inn Pavilion, Virginia Beach is the worst place to stay. It took forever to check-in. Front desk do not answer phones. The bathrom door got locked when we stayed at Quality Inn and we had to walk back and forth from the lobby several times to get it the hotel management attention as they would answer the phone .

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityPavilion154, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassadors Inn & Suites - Virginia Beach, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Hello

The management of Quality inn Pavilion would like to take this opportunity to thank you for staying with us & your feedback's are very important to us as it gives us ideas of our weakness or how to improve for future.
We sincerely apologies for the inconvenience & hope you will accept our apology.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassadors Inn & Suites - Virginia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassadors Inn & Suites - Virginia Beach

Address: 716 21st St., Virginia Beach, VA 23451 (Formerly Quality Inn Pavilion)
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ambassadors Inn & Suites - Virginia Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Ambassadors Inn & Suites - Virginia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Pavilion Hotel Virginia Beach
Pavilion Quality Inn
Quality Inn Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassadors Inn & Suites - Virginia Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.