We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great breakfast, adequate rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   1801 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #42 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great location, great breakfast, adequate rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

We chose this hotel based on it's location, which we thought would be adjacent to the 17th St Pavillion, where the Natchal Blues at the Beach Festival was held September 10-12. There turned out to be 2 hotels in between Country Inn and the Pavillion, but it was easily walkable and actually well located. The rooms were all ocean view with small balconies (big enough for 2 chairs), and our king bed room had a very small sitting/living room area with a small sofa and coffee table. The room was adequately sized for the two of us, but would have been crowded for a family. The furniture was utilitarian and covered with a waterproof/washable type of upholstery, so it was not luxurious but functional for a beachfront hotel. The hotel seemed freshly painted and the carpet was on the newer side - everything was clean. The bed was comfortable but pillows were too soft. Sheets were not changed over our 2 night stay, but we were given fresh towels. The indoor pool was truly indoors - no outside light penetrated at all, as it was on the inside of the hotel. When we saw that, we were not enticed into trying it out at all. The breakfast bar was certainly a highlight - one morning the hot offerings included scrambled eggs, biscuits, and sausage gravy, and the other morning we had scrambled eggs, hash brown patties, and sausage patties. There were also belgian waffle makers available, with other standards such as fruit, yoghurt, bagels, pastries, and juices. Neither I nor my boyfriend liked the sausage gravy - bland, institutional and tasteless - but everything else was great. The breakfast room seemed an adequate size but was very crowded and full both mornings we were there. Our room was clean, but the bathroom fixtures were old and patching jobs were evident on the walls and ceilings. The room doors were difficult to close, both to the outside hall and to the bathroom, and it appeared that this older hotel had settled somewhat. Our safe did not work, but we did not request another and just locked up valuables in the trunk of the car. One nice feature of the hotel was garage parking on the level of our 5th floor room, so that we could unload our car and go directly to our room without having to navigate elevators. Overall a reasonable place to stay, but the price (roughly $200 a night) seems a bit overpriced for what we got.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsgm, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 16, 2010
Dear Merrileigh:

We appreciate you taking the time on posting a comment about your recent stay with us.
I am glad to read that your overall experience was an enjoyable one. I hope that the Natchal Blues Festival was just as enjoyable.
On behalf of our entire staff here at the Country Inns & Suites we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,
Tony Sierra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    136
    92
    34
    30
See reviews for
206
126
13
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

Great staff, very helpful. Room was nice, love the view. The swimming pool was great nice and warm. Breakfast was great. The hotel was always clean, never looked dirty. housekeepers were great they cleaned the room and helped if we needed them.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

My family and I have spent the last couple years in Virginia Beach and stayed at this hotel when it was a Howard Johnson - we liked it then - it needed some updating but they have done it and we all love it!! The best thing is that the same staff is there even though they changed the name of the hotel! The new look is wonderful and the free breakfast is well worth waiting in line for! We're treated like royalty when we go there and have already contacted the sales girl to rebook for 2011!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsgm, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 13, 2010
Dear Happy Family 1990,

Thanks so much for staying with us again during your visit to Virginia Beach. I am glad to hear you like all of the changes that were done to the hotel. I pleased that you took advantage of our free deluxe breakfast and that the breakfast didnt disappoint you . I want to thank you for returning and giving us the opportunity to server you and your family and allowing us to be part of your vacation next next. Thanks again for your kind words

Sincerely
Tony Sierra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

We have stayed at this hotel for many years and were pleased to hear that they were renovating and "cleaning" things up. The renovations are very nice and will name the good first.
1. Pool is much cleaner
2. New paint and carpeting in the hallways.
3. Rooms have new furniture and TV's
4. The breakfast is an added bonus
5. The business room is very nice and convenient.
6. The lobby has a much better location

Now the "not so good"
1. No air conditioning in the hallway on our floor.
2. Ice machines still not good
3. Elevators are terribly slow and very hot.
4. Renting out the parking garage for beach parking made it very difficut to find parking especially on the weekend.
5. Prices have gone up too much for what you get, yes there are renovations but it's not that improved.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

