We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff and perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge on the Ocean

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge on the Ocean to your Saves list
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2707 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451 (Northeast Virginia Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing staff and perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Thank you Trip Advisor friends for pointing me to this great lodging for my family! The staff was truly gracious and went out of their way to ensure my older parents had a comfortable room, we enjoyed the amenities (bikes, pool) and got the most out of our two days in the area. It's all true - great views of the ocean, right on the boardwalk, perfectly fine accommodations. When our hairdryer went on the fritz, they replaced it within minutes of us reporting the problem. If I have the opportunity, I will definitely come back to the Econo Lodge on the Ocean. Thank you for offering a great value with such personal service.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thank you very much for such a nice review! The staff here will be very happy to read that thier efforts are noticed and appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    89
    25
    4
    1
See reviews for
116
93
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

The Econolodge at Virginia Beach is a great value. The staff is super nice and helpful. You won't find better people in the area! The rooms are clean, though a little dated and the bathroom was a bit small. But the location and price can't be beat. A continental breakfast is included also and free bike rentals. The bikes looked a bit worn out, but we didn't ride them, so I can't say how they handled. I was satisfied overall with our stay and recommend others to stay here. It's not the Hilton, but if you don't need the Hilton, this is a great place to stay. The old saying is "You get what you pay for". Well, you get a little more at the Econolodge at Virginia Beach. To the staff at the Econolodge, Keep up the good work!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your recent stay. We try to offer guests some extra value for their accommodations purchase and the hotel amenities you noted are all a part of that. Thank you for pointing that out for our Tripadvisor family. We are happy you enjoyed your stay at our little hotel and we hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

When I selected the hotel, I was hoping for a beach and ocean view. Unfortunately, we booked the hotel via Priceline, and when we got there, we found that the Priceline rate entitled us to a gound floor room which had a view of the people walking by on the boardwalk and they of us. The upper floors are priced higher. If I knew this beforehand, I would have definitely made arrangementments directly with the hotel vs. through Priceline.

Otherwise, the hotel was clean, conforrtable, and definitely in a great location. The breakfast consisted of juice, coffee, cereal, bagels, and danish.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you found the hotel to be clean and comfortable. We are sorry that you were not on a higher floor so you could better enjoy the view, but we would have happily relocated you upstairs, assuming we had availability. Your room location was determined by you at the time of booking. However, reading every little detail in a room description online can be a mind-numbing exercise especially when comparing multiple properties. Please let us know the next time you come to town and we will get you in a room more to your liking! Thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurlock, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I choose this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews and pleased to find they accurately described this experience. The staff is friendly and caring. We stayed in the double bed room and found it to be clean and nicely furnished. Views are beautiful. Smoke-free facility which is imperative for me traveling with 2 allergic children. They have bicycles available for guests to use. Continental breakfast is basic but it was all we needed. Staff actually patrols the parking lot to ensure you remember to display your parking tag and they will save your parking spot for you if you drive a larger vehicle. Overall great experience. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you very much for your review! The staff will be thrilled to know that their efforts are noticed and appreciated. I am very fortunate to have a team of such great people to work with. We are very happy you had such a nice stay and look forward to welcoming back the whole family very soon! Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We were in town for a cheerleading competition and found this hotel through trip advisor. This was our third year going to Virginia beach for this event and have stayed at a different hotel each time due to being dissatisfied with each one we've been at. We were so happy with this hotel and this is where we will stay from here on out. The rooms were clean and well maintained. The staff was so friendly and accommodating. Parking is a bear at Virginia beach and this hotel actually saves your spot for you when you leave. The view of the beach is also excellent as all rooms are oceanfront. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone that's looking for a great beach experience!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for such a nice review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your visit and seem to have found your home for the future events. The staff will be very excited to read your comments about their efforts and thank you very much for recognizing them. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, USA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

This is an older property with small rooms that has been very well maintained. The owners have clearly made every effort to insure that they are competitive with the fancy oceanfront places by offering a lower cost beachfront option.
The staff is excellent, friendly and efficient.
If you have an issue with small rooms and beds this is not a good option if you want a double room. Didn't look at single rooms, which I imagine are the same size size as the doubles but feel roomier with the elimination of the second bed.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. Your comments reflect the wonderful hospitality that our staff is famous for and I couldn't be prouder or happier that their efforts are being recognized.
Our room size is actually pretty standard in the industry, possibly slightly larger than some of the other oceanfront hotels that we are familiar with. However, your are correct that the rooms with a single King bed do feel a bit roomier without the second bed.
We are very pleased you chose to stay with us. There are many options to choose from in Virginia Beach and we truly appreciate your business, and hope we get to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Thanks to my fellow TripAdvisor reviewers for recommending this great hotel. The facilities were clean and well-maintained, the room was spacious, the front desk personnel was very friendly and efficient, the breakfast was simple but tasty, and the location right on the beach is perfect. The room rate was more than fair, and that completed a great experience. I will certainly look at this hotel first if I should return to Virginia Beach in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are very pleased you chose to stay with us when there are so many other oprions, and more pleased that we were able to meet or exceed your needs during your stay. We hope your travels bring you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge on the Ocean

Address: 2707 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach > Northeast Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge on the Ocean 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge On The Ocean Hotel Virginia Beach
Econolodge Virginia Beach
Econo Lodge Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge on the Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.