We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 Pavilion Drive, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #46 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I spent the past weekend at the hotel and for the price I paid, ($200.00 a night) I was very disappointed . It feels and look old and outdated and thats becuase it is! The room had a strong smell of urine and I imagine the previous guest had a dog (animals allowed) that pissed on the carpet. The hotel should be replaced in the carpet in the whole building. .

The lights in the parking lot don't work except for the main entrance. It's a safety issue and the hotel staffed used a "standard line" by saying they'd report it to maintenance. I bought it up with them upon my arrival which was late Friday night and again on Saturday evening. Based on their response, I got the impression that this isssue won't be addressed until a guest is hurt or assaulted. "It's scary and NOT SAFE!!

The staff was pleasant, the hotel is located right off the highway ( 264) and it is also next to the VB convention center and just a couple of miles or less away from the beach.

Next time I'll either pay the extra money and stay at a "broadwalk hotel" or pay less and make a commute to the beach from 20-25 miles out.

This should not be anyone's first chocie.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTbyHiltonVB_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear James J:
Thank you for taking time to share feedback with us, both during your stay and through your review. While we were not able to correct these issues during your stay, we are moving forward with new carpeting in all the guest rooms now that our summer season has passed. We are also expanding our parking area, which includes additional lighting this month. I do apologize that the initial phase of this project impacted your stay.
Sincerely,
Melanie Bowman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    231
    157
    87
    81
See reviews for
200
164
52
217
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, VA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This was the only hotel we could get with my Hilton Honors points during the Neptune Festival in VA Beach. Like other reviewers, we found the walking distance to the oceanfront is longer than advertised, and you go down a sketchy street that I wouldn't want to be on after dark. We were checked into the "VIP floor" but the room smelled so bad (mildew), we asked to be changed. The room we were switched to was no better so we went out to buy some Glade, which lasted about 2 hours each spraying. The furniture was old and worn, the elevators smelled of cigarette smoke and the carpet in our room had cigarette burns. This place needs to be gutted and start all over. If the hotel stay had not been "free", we would have moved.

Room Tip: If you go here, ask for a north side room because the fighters from Air Station Oceana were flying m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTbyHiltonVB_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Annual_Skier:
Thank you for taking time to share your experience. I do apologize that you did no enjoy your stay. We are looking to replace guest room carpet as well as the soft seating in the guest rooms this winter, which will completely refresh the rooms. I do hope you will stay with us again soon to experience the new things we are so looking forward to providing.
Sincerely,
Melanie Bowman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We found this Doubletree clean and good price. It was next door to the Convention Center which was convenient for us attending the Convention Center. A few complaints... It is not as close to the beach as the advertisement makes it sound, we definitely drove to the shore. Also the elevators were extremely slow and one wasn't even working. If loud planes are an issue with you, then I would not suggest staying there, but then again the loud jet planes were flying all over the whole weekend so I doubt any hotel was peaceful.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTbyHiltonVB_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear B S:
Thank you for your comments and for sharing your concerns. The elevators are slower than we would like, which is one of the reasons we are looking into replacement options. We do provide a shuttle to the beach from Memorial Day through Labor Day, and this year we extended that service an additional week because of its popularity. You are also on point with the jets - air show weekends are awesome to watch and can be a bit loud.
Thank you again for your comments,
Melanie Bowman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

The staff at this hotel was very friendly and always helpful, but it seemed the circumstances of the corporate rules, they couldn't be as helpful as they wanted. For example, we found mold in our room and the cleaning staff told us they weren't allowed to clean it and that it was a job for maintainance. Overall, the accommodations were not worth the price.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTbyHiltonVB_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear aroderick18:
Thank you for your kind words about our staff. I'm not sure what corporate rules would prevent a team member from assisting our guests, but I can assure you that will always be our primary objective - providing the special comforts and acts of kindness that make each guest's stay memorable.
Sincerely,
Melanie Bowman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed at the double tree for the rock and roll 1/2 marathon. Or the expo and the race the location was excellent. The hotel however was in desperate need of updating. The lobby and resturant looked newer but the rooms were a little worn. The hotel also had an smell of cigarette smoke which as a runner was hard to stomach. The smell got better or maybe we got used to it. Even with this said I would stay at this hotel again if I was racing because of the location.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTbyHiltonVB_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear AbbyOB:
Thank you for staying with us for race day! We are always so please to host runners and organizers for the Rock 'n Roll half marathon and look forward to this partnership for a long time to come. We are looking forward to some guest room updates, in addition to the new TVs and bedding package already in place. See you again next year!
Sincerely,
Melanie Bowman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed with our 6 & 4 year old boys from Wednesday through Friday stay right before Labor day weekend. Property is very close to the beach but not walking distance thou, hotel does provide free shuttle to the beach every 30 min to the hour. We just took our car and found free parking by shops since it was a weekday, plenty of parking right across from Hilton Hotel "Catch 31" bar.
Hotel's pool was cold so couldn't enjoy it at all, has no hot tub/jacuzzi. Everything in hotel was working and we had no issues but there is nothing in this property that jumps out at you, it lacks the WOW factor, carpet and hallways are dark, I wish it was more bright or sunny look. Hotel does have a musty funky smell with stained carpets in rooms.
Breakfast buffet is OK as well, not bad.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTbyHiltonVB_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Sager K:
Thank you for your comments. I'm very glad you enjoyed your visit to Virginia Beach and look forward to your next stay with us. We are excited to replace carpeting and do a little additional upgrading to the property furing the slower months, and hope you will experience a WOW factor when you return.
Sincerely,
Melanie Bowman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I stayed here because it was right across the street from the convention center.
Very friendly and helpful staff. As always, the warm chocolate chip cookies are yummy!
As many of the other reviews stated, the rooms are okay. Comfortable beds, but peeling wall paper and very worn furniture. The AC was very loud and doesn't cycle off when it gets to the temperature set. Decent breakfast buffett in the restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTbyHiltonVB_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear WSG34:
Thank you for your review. I'm pleased you found our staff friendly and enjoyed the fabulous cookies! This is the time of year we focus on the maintenance and mechanical items in our guest rooms to ensure future stays are pleasant. We are looking forward to new carpeting and updating the furnishings in the rooms as well.
Thank you again,
Melanie Bowman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach

Address: 1900 Pavilion Drive, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#18 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Virginia Beach is perfectly located adjacent to the Virginia Beach Convention Center in the resort area of Virginia Beach. The Hotel is just eight blocks from the sand and surf of the beautiful Virginia Beach Oceanfront and Boardwalk. Our newly-appointed, spacious guestrooms set us apart from the others, and feature all the comforts of home with a long list of amenities to include Neutrogena products. For your convenience, we have upgraded the high-speed Internet access that is available in all guestrooms and meeting rooms. Enjoy a workout in our Precor® Fitness Center, take a dip in the indoor pool or sunbathe on our sundeck. Our on-site Max & Erma's Restaurant is ready to serve you from sunrise to sundown. Whether you visit for business, vacation or getaway weekend, our friendly, helpful staff at the Doubletree Hotel Virginia Beach looks forward to welcoming you with our special, signature warm chocolate chip cookie at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Virginia Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Doubletree Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.