We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge on the Ocean

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge on the Ocean to your Saves list
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2707 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451 (Northeast Virginia Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Location, location, location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

When reviewing a property like this that has a good to excellent circle rating and many reviews, what do I say that hasn’t already been said many times before? For me, what I look for in this circumstance is the most recent reviews to see whether the property continues to earn positive reviews. Therefore I’ll provide this summary review.

When traveling, I look for places that are four to five circles in “trip advisor”, that are reasonably priced for the area, that offer a free breakfast and have free wireless internet service. This property met those conditions (though barely in the case of breakfast). This is an old, dated property with an exterior that doesn’t inspire confidence. However, while the interior is also dated, we found our room to be clean and the facilities acceptable. Quite simply, this property is at a great location right on the boardwalk/beach/ocean with wonderful views and access. The price is very reasonable for the location. We found the breakfast to be well below average and the “breakfast area” is just a few chairs. If you want a great Virginia Beach location and not have to pay much for it, this place will meet your needs.

Room Tip: Higher is always better for an ocean/beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
We thank you very much for sharing your thoughts about our hotel here on TripAdvisor. We appreciate the kind words, and that you found this site to be fairly accurate in terms of this hotels rating. I would like to respond to your comments regarding our continental breakfast, since it is a frequent topic here.
We were one of the early converts to offering a continental breakfast many years ago, which then meant a cup of coffee and a doughnut. Twenty years later it is an entirely different thing. We continue to exceed our markets standards with our menu, and provide additional seating at the pool, on the sundeck, and trays for our guests to have breakfast in their rooms. We simply don't have the space for restaurant style seating. It is a complimentary, simple meal to help start your day without additional expense!
Again, we thank you very much for the review of your stay. We are very pleased to have met your expectations with the rest of your stay and look forward to a return visit very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    86
    25
    4
    1
See reviews for
113
90
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Henrico, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

If you like a dirty, musty/smokey smelling hotel room at the Oceanfront then ask for Room Number 335. You can also find ants crossing the threshhold to the bathroom. The bed was so soft that we both woke up with back aches. The toilet bowl is exceptionally low to the floor and the water level is very high. This is a very old, worn out property. (Beware that they the desk clerk will photocopy your driver's license. I have stayed consistently at VA BCH Oceanfront properties since 1990 and no other hotel, that I have stayed in, has this security policy to copy your driver's license.Ask for the copy back when you check out to preclude ID Theft.) One night at this Econo Lodge is more then we could stand. The weekend was saved with a stay at the Courtyard by Marriott, 2501 Atlantic Avenue (757.491.6222). The difference was $32.00 more for Saturday night. Also, I paid, $30.00 less for Sunday night. It is very hard for me to believe that the reviews written were composed by actual hotel guests (vice owners/employees).

Room Tip: During the Winter/Spring Season, get to the Oceanfront between 11:30 AM and 2:00 PM and ask to see a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
We thank you and appreciate that you took the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We are sorry our accommodations failed to meet your requirements and assure you that your comments regarding the cleanliness and condition of your room are being looked into. Had we been made aware of your problems we would certainly have either made things right, or assisted you to find accommodations more suited to your needs. Our policy on ID’s was implemented years ago to ensure guest security in the event we need to reissue a lost key, and to make sure that your credit card isn’t being used by someone other than you. All guest information is kept on-site in a locked storage facility and destroyed on a regular timetable. We have no problem returning any documentation to our guests at checkout, as you found when you checked out and your documents were returned. We will be taking another look into how we can maintain that security, and also consider the objections you noted while you were here.
As to your conjecture regarding the guest comments posted here, I can assure you and everyone else that they are 100% legitimate and come solely from our guests, many of whom are TripAdvisor Senior and Top contributors, most of whom have rated us as being exceptional. TripAdvisor has a very strict policy against hotels using false comments. We would never consider jeopardizing our hotels placement on this site by posting a few complimentary reviews. We are an honest and law abiding family business that has been in the hotel industry for a very long time, and have been the recipients of a great many awards over the years for our dedication to guest service. Posting fake reviews would endanger all of the goodwill we have built over generations; it just doesn’t happen.
The Econo Lodge on the Ocean exceeds the industry standards for an economy hotel. We are glad you found another hotel in a different market level that better suited your needs. We hope you continue to come to Virginia Beach to vacation, and would welcome the opportunity to assist you, even if that means just helping you find the perfect hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Below is a copy of the letter I just emailed to the staff of this hotel. Over the past 40 years, I have stayed at hi-end, low-end properties, and everything in-between... all across the U.S. and in 6 other countries. The staff at this hotel sets a standard that I have never found anywhere else. PERIOD.