The hotel use to be a somewhat run down Howard Johnson. When we called in January to reserve a room for July, we were informed that the hotel was under a complete renovation. This was exciting and we looked forward to our stay. Late May we called to confirm the room and were told that they were now known as Country Inn & Suites. The old rates were being held for us since we booked early, this was mentioned because the new rates were now much higher. The night before our 15 hour drive to VB, my wife called to make sure everything was alright and was told yes and that they looked forward to seeing us. We arrive late, around 7:PM, and are promptly told that our reservation had been cancelled. You can imagine our anger and how the next 15 minutes went, so I won't go into detail. For what ever reason they never took the standard one night down payment. By 6:00, when we hadn't shown up, they decided to charge our credit card for one night, something that should have happened months before. They were unable to put the card through ( the same card we used to reserve later) and unable to reach us by phone (they took down the wrong number) , so they cancelled our reservation. So, we call months early to get a good deal, call two months before to make sure everything was fine and once again the night before arrival...not really sure what else we could have done. Again, I won’t bore you with all the new arrangements but will tell you that thankfully to a competent front desk person, the one we weren’t dealing with, she somewhat fixed the problem. The guy we were dealing with was new and useless. Our first night was spent 20 minutes away from the beach in a sister hotel, the next 6 nights were at the original hotel. This is all they could do. We had to take it or pay far more somewhere else. This screw up basically set the mood for the rest of the holiday, we actually left a day early. I forgot to mention that we met with the manager the next morning. She appeared to not understand what the problem was even thought she admitted that procedures had not been followed. Her expression was so numb that it was obvious that she would be not help. She did give us a 10% discount card for the attached restaurant. The obvious attitude was that if you don’t like it here, someone else will. They don’t care if you come, they’re just to big. As for the renovation, it wasn’t very well done at all. Overall, very disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

Our 1st impression of the hotel was nondescript. Figured was like every other hotel at the oceanfront. Once the staff greeted us we were blown away. The front desk person was handling a call when we walked in, and the moment he saw us come in, he placed the phone call on hold in a professional manner and made sure that we were attended to our check in. Once inside the room we were blown away by the cleanliness of the room, the view and the roominess. The location is right in the center of Beach street and very convenient to the highway. We were literally in the middle of everything. The only issue we had with the property was we didn't have more time to enjoy all of the ammenities of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

We always chose a Country Inns and Suites when given the option. However, this is not even close to what they normally represent.

The bad stuff.....
The staff would not follow through with check in calls and recommendations.
A water line broke and no one told us that the water would be off for 30 to 60 minutes. When we got to our room to get ready for dinner (from spending the entire day in the sand), we had no water. when I called the front desk I was told that a line broke and someone should have informed us at the time of check in.
The A/C leaked all over the balcony and would not cool the room. We never received service for the unit. The message is probably setting with the other two about check in and the recommendations request. :( The entire hotel come to think about it was truly hot!!
The tub backed up. Again, no response.
The elevators are horrible!!
They use Dish Network and the signal kept going out. So if you really like to watch t.v. this is not the place for you!

Okay....the good stuff.
The breakfast was nice and the dining area spacious.
The location is really nice and close to the pier.
The view from the sliding glass doors was good.
The indoor pool was great.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Address: 1801 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#21 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront hotel! Located on the beach and just steps away from the world-famous Virginia Beach Boardwalk, our hotel provides easy access to the beach, area dining, souvenir shopping, entertainment and more. Every room features spectacular views of the Atlantic ocean along with a private balcony, microwave, refrigerator, and coffee maker. With its convenient amenities like complimentary hot breakfast, free high-speed wireless Internet access, heated indoor pool, fitness center, oceanfront restaurant, and on-site parking, our oceanfront hotel in Virginia Beach, VA is sure to please leisure and business travelers alike. Come visit us for a fantastic beach vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Expedia, Groupon, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Country Inn And Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Howard Johnson Oceanfront Resort
Virginia Beach Howard Johnson Oceanfront
Howard Johnson Virginia Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.