We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doubletree Virginia Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 Pavilion Drive, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #49 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Franklin, Tennessee
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Doubletree Virginia Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

We found this Doubletree clean and good price. It was next door to the Convention Center which was convenient for us attending the Convention Center. A few complaints... It is not as close to the beach as the advertisement makes it sound, we definitely drove to the shore. Also the elevators were extremely slow and one wasn't even working. If loud planes are an issue with you, then I would not suggest staying there, but then again the loud jet planes were flying all over the whole weekend so I doubt any hotel was peaceful.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTbyHiltonVB_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear B S:
Thank you for your comments and for sharing your concerns. The elevators are slower than we would like, which is one of the reasons we are looking into replacement options. We do provide a shuttle to the beach from Memorial Day through Labor Day, and this year we extended that service an additional week because of its popularity. You are also on point with the jets - air show weekends are awesome to watch and can be a bit loud.
Thank you again for your comments,
Melanie Bowman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    247
    167
    94
    84
See reviews for
217
167
54
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

The staff at this hotel was very friendly and always helpful, but it seemed the circumstances of the corporate rules, they couldn't be as helpful as they wanted. For example, we found mold in our room and the cleaning staff told us they weren't allowed to clean it and that it was a job for maintainance. Overall, the accommodations were not worth the price.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTbyHiltonVB_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear aroderick18:
Thank you for your kind words about our staff. I'm not sure what corporate rules would prevent a team member from assisting our guests, but I can assure you that will always be our primary objective - providing the special comforts and acts of kindness that make each guest's stay memorable.
Sincerely,
Melanie Bowman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the double tree for the rock and roll 1/2 marathon. Or the expo and the race the location was excellent. The hotel however was in desperate need of updating. The lobby and resturant looked newer but the rooms were a little worn. The hotel also had an smell of cigarette smoke which as a runner was hard to stomach. The smell got better or maybe we got used to it. Even with this said I would stay at this hotel again if I was racing because of the location.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTbyHiltonVB_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear AbbyOB:
Thank you for staying with us for race day! We are always so please to host runners and organizers for the Rock 'n Roll half marathon and look forward to this partnership for a long time to come. We are looking forward to some guest room updates, in addition to the new TVs and bedding package already in place. See you again next year!
Sincerely,
Melanie Bowman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed with our 6 & 4 year old boys from Wednesday through Friday stay right before Labor day weekend. Property is very close to the beach but not walking distance thou, hotel does provide free shuttle to the beach every 30 min to the hour. We just took our car and found free parking by shops since it was a weekday, plenty of parking right across from Hilton Hotel "Catch 31" bar.
Hotel's pool was cold so couldn't enjoy it at all, has no hot tub/jacuzzi. Everything in hotel was working and we had no issues but there is nothing in this property that jumps out at you, it lacks the WOW factor, carpet and hallways are dark, I wish it was more bright or sunny look. Hotel does have a musty funky smell with stained carpets in rooms.
Breakfast buffet is OK as well, not bad.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTbyHiltonVB_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Sager K:
Thank you for your comments. I'm very glad you enjoyed your visit to Virginia Beach and look forward to your next stay with us. We are excited to replace carpeting and do a little additional upgrading to the property furing the slower months, and hope you will experience a WOW factor when you return.
Sincerely,
Melanie Bowman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I stayed here because it was right across the street from the convention center.
Very friendly and helpful staff. As always, the warm chocolate chip cookies are yummy!
As many of the other reviews stated, the rooms are okay. Comfortable beds, but peeling wall paper and very worn furniture. The AC was very loud and doesn't cycle off when it gets to the temperature set. Decent breakfast buffett in the restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTbyHiltonVB_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear WSG34:
Thank you for your review. I'm pleased you found our staff friendly and enjoyed the fabulous cookies! This is the time of year we focus on the maintenance and mechanical items in our guest rooms to ensure future stays are pleasant. We are looking forward to new carpeting and updating the furnishings in the rooms as well.
Thank you again,
Melanie Bowman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flowery Branch, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We arrived slightly before 4p and were told that no rooms were ready yet. The front desk staff was very disorganized and quite rude. When they started assigning rooms, there was a long line as the lobby was packed with others also waiting for their rooms. We didn't get into our room until almost 5p.
The hotel in general is old and worn out looking with a musty smell. Our room had dirty carpet with a large stain, The bathroom ceiling tiles were falling down and the shower curtain was rusty up near the rod.
We were tired from driving up from Georgia so we decided to stay. The next day we went out for the day with family and got back around 6p and our room hadn't even been cleaned yet. It was over an hour before anyone showed up to do it. We never did get the pillows that we requested at check in. Again the staff was rude and uninterested, so we checked out the next morning.

Room Tip: pick a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTbyHiltonVB_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Jean H:
I am very sorry felt our staff was rude and unorganized. Our check-in time is 4:00pm, and while we do our very best to have rooms ready before that time, we are not always able to do so. The Front Desk staff are constantly checking on available rooms with Housekeeping so that guests who arrive early receive the first available rooms. Sometimes this can appear very hectic, but it is all done in an effort to accommodate our guests. The hotel is 28 years old, but has been regularly updated and renovated. We are excited to have new carpet installed this fall and a refresh to our furniture and new lounge chairs in each guest room. Again, I do apologize that your experience was below our standards and do hope you will reconsider staying with us again.
Sincerely,
Melanie Bowman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This Doubletree is about 2 miles from the beach. It is a convetion hotel. But if you don't mind driving to the beach each day you can get a great deal on a 4 star room if there is no convention in town at the time (very expensive if there is)
No complaints, really enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTbyHiltonVB_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Steve J:
Thank you for your comments regarding our hotel. We hope to see you again soon!
Sincerely,
Melanie Bowman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach

Address: 1900 Pavilion Drive, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#23 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Virginia Beach is perfectly located adjacent to the Virginia Beach Convention Center in the resort area of Virginia Beach. The Hotel is just eight blocks from the sand and surf of the beautiful Virginia Beach Oceanfront and Boardwalk. Our newly-appointed, spacious guestrooms set us apart from the others, and feature all the comforts of home with a long list of amenities to include Neutrogena products. For your convenience, we have upgraded the high-speed Internet access that is available in all guestrooms and meeting rooms. Enjoy a workout in our Precor® Fitness Center, take a dip in the indoor pool or sunbathe on our sundeck. Our on-site Max & Erma's Restaurant is ready to serve you from sunrise to sundown. Whether you visit for business, vacation or getaway weekend, our friendly, helpful staff at the Doubletree Hotel Virginia Beach looks forward to welcoming you with our special, signature warm chocolate chip cookie at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Hilton Hotels so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Virginia Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Doubletree Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.