We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice oceanfront view with direct access to boardwalk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   1801 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451 (Northeast Virginia Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #56 of 114 hotels in Virginia Beach
Herndon, VA, United States
1 review
“Nice oceanfront view with direct access to boardwalk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Me and kids stayed during labor day week at this hotel. This was our first oceanfront view experience. It was amazing. We sit in patio and watch ocean view, listening to ocean sound and enjoy the breeze . An affordable price of $139 per night for a 2-queen bed room. Complimentary breakfast is good.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    104
    54
    24
    18
See reviews for
142
73
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Hotel was very dirty and in need of major renovations. The bathroom was dirty and the deck was very dirty. This hotel was not worth the cost of the hotel. I wouldn't stay at this hotel again. The breakfast provided was good, but the breakfast area was very crowded.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsgm, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear 323staciac,
Thank you for your review expressing the problems you encountered during your stay at our hotel. I sincerely apologize for the substandard condition you found the hotel to be in. We take great pride in our high standards of cleanliness. Unfortunately, you experienced a time when we obviously did not meet those standards. Again, please accept my apologies.
My hope is that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you.

Kind Regards,
Tony Sierra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed in a Studio Suite. Rm 628. Room was clean and staff was nice, good location. A problem with the A/C unit dripping condensation on the balcony. There was a little pan under the drip to catch the water. I constantly had to empty the pan in order to sit out on the balcony without having my feet in water. That is not acceptable for the price. Overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsgm, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Uzill W,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. I am thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel! I also want to thank you mentioning the staff. They work very hard to make your stay memorable thus making you want to come back. We want to be your only choice you think of when staying in Virginia Beach. I will have them check the a/c unit you mention in your review to make sure that is corrected.
On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for your business and hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
All the best,
Tony Sierra
General Manager
Hotel Management
757-437-9100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Very dirty and run down room! Poor management ! We asked for a manager and the only person available was the maintnance man! The room was never cleaned ! Not even the bed! Dirty wrinkled bed sheets and bed spread with stains
Filthy place! Sticky windows and microwave had fingerprints everywhere. The balcony had a flood . The mold and paint was flying in the room from the use of the AC.The sand was everywhere and the floor was very dirty and bread crumbs on the floor
Expedia was not helfpful and we still got charged $170 for refusing this bad dirty room.
We had to go to another hotel and pay again. Very upseting and very unhappy experience for our vacation!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsgm, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Nic0lette363

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your stay. In reading your comments, I noticed areas that are not a hotel policy for example sending a maintenance person to handle any complaints or if you asked to speak to a manager. If you have a moment and are willing to share any specifics on these items it would greatly increase my ability to better assess and attempt to remedy these concerns. However, regardless of your response to my request I want to make sure that you feel your comments were heard.
I'm hoping that you'll visit us again. If you'd like, you can reach me at the phone number listed below. It would be a pleasure to personally discuss with you any specifics and / or suggestions you'd like to offer.


Sincerely,
Tony Sierra
General Manager
Hotel Management
757-437-9100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, MD, USA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Overall I would give this hotel a 3.5 since the A/C fan noise really bothered me in the night and the thermostat didn't seem to work ! However other amenities were fine, like free breakfast, beach view and beach access as well as an overall neat and clean outfit. The staff was friendly.

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was unacceptable, do not recommend to anyone. There is nothing else to waste my time writing about, the room was musty and moldy, cell phone service was terrible and the wifi didn't help a bit, internet service was even worse than the cell phone service. Breakfast was fair, chow hall food would have been better.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsgm, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Mark U A,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us, and also take this opportunity to apologize for not having good cell phone service or a good wifi connection. I know that these are important amenities and will work on trying to find the best way to remedy the poor service.
Your experience with our breakfast was not the quality of service that we have promised to provide to our guests. Our hotel promise is something that we strive to deliver to every guest every day. Please accept our apologies.
I would like to ask for another opportunity to deliver on the promise we strive to provide every.

Gratefully,
Tony Sierra
General Manager
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It's a good hotel, centrally located on Atlantic Ave. Very easy access to the beach and easy walking to shops. Mostly families seem to stay here, so it's generally quiet at night. Breakfast was good, needed a little more fresh fruit. We would stay there again. The staff is very friendly, knowledgeable, and attend to any problems right away.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Address: 1801 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach > Northeast Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront hotel! Located on the beach and just steps away from the world-famous Virginia Beach Boardwalk, our hotel provides easy access to the beach, area dining, souvenir shopping, entertainment and more. Every room features spectacular views of the Atlantic ocean along with a private balcony, microwave, refrigerator, and coffee maker. With its convenient amenities like complimentary hot breakfast, free high-speed wireless Internet access, heated indoor pool, fitness center, oceanfront restaurant, and on-site parking, our oceanfront hotel in Virginia Beach, VA is sure to please leisure and business travelers alike. Come visit us for a fantastic beach vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Otel and Priceline so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Howard Johnson Oceanfront Resort
Virginia Beach Howard Johnson Oceanfront
Howard Johnson Virginia Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.