We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“watch out for fee for gym & spa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Quarters Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Beach Quarters Resort to your Saves list
Beach Quarters Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   501 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451 (Formerly Clarion)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“watch out for fee for gym & spa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

stafff very friendly, great location -all oceanfront rooms as advertised BUT watch out for the really tight parking garage- if you have the option use a smaller car -also was very upset when we went to use the gym & spa that they tried to charge a per person daily fee - this was not disclosed ANYWHERE! and very misleading- also the rooftop tennis court was advertised as lighted but fuggetaboutit! unless you have night vision goggles!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    90
    57
    51
    46
See reviews for
110
72
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed at Beach Quartes Resort just for 1 night over the weekend. It is peak season and I understand how extremely busy they are but the hotel should be able to accommodate guests at an earlier check in time. Check in time was 4pm and check out at 10am. How short that is? When we arrived at the hotel/resort, we waited for about 3-4 hours because the room wasn't ready yet. They should anticipate that there are people arriving from out of towns and might arrive earlier and would like to rest.

I suggest that the hotel should hire more housekeeping people during the peak season so they can tidy the room right away. It made me think that if there's only 1 housekeeper for each floor and most of the rooms needs to be cleaned right away, what is the quality of the cleaning?

We were disappointed with the long wait but the rooms exceeded our expectations. We reserved the 2-bed suite oceanview and the room looks like new and clean.

Room Tip: If you will book this resort/hotel during the peak season, try to book a earlier as it is very expen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights, 4 days and loved this hotel. Very nice and clean. Indoor and outdoor pools... staff was great. Loved the big Jacuzzi tub. Very up to date, with 3 elevators which was nice. The only negative thing I didnt like was the bathroom. Separate from the tub and sink... was really irritating for bigger people. Other than that Great Hotel!!! :)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordentown, New Jersey
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We just returned from a week's stay at this resort. (I own a timeshare and traded a week through Interval International) I was a bit concerned after reading comments about the parking garage. It is definitely tight, but we have a Jeep Liberty and had no trouble at all. The resort itself was clean and situated right on the boardwalk. We stayed in a one-bedroom suite. Although the kitchen area was very tiny and the table only sat 2 people, we managed just fine. We usually ate breakfast in and the rest of the time we ate out. The resort staff were all very friendly and helpful. We loved the fact that this resort has both an indoor and an outdoor pool.
Virginia Beach has shuttle buses that run constantly. There is a bus stop just outside the resort, and the buses are all clean and air-conditioned. (We didn't need to move the car much--making the tight garage a non-issue for us). The cost for an all-day shuttle ticket is just $2 per person. Well worth it! Had a wonderful trip!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

My husband and i stayed in the honeymoon suite here and loved it. We only had one problem while we were there. The door going outside over looking the beach got stuck right before bed. They sent someone right away to try to fix it. When he couldnt they made sure our swim suits and towels were all recovered if blown away that night. The only thing that flew away was a towel and the security gaurd the next morning had it waiting for us when the engineer came up and fixed the door 1st thing. They were all great .

. On a side note i agree about the parking being horrible. If you have a convertible vehicle or jeep make sure you put up the top before going into parking garage or you will have to go back out.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Very nice place to stay,just didn't like the parking[very tight]

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Just returned from a 5 day stay. Overall - loved the place! First, I will address the negative comments which almost scared me away. Complaints about the rooms... Some say too small... Well, be sure you are booking the correct type of room. There are three sizes. We stayed in the middle sized room which included a bedroom with two beds and a living area with a pull out couch (which was firm but fairly comfortable for a pull out). I think those that think the rooms are small were in efficiencies which is their smallest room. I believe the largest suites include the suite we were in as well as access the an adjoining efficiency though I could be wrong about that. We loved our room. Our bathroom was a good enough size with the tub/shower and sink all in one room. The kitchette in our room didnt allow for more than one person at a time but it had two stovetop burners and a small but fullsize fridge as well as any plates, utensils, or pans needed. Complaints about the parking garage.... Yes. It is narrow. But we had a minivan and both of us were able to navigate it without putting dents in the van. Complaints about bugs... I saw none in our room. Complaints about size of pools.... They are not huge but the rooftop pool deck was comfortable. Though you could see the ocean by looking over the concrete railing it was kind of a bummer to not be able to see it from your seat on the deck. Complaints about staff... We only ran into friendly, helpful people...Ryan S. who worked the pool deck was especially nice to talk to. And the hosekeeping staff was very friendly. Complaints about thin walls and noise...the suite we were in did have some noise issues from the hallway though never another room. This was not overly annoying to us as I don't expect soundproof rooms at a hotel. As you moved from the bedroom area which is adjacent to the hallway, into the living area which has the gorgeous view, the only noise you hear is the ocean! Complaints about time share pressure .... this is a timeshare and there is a pitch made when you pick up your welcome packet. However, I said we were not interested in going through the presentation and we were never bothered again. Complaints about jet noise... Yes there are jets that fly overhead. You are vacationing close to a military base. This is hardly the Beach Quarters fault and it was only a minor annoyance anyway.

Other comments: I was very disappointed that he rooftop pool rules prohibit you from bringing food and alcohol to the pool - non alcoholic beverages were ok. They now have the bar and restaurant and want you to purchase from them. I felt like I paid enough for the room to justify not having to pay them $5 for a beer and $7 for a mixed drink. I would have been more upset if I had owned at the resort and was not able to bring a beer to the pool that I "owned" for the week. Tip: bring a travel mug and refill in your room. i did order a couple of frozen drinks so its not like I didn't leave the bar any money. We also ate lunch there one day and the sandwiches were good. About $10 for a sandwich.

The view from the rooms (every room in the hotel) was awesome. We really enjoyed Virginia beach and the boardwalk in general. This hotel is at 5th street and the biggest action is closer to the middle of the strip but this area was by no means boring.. Bikes, bands at night on the 7th street stage, great restaurants such as Mahi Mahs, and Chix made for a very fun trip.

We would/will happily return to the Beach Quarters.

Room Tip: Pool is on the 7th floor...we were on the 6th... Awesome view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Quarters Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Quarters Resort

Address: 501 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451 (Formerly Clarion)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Quarters Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the most amenities of any resort on the beach and all oceanfront rooms and suites, Beach Quarters is easily the best value on the Virginia Beach Oceanfront. One-bedroom suites that sleep up to six, and a full kitchen and queen sleeper sofa in living room, make it great choice for families vacationing for a week or more. Studios include one king bed or two double beds and a fully-equipped kitchenette.Get in a game of rooftop tennis or shuffle board, swim in the heated indoor oceanfront pool or soak up the sun at the 7th floor rooftop pool. Enjoy a frozen cocktail or a meal poolside at Sandbar, a tropical bar and grill on the 7th floor pool deck. Work-out in the expansive athletic club which features a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, exercise machines, tanning bed and massage therapy services. Additional resort amenities include a Business Center, laundry facilities onsite, free Wi-fi and onsite guest parking, a Youth Activity Center and Game Room, and easy access to water sports at Rudee Inlet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Beach Quarters Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Quarters Hotel Virginia Beach
Va Beach
Beach Quarters Virginia
Clarion Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Quarters Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.