We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge on the Ocean

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge on the Ocean to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2707 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451 (Northeast Virginia Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 114 hotels in Virginia Beach
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Worth the stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Was there for 3 nights, 2 adults, 2 toddlers over the labor day weekend. No complaints at all. Check-in was fast, room very clean. Location excellent. Price reasonable. Staff friendly. Would definitely stay at this hotel next time we go to VA beach.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for submitting your review! We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing your family again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    85
    23
    4
    1
See reviews for
110
83
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Providence, RI
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

From the minute we arrived, Art at the front desk treated us like family. We extended our stay because we were so delighted with our room. I highly recommend this place for travelers who want an ocean view in VA on a budget! Thank you, Art and friends of Econo Lodge! We will be back again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for such a nice review, I believe Art is on his way to get his copy framed! We truly appreciate that you chose to spend your vacation with us, and we look forward to your next visit! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

So, chances are, you've already read the other reviews on this hotel, and you've already seen the high rank attached to this property. Consider yourself warned, I'm simply going to reiterate all of the wonderful things all the other positive reviewers have already mentioned.

My husband, myself, and our two children (7 & 4) went to this hotel for a long weekend. We travelled from NJ, and in an attempt to avoid all of the horrible traffic on the way down, we left late. As our trip progressed, I called the hotel to let them know our arrival would be even later than we had expected. They assured me they'd hold onto our rooms and wished me a safe rest of the trip.

We arrived at around 1am on a Saturday. The lot was full but for one spot...our spot. How cool is that?! I walked into the office and a lovely woman, busy with some cleaning, asked for me BY MY NAME!!! And let me know she was expecting me. Again, how cool is that?! After a pretty quick check-in we headed to our room.

The hotel has no elevator, and is laid out more like a shore motel you'd find in NJ. Open air hallways that lead to each room's door. We were on the 2nd floor and it really was not too difficult to get all of our stuff and the kids up the stairs.

The room was on the smaller side, and the double beds seemed pretty narrow. But we weren't staying here for luxury, we were staying here for value. The entire hotel looks worn. It's been serving happy customers for a while, and you can tell. But to be clear, our room was very clean. The bathroom had plenty of towels for our stay, the micro-fridge was hugely helpful for us to store our drinks in, but the best part-- the Balcony and it's unobstructed view of the beach and sea. You cannot go wrong, because every room has one!

We spent nearly all of our time walking the boardwalk, having some pretty great meals, and enjoying the beautiful beach. We did spend some time at the pool, which is small, but a nice treat. In my search, it seemed many hotels did not offer the outdoor pool. Mom and Dad sunned while the kids "funned?".

Basically, every staff member we came across was delightful. A little respect, and pride in service goes a long way. The balcony was an amazing way for my husband and me to enjoy "us" time while the kids fell asleep, and is completely a treat for those willing to watch the sunrise.

We did hear some noise from the boardwalk that lasted past 11 on Saturday night. You can also hear the plumbing from neighboring rooms from time to time. But neither of our only two cons would put us off of staying here again. We absolutely plan to make this an annual pilgrimage!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
We appreciate the kind words and thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice review. The title of your review is the best news of all! We have been greeting and welcoming our repeat guests at this hotel for the last 30 years and are happy to have you join our list of "family" members. See you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

After reading the positive reviews on Tripadvisor, we booked our stay here a few weeks back via the AAA website (AAA Discount hotel!)

The Positive reviews and even the caveats are spot on. Really, the owners of this place "get it". They offer things that make your stay fun, without the "frills" offered by other hotels. If you are looking for a solid, reasonably priced, 2 star hotel, this is the place.

Great:
* Staff. Super friendly and knowledgeable about the area.
* Coffee most of the day in the office area. Good coffee, with real 1/2 and 1/2!
* Free bike check out. The bikes are a bit funky, but do the job quite well.
* Location, right on the ocean!
* Pool. My youngest daughter gets cold very easily, and the ocean can be quite cold. The pool was nice and warm and sunny.
* Free Parking. Enough said. For those new to the area, you really don't stay here to then get in our car and drive anywhere. You can walk/bike to everything you need. So, the tightness of the parking is no big deal.
* All the rooms face the ocean and have a nice balcony (first floor rooms simply open up to the beach!)