Dear EconoLodge Friends--

Imagine my surprise when I received a copy of an "Early Refund Confirmation" that I didn't even ask for. We booked for three nights, and at the last minute, bailed out of the third. We needed to be back home early, EARLY the next morning for a medical test and did not want to risk driving in the wee hours as originally planned--particularly with the forecast of heavy rains. I did not bother to ask about canceling because I figured that whatever your cancellation policy is--we must surely be outside of the realm. No point in punishing your business operation because we had to make a sudden change of plan. I figured we'd just take the room charge on the nose this time--but you thought otherwise and credited my VISA for the un-stayed night.

Many years ago, I worked in marketing--and the supreme goal of customer service wasn't just "customer satisfaction," but "customer DELIGHT." You folks hit that nail square on the head. You are my home at Virginia Beach.

Room Tip: There's not a bad one in the bunch--all oceanfront. But the best balcony views are on the third...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for posting such a nice review! We are very happy we managed to exceed your expectations on this trip. Refunds for early departures are not always possible but when it is reasonable to do so we are more than happy to make that happen. We look forward to your next visit "home". Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The best part of this hotel is the location. This is on the beach and has ocean view from the room itself. Rooms are clean. We loved having breakfast sitting in our room balcony while enjoying the beach view. we also liked kite flying, family bycycling on the beach side.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit. We are happy to have met your expectations and that you seemed to have really enjoyed your stay. Those oceanfront views are amazing, especially at sunrise! We look forward to seeing you again if and when your travels bring you back to Virginia Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

An older motel-type hotel with convenient parking that proved to be a good value for the price, but we found nothing "amazing" as others had stated. We appreciated the convenience of being only a few steps from the beach front, close enough to enjoy the sound of the surf, and the third floor, with a secure balcony, provided a good view of the ocean. Our room was clean, comfortably furnished and appointed, and the bed provided basic comfort for a reasonably good night's sleep. However, we were very disappointed with the breakfast, advertised as "Deluxe," which was sparse, at best. Bagels, pastry, and cereals do not a "deluxe" breakfast make, but the coffee was good, all provided in a small and crowded "nook" with four chairs. This is definitely a "takeout" arrangement. Although the bathroom was clean, the shower okay, and the towels/washcloths were good quality, the toilet was annoyingly inadequate for its unusually shallow saucer-like bowl. Wiping was difficult without dipping a hand into the liquid- a most unpleasant experience and nearly unavoidable without inconveniently shifting one's position. To be frank, a male will find it nearly impossible to keep clear of the water. We travel often and have found lodging in a variety of facilities, and even in Europe, we never had to use a toilet bowl as shallow as this one.

Room Tip: The king size beds are on the third floor. We appreciate the staff warning us in advance that there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for writing such a thorough, and thoughtful, review. We appreciate the time you took out of the day to inform other TripAdvisor users about your stay. While you had a few concerns, we are pleased to read that overall your stay was enjoyable, and that our rooms were clean, neat, and everything worked. Over the years, the truly "amazing" comments seem to be directed towards the staff here, many of whom have been here for an incredibly long time and go out of their way to welcome our guests year in and year out. We are fortunate to have some truly good people that love what they do. Again, thank you for your comments. We hope to see you again when you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The staff was amazing! Friendly and informative of the area, especially Art. Breakfast was good, and the rooms were just amazing. Had friends who warned about bugs and other critters in other hotels and recommended this place. Woke up fine and was able to enjoy the sound of the waves and F-18 hornets leaving Oceana. Oh, and free bikes that you can rent out for an hour and in the non-touristy season, you can take it out longer. Great place to stay and good price overall. Very content

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thanks so much for the kind words! We are pleased to have provided you with something more than the basics. The staff here all really enjoy providing that "little extra" in guest service; especially when they get their name mentioned in print! Providing an amenity like the free bicycles is part of the added value we take pride in offering our guests and we are happy you enjoyed that. Thanks and please know we hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights with our 2 young sons and really enjoyed it. As others mentioned it's not fancy but is very clean and has a great location. We liked being able to open the door and walk right out to the beach. The boys loved the fact that DQ was just footsteps away. The staff was amazing and very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thanks very much for the kind words for the staff here, and taking the time to post a review. We are very pleased the family had such a nice time and hope we get to see the kids again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge on the Ocean

Address: 2707 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach > Northeast Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#32 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge on the Ocean 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge On The Ocean Hotel Virginia Beach
Econolodge Virginia Beach
Econo Lodge Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge on the Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.