We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   1801 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451 (Northeast Virginia Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #55 of 115 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Suffolk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Recently stayed at the Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach and found the hotel to be lovely and clean and comfortable. Fab beach front location and view Of the ocean - even had a sighting of dolphins swimming right in front. Good breakfast selection in a very clean and pleasant environment. Free parking was a bonus!! Thai Restaurant/Take Away right next door on the street side which was excellent and great value for money.

There was some noise all day long from low flying aircraft but this did not disturb us at all, and watching the military trooping along the boulevard early morning was an interesting and unusual sight for a Brit visiting he USA - especially as we were visiting during the anniversary of 9/11.

Would recommend - if aircraft noise is not an issue.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    108
    56
    25
    20
See reviews for
150
77
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
VA Beach, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Overall this Inn is nice and the staff is pleasant. The price was definitely the driving factor and the four star rating. The room was very nice but the television in the room was always blurry. Called the front desk who sent a maintainance man is a resonable time but he was unable to fix. We should have been moved to another room with a working television.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My girlfriend and I booked a room at this hotel a couple weeks in advance because I had stayed at a Country Inn and Suites in Florida and had a good experience. We arrived late the evening of Sept. 6, checking in around 11:00 pm. The room seemed a little old and not the cleanest, but we were tired so we pretty much went straight to bed. About 2:30 am my friend woke me up saying "Oh my god, I just got up to use the bathroom and took my flashlight so I wouldn't waken you and when I shined it on the floor of the bathroom a ton of cockroaches, both large and babies ran in all directions. I shined the light on the carpet by the couch and a bunch more scattered under the couch!" We decided then that we would try to find somewhere else to stay the remainder of the night and the next two days we planned to be there. We didn't want to take a chance of them getting in our luggage or worse yet our beds! Unfortunately everything on the oceanfront was full so we ended up booking a place about 11 miles inland. When my friend called the front desk to tell them about our experience, whoever was working suggested we "leave the lights on and then the roaches wouldn't come out!" We packed our things, checking to make sure we weren't taking anything unwanted with us, and went downstairs to tell them we were leaving, canceling the remainder of our reservation and since we were only in the room from 11pm-3am that we wanted a credit for that night. Although it took an extra trip to their hotel before we left 3 days later to get the charge off my credit card it was taken off. Needless to say, neither of us will stay there again.

Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsgm, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear griefcounselor,

Thank you for taking the time to a review your our stay with use . In reviewing your response I noticed areas that I consider to be acceptable.

If you have a moment and are willing to share any specifics. It would help me to remedy these concerns. Regardless of your response to my request I want to make sure that you feel your comments were heard and I will be addressed.

I know you stated the you will not return but I'm hoping that you'll visit us again. If you'd like, you can reach me at the phone number listed below. It would be a pleasure to personally discuss with you any specifics and / or suggestions you'd like to offer.


Sincerely,

Tony Sierra
General Manager
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clevelnd, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

the room we got was not cleaned well. there were lots of hairs on the bed. I complained this to GM of hotel he just wrote down and didn't took any action even he never said sorry. Also when I checked in I asked for upgrade and they didn't even tried I know lots of rooms were empty when I checked in even then they didn't gave any option, I am Marriott member as well they are know how to treat there members I stayed there before coming to country inn, I booked studio suite and they upgraded me to 2 room suite that's customer service. you need to learn from them

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsgm, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Ankit A,

Thank you for taking the time to write to a review regarding your experience at our Hotel . I am sorry that you were disappointed with my behavior and displaying a lack of concern regarding your problem you shared with me regarding your room.

As a consumer, I know how I expect to be treated. I am truly sorry that I failed to provide you with my very best. I did however know that you were an Elite Club Carlson member because of the late check out request earlier that morning, so I did add points to your account after checking out. Also I just wanted inform you that you did receive your free complementary upgrade(standard room to our Jr. Studio Suite) another amenity of being an Elite Club Carlson member. I hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you on your next visit to our area. I assure you that we will provide you with our very best on your return visit.

Respectfully,

Tony Sierra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Free Internet, free parking and free breakfast. Staff are great! I have nothing to complain about this hotel except the carpeting both in our room and along the corridor. It somewhat smells like the wet market in asia. Carpet doesn't do well with the ocean water so I suggest to management/owner to rip out the carpeting and replace it with tiles or just plain concrete and apply nonslip coat to prevent people from slipping.

Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Bathrooms smelled so bad because of mold on the shower curtain. Found a really long hair on the toilet. Hotel needs to put more effort on cleaning. Employees need training on being courteous and not making customers wait while they are carrying on personal conversations with fellow employees.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsgm, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear JongL,

Thank you for writing a review about our stay with us. I want to take this opportunity to apologize for the poor service you received during your stay with us.

Your experience with our Country Inn and Suites was not the quality of service that we have promised to provide to our guests. Our promise is something that we strive to deliver to every guest every day. There is no excuse that our staff did not fulfill that promise in your case. Please accept our apologies.

Sincerely,

Tony Sierra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We came the day off and got a room. Room was nice great view. Very clean and very friendly staff. Our only complaint was the parking garage is very very small. If you have a big vehicle you are going to have a very hard time parking and turning in it. We have an SUV and had a hard time going around the turns. But other than that very nice hotel. Would def stay again. They also have free wifi and breakfast.

Stayed September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Address: 1801 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach > Northeast Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront hotel! Located on the beach and just steps away from the world-famous Virginia Beach Boardwalk, our hotel provides easy access to the beach, area dining, souvenir shopping, entertainment and more. Every room features spectacular views of the Atlantic ocean along with a private balcony, microwave, refrigerator, and coffee maker. With its convenient amenities like complimentary hot breakfast, free high-speed wireless Internet access, heated indoor pool, fitness center, oceanfront restaurant, and on-site parking, our oceanfront hotel in Virginia Beach, VA is sure to please leisure and business travelers alike. Come visit us for a fantastic beach vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Carlson, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Country Inn And Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Howard Johnson Oceanfront Resort
Virginia Beach Howard Johnson Oceanfront
Howard Johnson Virginia Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.