We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair value for oceanfront location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   1801 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451 (Northeast Virginia Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #49 of 114 hotels in Virginia Beach
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
255 helpful votes 255 helpful votes
“Fair value for oceanfront location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

It's an older building which had been refurbished, but could have used some extra work. Despite of some details being run down this Country delivers what it promisses... location, location, location. The building is set up in a way that all rooms have oceanviews with private balconies, and regardless of which floor your on... your car is parked right outside the door. Every guest gets a complimentary parking pass to display behind the windshield, you just drive up to the floor where you are staying at, really convenient. Complimentary breakfast is offered in a nicely decorated room, and consist of plenty of items to jump start your day.
We definately recommend this Country, and would return when in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    89
    48
    21
    14
See reviews for
121
67
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Our room was nice, the front next was ok not the friendliest that I've dealt with. The view was beautiful. The breakfast was pretty good, although it seemed more like lunch. They had chicken patties, no eggs.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsgm, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Bootskipper,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay.I am sad to read that the front desk empolyees didnt provide friendly service. I look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials

Sincerely,
Tony Sierra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We routinely stay at the Carlson's Country Inn and Suites Chain. This one is definitely the "family vacation/ college spring break" type. The facility is a bit worn and has adopted the necessary security "speed bumps" to discourage unwanted visitors. The view from the rooms is worth the busy nature of the hotel. You can't beat the "on the beach" feel with the lengthy beach promenade excellent for walking, biking and jogging. There are plenty of eateries and beach shopping sites right outside your door. The halls get a bit loud in the evening but if you simply open the balcony sliding door you have the pleasant sound of the breaking waves and occasional laughter from the beach/ promenade. Breakfast is simple with a good assortment but missing any type of eggs. The staff is friendly and do a pretty good job keeping the place clean. A difficult job for a busy resort hotel.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room at either end of the hall because the center rooms are close to gatehring are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed overnight at this hotel and were happy with the staff in all areas. Everyone was friendly and did their best to make our stay enjoyable. The coffee was another story. Yuck! It tasted as if it had been left to spoil. I tried all of their coffees--Regular, Bold, and Decaf. Same story throughout. Coffee in the room was from the same stock. Yuck! The breakfast (other than the coffee) was a sight to behold and eat. Waffles, oatmeal and all the fixings, cold cereal, even really, really good chicken (for breakfast!), biscuits, gravy. You name it, they had it. Not many fancy restaurants could beat this breakfast INCLUDED in the price! One complaint I have about upkeep is the door from the garage to the hotel proper, on third floor, was sticky to the touch. It has not been washed in a very long time. Very filthy door. I told the front desk, and was told that it was maybe from being painted. No, no no. Just filthy. The price was right for us. We got a senior discount and a discount for opening a loyalty card account. Otherwise, the price is comparable to the rest of the hotels on the ocean front strip. The two queen size beds were very good; we could sleep soundly--no noise in the room, either.

Room Tip: You may be able to check in around noon. If they have a room that is ready, they will let you check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
315 reviews 315 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a great stay here. All rooms are oceanfront, with very convenient parking on the back of the building on the same level as your room, so you wheel your luggage straight in. The breakfast is one of the best we've had and the staff and servicing are excellent. Rooms have a fridge and coffee maker which we liked, but there is also always coffee in the lobby. The only reason this is not a 5 star review is that it is an older hotel and whilst some work has been done to renovate you can still tell its age, particularly on the verandah. Tired plastic chairs did not encourage us to sit and watch the waves.

Room Tip: We had room 415 and it is at the end and we think we quiet with no people passing our door in the co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We, a family of four people, spent three days in this hotel late march 2013. The location is great, in front of the ocean and close to many restaurants and shops. The hotel was clean, the staff was helpful and friendly, the breakfast was complementary and adequate. While it was raining outside, we were enjoying the indoor pool.

Room Tip: Higher floors permit a nice overview to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The hotel itself is not the newest of all places on the beach but the accommodations were very good. You get to park your car on the same level as your room so it partially protects against the elements. If you're lucky enough to get a ocean view room,you get to hear the plesant sound of the ocean waves. Breakfast is included with your stay and its adequate. Rooms are comfortable plus you're on the boardwalk as well. I really enjoyed my stays here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Address: 1801 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach > Northeast Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront hotel! Located on the beach and just steps away from the world-famous Virginia Beach Boardwalk, our hotel provides easy access to the beach, area dining, souvenir shopping, entertainment and more. Every room features spectacular views of the Atlantic ocean along with a private balcony, microwave, refrigerator, and coffee maker. With its convenient amenities like complimentary hot breakfast, free high-speed wireless Internet access, heated indoor pool, fitness center, oceanfront restaurant, and on-site parking, our oceanfront hotel in Virginia Beach, VA is sure to please leisure and business travelers alike. Come visit us for a fantastic beach vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Carlson, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Country Inn And Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Howard Johnson Oceanfront Resort
Virginia Beach Howard Johnson Oceanfront
Howard Johnson Virginia Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.