We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Is A Well Kept Old Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 Pavilion Drive, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 115 hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Portsmouth, VA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“This Is A Well Kept Old Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

I like how they give all guests a free chocolate chip cookie with nuts when they check in. They have Neutrogena products in the bathroom.The indoor pool area was ice cold. The weight room had so many weights. And the Max and Erma's had great food. When we stayed in this hotel, the electricity went out. And the water went off. Therefore, I had to climb down and up 12 flights of stairs in a stairwell with no heat when the wind chill was 14 degrees outside to get some breakfast! The elevators look very old. And I have never seen marble floors in a hotel bathroom before. This is now the Doubletree that's closest to my home since the one in Norfolk was closed down recently for being so horrible.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTbyHiltonVB_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear BigBlueBeast:
I am so sorry you were here during a power outage. Thank you for your kind words regarding the restaurant and your overall experience.
Sincerely,
Melanie Bowman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    156
    189
    134
    81
    73
See reviews for
160
136
49
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, MD
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

My husband had a bad impression of Doubletree Hotels. My experiences had always been good ones and this was no different! I very happily report that our stay at this hotel changed my husband's opinion! We arrived at the hotel in the middle of a squall. The receptionist told us we just missed the hailstorm. The desk clerk greeted us cheerily and offered us the usual warm chocolate chip cookies. They felt great to hold in my cold hands! I always look forward to the cookies during my stays at the Doubletree but my husband who loves chocolate chip cookies cannot eat nuts. After my futile attempt to pick out the nuts for him I asked the desk clerk if they had any nut-free cookies available. She replied, "I'll check on that and if we don't have any I'll have the kitchen whip up a batch for your husband." When we returned from our day's excursion we found a box of six chocolate chip cookies with a note, "Please enjoy these cookies!" That is assuring your guests are happy!! Aside from this delicious welcome treat, (daily treat I might add) the hotel itself is a bit aged but there are renovation projects in progess. Our room was very comfortable and was much nicer than we had expected for a "beach" hotel. We only wished there were an additional desk light beside the bed for reading and an outlet to plug in the coffee maker. We managed with the resources at hand and these minor inconveniences were not distressing. My husband had an issue with the air handling system which roared every time it went on and kept him up at night. I slept right through it since I was quite tired from all the walking during the day. The location of the hotel was perfect for convention center activities and the beach was walkable (if you like to walk... it is about a 20 minute walk). The hotel is very dog friendly and our little schnoodle had a wonderful time. It was wonderful to get away over the Thanksgiving holiday. The beach was very quiet and peaceful. The hotel staff was very attentive during the off season. We had a great time.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

The designers of this hotel must have crossed over to the hospitality industry from parking garage architecture.

Please go back to building parking garages. This isn't your life calling.

The hallways are dimly lit with weird blue flourescent lighting, it's like one of those weird horror films where everything is mysteriously dark and dreary.

It's obvious the rooms are old with a sorry attempt to modernize on a strict budget.

Hilton, sell this property to a budget-class chain. It is not deserving of the Hilton badge.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

I went to Virginia Beach for a short weekend getaway. We found a really good price online and were hoping that we wouldn't be disappointed. I was very surprised at how nice the staff were and the cookies you get at check-in are delicious! The rooms are pretty spacious and the beds are really comfortable. For the price- this hotel is a great deal! I was a little bit concerned when I saw the trip advisor rating- but the hotel proved much better than the rating. Thanks!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

We had a room for two nights to go the air show at NAS Oceana. We selected the hotel since it was close by - only 3-5 miles away from the air station. It looks like it was an older hotel that was rehab-ed. The parking lot is very dark. We tried to park in the front of the hotel near the restaurant entrance where there was a little more lighting. Interior hallways are dark too. If I had been traveling alone, I might have been a little concerned.
The rooms were smallish. No fans in the bathroom so they are very steamy. Front desk service was not great. I was waiting in line behind someone asking about the airshow. The front desk person knew nothing about it. I was a little surprised given the proximity. We couldn't have been the only guests attending. Mattresses are very uncomfortable. Restaurant food was passable - nothng spectacular. I wouldn't recommend it. I should have stayed on the beach. While it wasn't the worst place to stay, I won't be going back.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
w0rldtraveler007
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

This is a decent hotel for people interested in visiting Virginia Beach without staying on the loud strip but still wanting to be within walking distance. The staff was friendly and the room was decently updated and decorated. Some of the hallways did smell a bit like wet dog, but this is a pet friendly hotel, so that's to be expected. If you want to actually walk to the beach with beach chairs and accessories, however, this hotel is a bit too far and you'll end up driving down.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

We booked this hotel for the Rock n'Roll Half-Marathon weekend, with a 3 night package deal at $249 per night, regularly $275. The room was awful. Large stains covered the wallpaper on one wall. One lamp on a nightstand would not go on, which we figured out soon enough as there was no outlet. We had to rig an extension cord across the top of the headboard to get a reading lamp on that side. The corner lamp on the same wall could not be plugged in for the same reason, and we couldn't figure a way to do both. Next morning, we found that the coffee pot also had no outlet, so we had to dig the extension cord out from behind the dresser to plug it in. The bathtub had a large crack and enamel damage in one corner. The bathroom was too small for two to use comfortably. The wall-unit air conditioner was noisey and ineffective. The picture on the old tube-style TV was so dull and faded we could barely see it. The time on the alarm clock was off by several hours, and could not be set without tools and an engineering degree (this alarm clock is used in a lot of Hilton Hotels, and is a pain), so we had to call maintenance to get the clock set. In addition, one elevator seemed to be perpetually out of service all weekend.

This hotel brings shame to the Hilton family name, and should be ashamed for outrageously over-pricing these rooms for what you get. Staying in a cramped noisey room with stained walls and extension cords strung all over the place is something you might find in Harlem by the hour. It is clear hotel management is taking full advantage of being the only hotel next to the convention center.

On the bright side, the people were nice.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach

Address: 1900 Pavilion Drive, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#24 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Virginia Beach is perfectly located adjacent to the Virginia Beach Convention Center in the resort area of Virginia Beach. The Hotel is just eight blocks from the sand and surf of the beautiful Virginia Beach Oceanfront and Boardwalk. Our newly-appointed, spacious guestrooms set us apart from the others, and feature all the comforts of home with a long list of amenities to include Neutrogena products. For your convenience, we have upgraded the high-speed Internet access that is available in all guestrooms and meeting rooms. Enjoy a workout in our Precor® Fitness Center, take a dip in the indoor pool or sunbathe on our sundeck. Our on-site Max & Erma's Restaurant is ready to serve you from sunrise to sundown. Whether you visit for business, vacation or getaway weekend, our friendly, helpful staff at the Doubletree Hotel Virginia Beach looks forward to welcoming you with our special, signature warm chocolate chip cookie at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Virginia Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Doubletree Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.