We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid unless absolutely necessary” 2 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 Pavilion Drive, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #45 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Richmond, VA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Avoid unless absolutely necessary”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2007

Like many of the other reviewers, I stayed here for a conference that I was attending at the convention center and the conference had special group rates. The special group rate was higher than some of the better hotels on the beach (this was in september).

Mold all over the bathroom walls. There was even mold on the outside wall of the bathroom (room-facing). Not suprising since there's no bathroom fans. No creamers for the coffee, but since there was coffee at the convention center, I was able to make it another 20 minutes.

This isn't a typical Doubletree--they ought to remove the name and put Econolodge, but on second thought...that's not being fair to Econolodge.

The internet was $10 and was slower (about 36K). You can get a PeoplePC account for that much (not sure if you need a contract...haven't used dial-up in 5 years).

  • Liked — Departure
  • Disliked — hair in the shower
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    231
    157
    87
    81
See reviews for
200
163
52
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2007

Stayed one night at the Doubletree Virginia Beach 9/14-9/15. As a Diamond Level HH member, I stay in lots of Doubletree's every year and this one is one of the dumpier one's I have stayed at.

The hotel room floors are dark. I had a room on the 11th floor and it had a very moldy smell to it. The bed was great and I was given the free internet access and breakfast coupons as a Diamond member.
The restaurant served pretty good food but the service was very slow and unorganized.

Considering the distance from the beach I will stay at the Hilton Garden Inn on my next Va. Beach trip.

Chris

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Dark halls and musty smell in guest room.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2007

Uninterested front desk, no cookies at check-in or check out.

Room was ok except for very loud a/c unit, bathroom was terrible: mildew on tiles, glazing stripped off of bottom of tub.

Although this wasn't the hotel's fault, guests from a large wedding were in the hall until 4am making lots of noise.

This would have been ok for $80 or less, but at $150 (with tax) was very disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerzee!!!
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2007

My family and I stayed here 8/10-8/13 and it was great!!! We arrived at 6am after driving all night... The staff accomodated us immediately! THANK GOD! =) We had our puppy with us and feared we would get a "pet room," but that didn't happen at all... Our room was very clean and did not smell!!! We were given extra towels, coffee and tea when we asked for it... The room did need a couple of small fixings but nothing to make it uncomfortable. We blew a fuze and they fixed it within 10 minutes. Hot water all weekend long... Good safe parking... I really had a wonderful time and would definitely recommend it for anyone with pets... Only down is that it's not on the beach but they do have a shuttle that runs 8am-10pm to and from the beach area.
The restaurant was delicious... All the food we ate was very, very good and reasonably priced. Plus I loved the "Drink of the Day" promos!

  • Liked — That I could bring my puppy with me!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2007

Let me start by stating that my husband and I are Hilton Grand Vacation mnembers and have been frequent visitors to Va Beach for the past 10 years. Normally we stay on the beach but chose to stay at this property with our 3 children ages 10,12 and 13. What a mistake! We were in rooms 933 and 935 - the problems include: mold on bathroom tiles, gaping holes in bathroom, cigarette burns on desks, furniture was slashed, the back of the bathroom door had peeling paint and was warped, the entire wall in rm 933 was caved in and destroyed due to water damage (the hotel attempts to cover this up with wall paper). Engineering was contacted but seeemd clueless as to what to do.

The final insult was the problems with the television set. None of the channels seemed to work. After searching to find a show to watch, a porn channel popped on the regular television chnannel. Thank goodness my chldren weren't in the room at the time. I frantically contact the front desk, the staff manning the front desk seemed clueless. When I mention there are children in the room..again they seem clueless and attempt to push a button to correct the problem. Nothing happens. I call a 2nd time an engineer comes up. Larry the engineer , shares that this problem has been going on all week. What!?? No notification from hotel management ..knowing chidren are guests in the hotel?? As he proceeds to disconnect the cable box, the PORN is still on the television!! Now Larry claims its a problem with the cable company and suggests that I just don't go to channel 52. At this point I'm livid and disgusted.

The Hilton name has always stood for both high quality and high standards, until now. I would not recommend this hotel for five minutes or five days. We won't be returning and plan on drafting letters of complaint to be sent to the the appropriate parties

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2007

This is a decent hotel. It is not close to the beach, just so you understand. I was a little upset that the beach shuttle stopped running early one night just because the driver had to leave work early. The rooms are nice and worth the price we paid ($103 all inclusive). There's TONS of free parking and you can check out, hit the shuttle, hit the beach and leave your car there forever!

  • Liked — Rooms
  • Disliked — Location to beach
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2007

Stayed at the Doubletree for three nights during the week of July 9th. Room was clean but not spacious, no internet access and no fridge in room. A/C very loud to the point where it interupted sleep. Housekeeping is a crap shoot, they do the minimum and arrive very late in the day, after 4 PM. The guy selling the timeshares at the front desk is a royal pain in the you know where. Constantly selling regardless if you tell him you are not interested.

About a 15 minute walk to the beach if interested. The hotel provides a free shuttle every half hour to the beach. You will hear and see many fighter jets flying overhead throughout the day and night, although you don't hear them overnight.

The gym is not a gym. 2 treadmills, 2 bikes, and an eliptical machine and one chest press machine is the fitness center. We wouldn't step one toe in the pool, looked disgusting and unclean. Staff was friendly but not very helpful with restaurants as they would always recommend the hotel restaurant first, then a chain restaurant.

If the price is right, it's worth the stay.

  • Liked — bed
  • Disliked — few amenities
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach

Address: 1900 Pavilion Drive, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#18 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Virginia Beach is perfectly located adjacent to the Virginia Beach Convention Center in the resort area of Virginia Beach. The Hotel is just eight blocks from the sand and surf of the beautiful Virginia Beach Oceanfront and Boardwalk. Our newly-appointed, spacious guestrooms set us apart from the others, and feature all the comforts of home with a long list of amenities to include Neutrogena products. For your convenience, we have upgraded the high-speed Internet access that is available in all guestrooms and meeting rooms. Enjoy a workout in our Precor® Fitness Center, take a dip in the indoor pool or sunbathe on our sundeck. Our on-site Max & Erma's Restaurant is ready to serve you from sunrise to sundown. Whether you visit for business, vacation or getaway weekend, our friendly, helpful staff at the Doubletree Hotel Virginia Beach looks forward to welcoming you with our special, signature warm chocolate chip cookie at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Virginia Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Doubletree Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.