Good:
* Clean rooms with a fridge.
* Continental Breakfast. Good enough to grab a bit before a morning bike ride or hitting the beach. BTW, there is a small breakfast/brunch restaurant right next store, the Seaside Cafe, if you want a hot breakfast.
* Comfortable Beds

Neutral:
* The rooms are a bit small. Our family consists of 2 adults and 2 teenagers and the fit was a bit of a tight fit. We brought a full size air mattress to provide some extra sleeping room. All in all we appreciated the room and who stays in their room when on the beach anyway!

Cons:
* Smoking. We are non smokers and were bummed out that we had to keep our patio door shut because the people in the room below us were chain smokers. I think there are only 2 smoking rooms on the first floor and we were unlucky enough to be above one of them, if you hate cigarette smoke, be sure to request a room on the other side of the hotel.

Suggestions to management:

* Go non-smoking! Your place was booked solid on a slow week on the beach. Alternatively, create a smoking area away from the rooms and make your rooms non-smoking.

* Put 1/2 and 1/2 cups in the rooms instead of powered creamer packets.

We will be back!

Room Tip: Non-Smokers - Ask for a room on the South Side (I think) away from the smoking rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such an extensive review. We are very happy you seem to have found a home away from home here. As the general manager, I couldn't be more pleased that you pointed out the great job the staff here does at welcoming our guests with a genuine warmth and sense of appreciation; they make my job much less stressful!
We actually went 100% non-smoking this past January. While that means no one is smoking in the guestrooms, it is very difficult to manage behavior outside the room. We try to encourage everyone not to smoke on their balcony or patio, or at least be aware of those around them. We shall try to put a little more emphasis on that prohibition moving forward. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This was a terrific place to stay. We had to make a last minute change to our itinerary and the staff was so helpful, thank you for a great stay in Virginia Beach. We loved the friendly service and attentive staff, wonderful heated pool, free parking, ocean front balcony, and easy access to the beach. The only thing I would change was the fact that there were guests who smoked on hotel property, like the rooms, the rest of the property should be smoke-free including the pool area and balconies. This was a good value and great time in Virginia Beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review, and especially mentioning the efforts of the staff. Hotels are merely bricks and mortar; it is the efforts of the staff that defines guest's hotel experience. We are especially proud of the cast of characters we have here...they genuinely love what they do.
This is our first year as a 100% non-smoking hotel and the rooms are thankfully now free of smoke smell and we will continue to adjust our policies to ensure the comfort of all our guests. Thank you so much for visiting and we will see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The breakfast area is too small, and they don't have a bathroom in the lobby .other than that , clean , convenient room, close to everything . Outdoor pool was nice and warm. This is a great location , close , really close to the beach , lots of aircraft passing by, a little annoying some times , but not overwhelming . Once on the beach pay close attention to the dolphins , they do pass by , I had a great experience watching then , next time I will bring binoculars to have a closer look .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We appreciate the review and thank you very much for taking the time to submit it. I couldn't agree with you more about watching the dolphins. I have lived here all my life and they continue to amuse and amaze me. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just went for an overnight with my mom and two kids but the room was big enough that we would have been comfortable for longer. There was a microwave, cold fridge, and coffee pot in the room. Breakfast in the morning is provided downstairs-- muffins, bagels, juice and coffee. Nothing fancy but it was nice to have something immediately without needing to go far.
I don't ever expect any beach room to be the same kind of "clean" that I expect at other locations, so this room exceeded my expectations on cleanliness. While we didn't use the pool on our short stay it was obviously well cared for and also clean.
Parking is tight but the staff is very proactive about helping guests find a spot and negotiate the spaces. Front desk staff was friendly yet very professional and efficient.
Free use of bikes (including a few that work for older children) was a nice perk. They loan them to guests for an hour at a time. Since the boardwalk/bike path is right next to the hotel, it's a great way to see the sights without spending more money.
The building is only three stories (no elevator) and it felt comfortable and charming among the highrises. Overall, a very good value for an ocean front room with balcony!

Room Tip: First floors have patios with easy access to the boardwalk. 2nd and 3rd floors have balconies separ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Wow! What great comments. Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a thorough review. We are excited you seem so happy with your choice of lodging. There are many options in Virginia Beach and we appreciate that you chose us. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge on the Ocean

Address: 2707 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach > Northeast Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#30 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge on the Ocean 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge On The Ocean Hotel Virginia Beach
Econolodge Virginia Beach
Econo Lodge Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge on the Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.