We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our needs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge on the Ocean

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge on the Ocean to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2707 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451 (Northeast Virginia Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 114 hotels in Virginia Beach
Marlinton, West Virginia, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for our needs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We love this place! Reasonable rates, clean room with microwave and fridge, the friendliest staff around, and the boardwalk location make this the perfect spot for our beach visits. We have stayed here multiple times and will continue to return. I request the same room on the 2nd floor each time we stay and we are always pleased to arrive at our Va. Beach "home"! Nothin' fancy but a great place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review!. You have become a very valued member of our extended "family" and we look forward to your next return visit home! Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    84
    23
    3
    1
See reviews for
106
80
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We were visiting Virginia Beach for the Boardwalk Art Show so wanted an inexpensive oceanfront hotel to be close to it. We couldn't believe the rate at this hotel was so reasonable when it had such great TA reviews! It lived up to expectations and we found the staff particularly friendly and helpful. On arrival, it was about 97F outside and we were told the A/C had just stopped working but they were working hard get it back on it as soon as possible. It did seem to be a big problem and they certainly worked long and hard (it was just along from our room and we saw several guys there working on it) but we had A/C again within about 3 hours. We never doubted they would get it back on somehow as we could tell they were embarrassed not to have everything 100% right for their guests!

We had a second floor room which gave a great view of the boardwalk, the art show and the world passing by. The balcony was a great place to sit and have lunch or a drink while watching all the action. It gave great views up and down the beach. The room was all we could ask for and we loved having the refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker in the room. The bed and seating were comfortable and everything was clean and in good condition.

We liked the fact that the staff ensure the limited parking spaces don't get taken by other beach visitors.

The complimentary breakfast wasn't what we might call 'luxury' but was still very good. The hotel has plenty of eateries nearby as well as a good selection of shops. It's only 3 blocks walk down 28th to Harris Teeters' large supermarket, if you are into self-catering some of the time.

Apart from having to endure unavoidable late Saturday night revellers' noise out on Atlantic St, we found it a very comfortable place to stay and will consider recommending it to friends and maybe returning ourselves!

Thanks to all the staff!

Room Tip: 'People-watchers' go for the second or third floor but it looked like all rooms were pretty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you so much for such a nice review! I apologize for the air conditioning outtage, of course it happened to be on the hottest day of the year! We certainly appreciate your patience while we were working on replacing a part. We will be looking for you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Our experience at this hotel was great! The room was newly renovated and all of the furniture seemed brand new. The balcony had a great view of the beach, ocean, and boardwalk. The pool was always clean and very warm, which was great after swimming in the cold ocean. The free bikes worked well and saved us tons of money throughout our stay. We used them twice a day, which would have cost a lot with rentals. The free breakfast was also nice to save money. They had a nice selection of foods. Also, free parking was great! The staff were extremely friendly and answered all of our questions. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: The third floor had a wonderful view, although there are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your kindness! We are very pleased you enjoyed the hotel and took advantage of all we have to offer. The free bikes really do add great value and savings to our guest's stay; even if they only use them once or twice in a 3 or 4 night visit. It seems like this property suits your needs well, and we would love to welcome you back again. See you soon?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I gave this hotel five stars last year. We just returned from a five-day stay over Memorial Day weekend, and I'm giving it another five star rating. Fabulous staff, great location, excellent value.

A few nitpicks: I have to agree with the reviewer below that the bikes look ratty, particularly the kids' bikes. The seats were all torn up, and you could see the foam stuffing. With everything else looking pristine, the torn seats really stand out. Shouldn't cost much to replace bike seats.

Also, ashtrays on second floor sun deck need to be emptied in the morning. Took my breakfast up there and every table had an ashtray full of cigarette butts.

Hope to be back next year!

Room Tip: Third floor is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you very much for a second wonderful review. We are happy that you have become a repeat guest and expressed your desire to return again. We hope that is an indication that we are doing things the right way!
We have indeed looked at the bikes again, and frankly agree with you that the kids bikes are in rough shape. We are looking to refresh/replace them now. The adult bikes have the normal wear a year at the oceanfront will put on them, but new seats, grips, chains and tires make a world of difference. That bit of maintenance is ongoing. The ashtrays should never be dirty and we apologize for that. They do seem to be getting more use now that all of our rooms are designated non-smoking.
Again thank you for your comments and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is only a 3 level property, so in comparison to a lot of the other places to stay on Virginia Beach it is small. I love everything about this hotel. The staff was helpful and friendly, the pool was warm and clean, the bikes were free and fun. The entire property is co clean. The location is great right on the boardwalk and within walking distance to food and shopping. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND it, I will be returning g next year.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are about $10 more a night. We were on the 3rd floor with a great view of the ent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Wow, thank you so much for the high praise! We have assembled a remarkable staff here, each and every one of whom truly loves to work here and welcome back our extended "family" every year. The smiles you may encounter are genuine!
We are very happy you intend to return next year, which now makes you a part of that family. We welcome you to the fold! Thanks again for the wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

"Hotel is great! Def the best deal. Oceanfront, can walk there in 20 seconds. Hotel was very clean, the staff was very friendly and went out of their way to make sure you were happy and enjoying yourself and the beach is beautiful, long stretch of sand. There was always something to eat along the beach and great restaurants too right along Atlantic Ave where the hotel is located. Staff is very knowledgeable on where to eat e.g. Mexican, buffet, sushi. Free breakfast although complimentary was more than good enough. There is also a coffee machine, fridge and oceanfront balcony in every room. The A/C was a bit old but who cares, we just opened the balcony door and let the sound of crashing waves lull us to sleep....because it's a small hotel, staff has more time to take care of your needs...the parking to check-in to being in the our room took less than 5 minutes....and that's pretty awesome after a 15 hour drive...Can't wait to go back!!!"

Room Tip: All rooms has oceanfront balcony. Make sure to stay at the 3rd floor to get a better view and have l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We appreciate the kind words. You said you can't wait to return? We can't wait to welcome you back "home"! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Second time we've stayed here in 3 years. This is a basic motel BUT, the staff and parking speak volumes. We checked in late around 11pm and the General Manager, Leonard, was still working the desk. Very polite and friendly.
One of the BEST things about this motel is the parking. One space for every room and they have an employee standing by to direct you where to park. Very cool.
One of the few oceanfront motels with a pool. Very clean.
Rooms are basic yet clean, stayed in #339.
Housekeeping staff very friendly especially Rudys cousin. She knows who she is.
Ice machine worked great.
AC was good and cold.
Property clean and secure.
If you don't need a kitchen in your room, stay here.
Art and the other girl at the front desk were very polite and friendly and so was the guy working the parking lot.

Sorry to hear about Rudys passing. He was a nice guy to talk to and was always helpful when parking.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! We love to welcome back our repeat guests and to hear we lived up to your expectations again is great news! Most members of the staff have been here for quite a long time and it is great fun to see our friends return "home". Rudy was a good man who enjoyed making every guest feel welcome with his incredible smile and we all miss him very much. Thank you again and we will see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge on the Ocean

Address: 2707 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach > Northeast Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#28 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge on the Ocean 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge On The Ocean Hotel Virginia Beach
Econolodge Virginia Beach
Econo Lodge Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge on the Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.