We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Virginia Beach hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge on the Ocean

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge on the Ocean to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2707 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451 (Northeast Virginia Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK EARLY AND SAVE 15%
Ranked #3 of 114 hotels in Virginia Beach
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Favorite Virginia Beach hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Our family visits Virginia Beach about every other year and stay at a different hotel each time. We now have a hotel we will return for every visit. The staff here was so nice and helpful, the bed was comfortable, and room was clean.

One of the best part of this hotel was the size. In the time it takes to wait for an elevator at most of the high-rise hotels, we were down the stairs, off the boardwalk and had our toes in the sand. Can't beat that!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
We are so happy to hear you have found your home away from home, and that your new home is with us! Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We look forward to seeing you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    79
    21
    3
    2
See reviews for
93
73
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reisterstown, Maryland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here first time for a weekend getaway in July using our rewards nights. Reading all the positive reviews that put this hotel in ranking on the 3rd place in VB puzzled us a bit, because we've stayed in some of the more luxurious options on the boardwalk and were very satisfied most of the times, but this time it was sort of last minute reservation and none of them were available, so we've decided to give it a try.
To make a long story short I can say we are glad that we did. This place is unique and that's why:
a) you realize that the decor and amenities are VERY dated, looking tiered and used a lot. BUT everything is in good working condition, most of them designed and set very comfortably (for us) and VERY CLEAN, so if you are not one of those "Sheraton/Marriott/Hilton snubs" it doesn't bother you.
b) the walls are thick enough so most of the time you don't hear the noise from you neighbors or outside which is rare case now days.
c) the beds are very comfortable and the AC system works QUIET and constant which let you sleep through the night well (jets noise at night issue is probably a ones in a wile thing).
d) the breakfast was limited, but all the necessary choices were there so again it didn't bother us at all + the option of Pancake/Waffle House is right across the street.
e) the staff was VERY nice and accommodating and left us in a good mood all the time.
f) the parking situation is a bit tight and crowded but they provide the service and it never got us into trouble.
g) the swimming pool was small but very clean and not crowded, so we did have a pleasure to use it in peace and quiet.
h) the location is great to the restaurants, close to both Laskin Rd and I-264 and in a middle of all entertainment that boardwalk provides.
i) value is great if you stay for free like we did or pay under $150p/night. If you pay more I don't think it would be a good value.
What we think could be improved is the water pressure which is not that strong and a bathtub curtain which made from the fabric that no matter what you do easily clings to your body when you shower. Though it looked clean I have my doubts that they change it for every new stay, and besides it makes bathing very uncomfortable. Better to use vinyl curtain or install sliding shower doors.
In conclusion I can say that now I understand where all the positive reviews are coming from, I agree with most of them and from now on this hotel will be in our list of great options to stay in VB.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for such an extensive, and positive review. We are certainly pleased to have made your list of suitable lodging choices and we hope you will become a part of our repeat guest "family". See you soon?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Ok, they serve continental breakfast, they have only oceanfront rooms (some with balconies, some on ground floor), they have a pool, they have free parking, and the rooms were all one could ask for. It was perfect! The staff was very helpful when we were in search of restaurants to eat, and anything else. The day staff always had smiles and were outgoing :) The rooms were clean (bathroom included), the beds were comfy, and the grounds were clean. If you like ground floor walk out rooms, they have them, otherwise the have 2nd and 3rd floor rooms, which are great depending upon your preference.
Good value. Great service. Nice rooms. Right on the ocean and boardwalk in the thick of the action (not noisy).
Stay here! You'll be happy with your stay!

Room Tip: All are oceanfront, some walk out on the ground floor, some have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
We certainly appreciate the positive review! I think the staff enjoyed your stay as much as your family did...great folks! We will be sure to look forward to a repeat visit. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This 3-story hotel is right on the beach amongst the high-risers. Location is great with very close proximity to tourist shops, eateries, and attractions. The staff is friendly, helpful, accommodating, and security-minded! The hotel has a nice outdoor pool which is well maintained and is out of view from passerby's. Bicycles are provided free of charge for hotel customers. The rooms are well kept and offer great views of the beach/ocean/boardwalk. My family loves this hotel and we will choose to stay here whenever we visit Virginia Beach. A complimentary continental breakfast is offered. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: No elevator to access 2nd and 3rd floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice review. We appreciate the high praise. We look forward to welcoming you back "home" on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This was an excellent hotel and we'll definitely stay here again! Right on the ocean with a balcony and a great pool! The staff was absolutely wonderful. Our room was great, although it would have been nice to have the sink separate from the rest of the bathroom since there were 3 of us to get ready. We could walk to the beach, walk to the boardwalk, walk to the shops and restaurants...it was fantastic. The pool was heated, very clean, and we spent a lot of time there as well! They do have nice bicycles to use for free, but we didn't end up doing that this time. We'll be back though!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your review! We all appreciate the kind words and are very happy you had such a good time here. Glad to hear you will be coming back, we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband is, in my opinion....the top researcher for vacations!!! :) Bottom line.....no hotel can compare to Econo Lodge on the Ocean for value and convenience. Accessibility to the beach, boardwalk, and activity is unbelievable! A heated, clean and relaxing pool is close when you need a change from the beach! Staff are top notch, super friendly and accommodating!

This year, last week of June....was wonderful. Our children and grandchildren loved it. One our little grandsons (age 6) said "Grandpa! This is the best day of my life!"

Room Tip: We prefer the ground floor for quick access to room and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
What a great TripAdvisor review! Thank you so much for taking the time to write. Part of what makes this such a special place for the staff to work is the families we get to welcome back "home" every year. Teenagers we met when we started here 30 years ago are now bringing their children's children! It is our hope that we'll still be around to welcome your grandson's children one day. Thanks again for such kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Right on the boardwalk, awesome oceanfront views, friendly knowledgable staff! Clean rooms, great pool area with additional area on 2nd floor for sunning & relaxing. The parking lot is a little snug but manageable, it is nice to be able to park so close to the rooms (something I noticed was lacking with the other hotels in the area.) We will definitely be back!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We appreciate the kind words and that you took the time to write up a review. The staff here is exceptional, which for any manager is truly a blessing. Most of the staff members have been here for a very long time, truly enjoy their jobs, and love greeting the returning guests year after year. We look forward to having you as a part of our extended "family". See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge on the Ocean

Also Known As:
Econo Lodge On The Ocean Hotel Virginia Beach
Econo Lodge On The Ocean Hotel
Econolodge Virginia Beach
Econo Lodge Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Econo Lodge
Address: 2707 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach > Northeast Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#26 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge on the Ocean 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge on the Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.