We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Bargain!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Oceanfront to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2109 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #54 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Mechanicsville, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Awesome Bargain!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

VA Beach oceanfront hotels are very pricey, but the Econo Lodge is quite a bargain. I planned a last minute getaway for early August and found it to be quite acceptable. Room was clean, beds were very comfy, housekeeping and staff were very attentive and helpful. A few of the maintenance folks were a pleasure to talk to as they were scurrying off to resolve another issue. (Joseph)
We had an efficiency room (check the fridge settings and be prepared to lower so food doesn't freeze) which was great. There is no toaster, but one is available in the breakfast area. They do serve mainly carbs: bagels, waffles, cereals and coffee/juice. But we forgot cereal for the toddler, so this worked for us. :)
Indoor pool is very small and the only issue we had were with rude guests which happens anywhere.
Located near the middle of the Boardwalk stretch, we were able to walk or take the HRT bus everywhere. Very convenient!

Room Tip: Make sure balcony rail is dry before standing near - AC drips from above on some. Only one elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Econo Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a tripadvisor review regarding your recent stay with the Econolodge Oceanfront in Virginia Beach. I am pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us. We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you in town.
Again Thank you so much for your business and kind words!
Sincerely,
Bob Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    43
    17
    18
    11
See reviews for
44
33
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
buffalo, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Excellent location. Mr. Patel, mgr, and his staff were wonderful from the moment they assisted me with my reservation on the phone. Had 5 great nights sleep on comfortable beds. Have stayed at more expensive places that were less comfortable. My main request is that they stop using styrofoam at breakfast and offer perhaps some fruit. Breakfast was all sugars and carbs. Georgia, in housekeeping, was so kind and personable. Great beach access and great location by 22 nd st. We have previously stayed by the 15 th st pier which can be loud and too bright st night with amusement park so close. Thank you econolodge.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Econo Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks so much for the stars! It's wonderful to hear that we managed to go beyond your expectation. We truly appreciate your compliments. We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodation and service the next time you are in the town.
Thanks again for your business.
Kind Regards,
Bob Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picayune, Mississippi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Front desk staff were kind and helpful. They recommended a pizza place that was excellent. The breakfast was good. The room was clean. Wonderful Experience. The beach was beautiful. There was plenty to do on the strip in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Econo Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
I thank you for taking your time to complete tripadvisor reviews regarding your recent stay at the Econolodge Oceanfront. We very much appreciate for your kind words. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our service to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.
Sincerely,

Bob Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We have stayed at many places in Virginia Beach over the past 20 years and have found our feel at home Hotel, Bobs staff is attentive and accommodating. We had a top floor view of the entire Beach and the cleaning staff is second to none, chatting with the staff is entertaining and friendly Desiree was at the front desk was funny and polite, If you want to go to a perfectly located on the Strip hotel this is your stop. We will be back again soon for another week of RR n Va Beach and seeing Bob and his crew. Thanks again Tom S

Room Tip: All the rooms have Ocean View but the upper floors have entire Beach view which we really liked. All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Econo Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
I thank you for taking your time to write a true and genuine tripadvisor reviews regarding your recent stay at the Econolodge Oceanfront. We very much appreciated and value your feedback.
Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our service to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. All our staff members go out of their ways to help each and every guests who stays with the Econolodge Oceanfront. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one at the Econolodge Oceanfront in Virginia Beach.
Kind Regards,
Bob Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephens City, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My family and I have been staying at this hotel for nearly 10 years and unfortunately due to our past experience we will no longer be staying at the Econo Lodge.
Many of the problems we had include:
Unfriendly and inhospitable front desk staff. (One of them being Desiree)
Breakfast area was very crowded.
Extremely slow elevator.
No air conditioning in hallway or elevator.
Rooms were unclean.
Fruit flys were all over the place including in the shower and refrigerator.
Door knobs on balcony doors did not work.
Keys to the room were always having to be reprogrammed.
Foot hose shower that was outside was removed (use to be very convenient)
Coffee in the mornings ran out often and was not replaced.
Front desk staff was rude when we went downstairs to ask for extra blanket.
Got locked in the parking garage due to the gate closing after a certain time.
Wireless internet was not protected with a password and was very low quality.

Room Tip: Don't choose one at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Econo Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
We sincerely apologize for the disappointments with your recent stay at the Econolodge Oceanfront. Since your departure, we have conducted a staff meeting to assess the situation.
We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their stay a satisfying one. The principal goal of our hotel to provide dependable service to all of our guests at reasonable prices. I want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are taken seriously. In reference to our breakfast, we have 35 guest seating capacity and we do understand that it gets crowded from time to time. We do allow guest to take breakfast items to their room if they choose to do so. We also understand that the hallways tend to get to uncomfortable temperatures during the summer season. We also recognize that you had difficulties with the parking garage; we close the gate for added security through the night to assure that only registered guests are on the premises. We will be taking steps to upgrade our wireless internet access, electronics locks and HVAC for the hallways. Once again we sincerely apologize. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 757-428-2403
Sincerely,

Bob Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilsonville, Oregon
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We just recently went to Va. Beach from Oregon for a wrestling tournament. This wasn't our original reservation, but after visiting our original reservation and just couldn't stay there. The Econo Lodge had one room left for the weekend and we took it. It was completely oceanfront, perfect location in the middle of the strip and the room was very clean. Very reasonably priced for the location compared to surrounding hotels and the staff is very nice and extremely willing to assist. I would completely recommend this hotel to anyone. We will look to stay there again when traveling in again for any wrestling tournaments or just trips to Virginia Beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Econo Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Mr. Perry
Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor review. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Econolodge Oceanfront. We take pride when our guest enjoy every part of their stay. We value you as a guest and we wants to make sure we are meeting your needs and exceeding your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again next trip to Virginia Beach. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two nights and had to book a third night due to my flights being cancelled. The front desk clerk's name was "Bob" and he was such a nice man, very helpful, and informative. I would recommend this hotel to others and I plan to stay here again in the future. It has clean, comfortable rooms at a low price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginiahotelstay, General Manager at Econo Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
What a great review! Thank you so much! I am so happy you had a great stay. Thank you for recommending Econolodge Oceanfront. We hope to see you back here real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Oceanfront

Address: 2109 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Oceanfront 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All our 56 rooms are 100% Oceanfront with private Balcony/Patio. FREE indoor garage parking (One Parking Space per Room). Indoor heated Pool.FREE delux continental breakfast. FREE Wi-fi, 32 Inch Falt screen TV with HBO1 and HBO2. All rooms equiped with Micro-Fridge, Coffee maker, Iron and Ironing Board, Hair Dryer and Alarm Clock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Venere, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Econo Lodge Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Econolodge Virginia Beach
Econo Lodge Oceanfront Virginia Beach
Econo Lodge Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.