We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TERRIBLE ROOM CONDITIONS!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Side Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Side Inn to your Saves list
Ocean Side Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3609 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Beach Quarters Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE ROOM CONDITIONS!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Checked in and back out in 15 minutes. Had 2 rooms reserved. Bed broken in one room and dismal furnishings. Dirty with hair in bathroom. Second room had leak over bathtub in ceiling which collapsed in when we touched it and dirty, putrid water ran out for over 60 seconds. Disgusting conditions overall. Would NEVER recommend this hotel to ANYONE!! Front desk clerk who checked us in was rude about refunding money and said we would forfeit one night deposit per room which had already been charged to our credit card 3 days prior. Had to call Front Office Manager the next day. She was helpful and refunded immediately. Had to find another hotel at 11 p.m. at night. AWFUL EXPERIENCE!!

Room Tip: Do NOT stay at this hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    13
    12
    17
    26
See reviews for
17
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Centreville, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This place was a "hot mess" ... old and run down.

I have no idea where to begin on this one. Family and I were very disappointed. Listed below are a few annoying things that I noticed

*elevator was small, old and slow
*mattresses were dirty
*could not access their wifi
*tv was so old we couldn't play xbox
*carpet was filthy
*beer cans and cigarettes were left and never cleaned up from a previous occupant
*sliding glass door looks like it hasn't been cleaned in months along w/the mirror in the bath room
*paint is chipping
*our main door didn't close all the way
*the drawers in the dresser were on their last leg

I could go on and on but basically ::

Pretty much EVERYTHING is OLD, RUNDOWN and OUTDATED.
We will NOT be staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We needed a room last minute and found Budget Lodge had one for us. The rate was great so we took it. We got there they let us go in early, the front desk accomodated everything we needed and she was so pleasant. The room was on the 6th floor it had a little kitchenette and a full bath. The beds were so comfortable and we had a great view of the beach. The pool was great also. This hotel is at the southern part of the beach and was quieter than the rest of the places on the beach. The breakfast is simple but it was good for us. The morning staff were great also! I would go back there in a heart beat and would tell anyone I knew to book there.

Room Tip: The sixth floor room 609 was great but I hear 610 is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

I have to admit, after reading some of these reviews, that I expected the worse. We made a spur of the moment decision to go to the beach for the night, living only 2 hours away. The prices at other hotels were outrageous, and most were sold out. We decided to try this hotel, since we knew we wouldn't be spending much time in the room. It was fine! The room itself was no different then any other hotel room at the beach! It was clean, fridge worked fine, a/c worked great.can't sit on the balcony because its too small, but that was fine, still had a view of the ocean. We go to the beach frequently and will include this hotel as one of our options for a place to stay..the elevator was a bit slow, but we were in no hurry to get anywhere.great visit!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middleton, ma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We went to Virginia beach with another couple (friends of ours) and they were recommended this hotel by the VA beach chamber of commerce. I kind of guessed that it was a lower-end hotel by the price, but if the COC recommended, I figured it must be okay, right? Wrong! The hotel is literally on a traffic island, surrounded by the road on all 4 sides. You can see the beach from most rooms, but it is not "on the beach". The rug had stains all over it, the bedpreads were all frayed (we took them right off the bed when we got there and just used the sheets. At least the sheets were clean.) The moulding on the walls was all mildewy, was were parts of the ceiling. The drapes had moth-holes in them, and were held together with masking tape and safety pins (no lie!) and the shower had sporadic hot water. The room was so run down and smelled musty. The railing to the balcony was all rusted, wiggly and unsafe. NOT fun at all. Upon walking into the room, we would have packed up and stayed elsewhere but it was a holiday weekend and there were no rooms available on such short notice. Our friends' room was the same, except their room was a little worse if you can believe that. The only good things about the hotel was that the staff was nice and the mattress, believe it or not, was really comfortable. I would never stay at this hotel again. We kept saying over and over that we would have spent a few hundred dollars more to stay at a nicer place. This place was totally gross.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Trail, North Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

Let me say the only good thing about the hotel is that it has a beachview. The hotel is old and rundown. even the non smoking room still smelled like cigarettes smell. The window to the balcony would not open. The air conditioner does not work. Another room that was offered to me still smell out and had the same dirty look to it. What have switched to another hotel but they would not refund my money. The bathtub with full of salt like it has never been cleaned. Final straw was when a fire alarm went off in the middle of the night. We had to evacuate the hotel. Also in both rooms leftover dirty food was in the microwaves. Like I said I would not comeeven if there was an emergency.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

great location for the price. nothing amazing about the place but it was a good place to sleep . if the price was any higher i wouldnt stay there again though.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Side Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Side Inn

Address: 300 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3609 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Beach Quarters Inn)
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#50 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Side Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Side Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Beach Quarters Hotel Virginia Beach
Best Western Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Side Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.