We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I hope you like questionable 90s rock.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Ocean Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Ocean Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Ocean Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1101 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3503   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
1 review
“I hope you like questionable 90s rock.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

If you enjoy bad bands playing extremely loud 90s rock music until 2am this is the hotel for you! In an effort to join them and not beat them we went to the famed Calyspo Bar and Grill. The music is more defined and articulate from our balcony. Save yourself $10 of watered down drinks and the lingering stench of cigeretes and just drink in your room. That way you pass out before the music annoys you all night. On the bright side, you can be as loud as you want because Calypso will always be louder.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    1 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ocean City, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Where do we begin? My husband and I came from Sterling and stayed one night because he wanted to go surfing. At check-in, although the front desk people were very friendly and obviously had good camraderie, we quickly found out there was a "group" staying the weekend and that it was a fraternity. They put us in an area away from the group, but little did we know that wouldn't save us from a nightmare. When you walk through the hotel you smell this weird chemical smell and when you enter your room you are hit with a worse chemical smell that almost knocks you over. There is a bar downstairs that does not stop until 2 a.m. God-awful beats that rattle your windows along with shouting - I think the same drunk frat guy was repeatedly hooting until the party stopped and sounds like the party is in the next room The alarm clock is pre-set to sound off at 12AM. There are two dim lights in the room. I didn't even want to touch the door to the balcony because it was covered in some sludge, which was also all over the tv. I'm not sure what it was but I didn't want to touch anything and I slept in my clothes because it felt so dirty. No breakfast, no coffee, not even a "how was your stay?" at checkout, even though I was relieved they didn't ask because I might have just cried. My husbands words as we were leaving "this place is a curse"

Room Tip: Do not stay here ever
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had to laugh when we arrived because every review mentioned a rude front desk assistant and customer service related complaints. Those reviews were confirmed as I walked through the door. The front desk staff member was rude and complaining she "needed a drink." There was a mix up where people were in rooms not assigned to them. It took about 20 minutes to check in.

The lady at the desk mentioned the hotel was bought out by the Hilton chain. Makes sense... she doesn't care about her job because she knows it will be over after this season when the hotel becomes a Double Tree.

The hotel itself was the typical VA Beach modest hotel. However, it was seriously lacking maintenance and housekeeping.

Cons:
The sliding door to the balcony did not lock.

The sheets were dirty!

The balcony had trash from previous tenant.

The bathroom was gross.

There was a Calypso go-go live band just outside our balcony playing until 2am-- if you are a light sleeper or have children, it is not the place for you.

The staff was smoking pot in the maid closet next to our room so our entire room smelled of it.

Worst mattresses ever.

All in all, go elsewhere.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

The front desk people were not friendly or helpful. The "help" walking around the hotel look like thugs. They put us in an o.k. room. After an hour in the room a lady knocked on our door and told us the front desk was moving us. We called the.front desk and they told us we had to move. We didn't understand what was happening. The moved us 3 stories down on the other side of the hotel where attached is a bar/restaurant that often has live bands. It was loud, not just from music, but from drunk people screaming. It was a nightmare. After a few hours of complaining we were finally able to switch to the other side of the hotel which isn't as loud. We were lured in by the low price. The quality of the rooms was poor. The balcony door was not locked in any of the 3 rooms we were in, and it looked fairly easy to get on your neighbors balcony. We felt mistreated. We didn't feel safe. We were miserable from noise. We would never go back and wouldn't recommend anyone stay.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

Got to the hotel at 4pm and most rooms were not cleaned. The initial room we were given, which was suppose to have been one of the clean ones, had sand and dirt in the tub. The balcony doors were open to air out the smoky smell, and the tables were sticky. The cleaning person happen to be at the front desk when we said we wanted another room and stated right in front of the desk clerk that she had cleaned that room. If it wasn't for the diligence of the two nice people working the desk we would have walked.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

The Staff could have been friendlier during check in, the bathroom was not very clean hair on the toilet, the inside of the toilet was not cleaned. The beds were made but kinda sloppy looking. Not the best hotel we have been to but definitely not the worst either.

Stayed March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Ocean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Ocean Hotel

Address: 1101 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3503
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grand Ocean Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Ocean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Sands Oceanfront Virginia Beach
Atlantic Sands Oceanfront Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Ocean Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.