We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Norfolk/Virginia Beach

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Norfolk/Virginia Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Norfolk/Virginia Beach
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5793 Greenwich Road, Virginia Beach, VA 23462-6517   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 115 hotels in Virginia Beach
terri007
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I was a bit concerned reading some of the other reviews but the hotel was right near St. Mary's Home where we had an appointment at. However, the room was fabulously clean, contained a small fridge and microwave and just very nice. We were on the third floor above the pool. Unfortunately there was a convention of the Fraternal Order of Eagles at the nearby Holiday Inn and many of them were staying at the hotel. These are men and women in their late 50's to 70's that were running around like a bunch of drunk college kids on Spring Break. After midnight there were two women at the pool drinking and speaking loudly using language not appropriate for "polite society". I called the front desk and evidently I wasn't the only one. It took about 5 minutes for the security guard to get there but he finally ran them out. Unfortunately they were also on my floor so I heard them coming down the hall again like they were teenagers.
The breakfast was typical for the Hampton Inn and was fine.
The only reason this does not get five stars as it would have been better had there been more security as they had signs up all over the place saying "No Parties" and "No Alcohol" at the pool. It is unfortunate that a group of people who should know better act like such fools. I was never able to fall back to sleep and was not a happy camper about that. We checked in on June 20th and left the morning of the 21st.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Norfolk/Virginia Beach, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Terri007,

Thank you for the review on trip advisor, we appreciate you taking the time! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, outside of the noise from other guests.

We hope that you choose to stay with us again on a future visit to Virginia Beach!

Thank you,

Jennifer McMicken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    55
    24
    10
    6
See reviews for
64
37
14
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denton, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Hotel was extremely great with our large group of families and kids. Rooms were very clean. Great outdoor area with grill that we used. The ice machines always worked for us which was great since we were there for a Lacrosse Tournament. Kids enjoyed that pool. One of the best we stayed at while travelling with our large Lacrosse Family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Norfolk/Virginia Beach, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Hi Lacrosse Mom!

Thank you for the great review! I am glad that you and the family were able to enjoy your stay while you were here.

Please keep us in mind for your lodging needs on your next visit!

Thanks again,

Jennifer McMicken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonough, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stayed at this Hampton first week in June. I was immediatly impressed with the friendly and helpful staff. First impression of the room was how fresh it smelled. Most hotels have old stale kind of smell. It was very comfortable and my bed was extremly comfy, not sure what the last reviewer was complaining about. Definetly recommend this hotel if your coming into virginia beach!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Norfolk/Virginia Beach, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Hi Brianna D.,

Thank you for the great review! I appreciate you taking the time to review us. I am happy that you had a pleasant experience and that my staff impressed you!

We hope to see you on your next visit!

Thank you,
Jennifer McMicken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurinburg, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We were in a room with 2 full size beds, not queen as we were told we would have. Also the mattresses were made in 2004, dirty, torn, extremely uncomfortable. I will always check the mattresses before I pay for a room from now on. I have come to expect the best mattress from a Hampton, this is the one time we were extremely unsatisfied. Every other experience with The Hampton has been excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Norfolk/Virginia Beach, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Melanie B.,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at our hotel. We really appreciate your feedback and are very sorry for the condition of your mattresses. We will take your comments under consideration as we continuously work to improve our guest experience. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience and we hope you will come visit us in the future.

Regards,
Jennifer McMicken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Service is great. The hotel is very clean ( I'm pretty picky about that). Nice well kept pool outside. Our daughter was sleeping on the pull out sofa so we called down to the desk for more pillows and towels. They were delivered in about 5 minutes. Top all that with a free hot breakfast and free wifi -you've got yourself a happy family.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Norfolk/Virginia Beach, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Kweddle,

Thank you for your review! Glad to hear that you were able to enjoy many of our amenities! The outdoor pool is great when it is so hot out!

Hope to see you on your next visit!

Thank you again,
Jennifer McMicken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I an accustomed to even nice hotels having an odd smell. Not this one. The rooms were nice, smelled like they should, and everything was very clean. The staff was friendly and the breakfast area was clean and neat. I stayed for 3 nights and had a very good overall impression of this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Norfolk/Virginia Beach, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Reggie P.,

Thank you for the great review! We appreciate you taking the time to tell the tripadvisor community about our hotel. Please keep us in mind for your next visit to the VA Beach area!

Thanks again,
Jennifer McMicken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaumont, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hotel was wonderful! The staff(Dominic in particular) was wonderful! Our refrigerator was frozen and within ten minutes we had a new one! The room itself was so roomy and comfortable! I will stay at the Hampton every time I travel!

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor and it was quiet with fast access to the amenities and the car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Norfolk/Virginia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Norfolk/Virginia Beach

Address: 5793 Greenwich Road, Virginia Beach, VA 23462-6517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#11 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Norfolk/Virginia Beach 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Norfolk/Virginia Beach is situated between both cities with easy access to each. We are a short drive from the Norfolk International Airport and Virginia Beach Convention Center. Our hotel is conveniently located to area businesses and military bases, including Northrop Grumman, Riverside Corporate Center, Oceana, and Dam Neck. Enjoy free hot breakfast with Hampton's signature waffles and oatmeal every morning plus free wireless internet to keep you connected. Our guest and accessible rooms have the comforts of home with the clean and fresh Hampton bed plus a refrigerator and microwave. As always, your stay with us is backed by the 100% Hampton guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Norfolk/Virginia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Norfolk/Virginia Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Norfolk/Virginia Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.