We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for the Price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge on the Ocean

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge on the Ocean to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2707 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451 (Northeast Virginia Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 115 hotels in Virginia Beach
Manchester, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect for the Price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My husband is stationed at Little Creek and we booked a night here because the Navy Lodge on base had no availability the first night. Well, after waking up to dolphins swimming out our window the first morning, we stayed for the full 3 nights at the Econo Lodge!
Great price, location, clean, staff was incredibly friendly, Free WiFi, good continental breakfast...
I always look at Trip Advisor before I book, and this is why.
Right on the money.
Excellent time and great couple day vacation with my husband! We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    154
    84
    23
    3
    1
See reviews for
105
80
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dry Fork, VA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This room was very very clean and the best room I have EVER stayed in on the beach. I would stay here again and again. The free breakfast was GREAT also. The pool looked a little small but it is winter time and we did not use the pool. Everyone that we came in contact with that worked at this hotel was very nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I also went here because of the other reviews. And I was not disappointed. I had no problems. It was very quiet. The parking lot is so easy to get in and out of. The room was nice and the people were all very helpful. Flat screen TV with HBO and the wireless worked quite well. I was in a King room on the 3rd floor (went for a King since the rates were so low for winter.) It had a lovely couch, chair and coffee table. The views were great. The food - was not for me. If you're a Starbucks fan, there is a Starbucks 3 blocks away on 31st. If you're Maxwell House fan you might enjoy the food offerings.

The one negative had nothing to do with the hotel but do note - if you are going anywhere on the oceanfront from 40th to 20th this winter - they are doing construction! They have a big project to add sand to the beach and have a pipe laid out across the beach and bulldozers that run all night! The first night the beep-beep-beeping kept me up most of the night. I have not found anywhere to get status on this - the city seems to want to deny it's going on so you might want to check with the hotel before you go to find out if this will interfere with your plans.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so if you have trouble with stairs choose the first floor. All rooms have bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC area
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We chose this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews and are glad. Not sure if there's another VA Beach hotel whose architecture ensures ocean-front views; when we go to the beach we want to be able to sit on balconies and admire the ocean. Not all hotels can guarantee a room with a view will be available.

The hotel's boiler went out during our initial travel date and the staff was excellent about letting us know immediately. We rescheduled about a month later and were very lucky in traveling a January weekend with 70 degree weather! They were doing some other repairs, which did not affect our positive experience.

The rooms are moderately sized and definitely have a budget feel, although there is a safe as well as fridge and microwave. The small flat screen TV has about 70 channels, and we were able to access WiFi in the rooms each day. The toiletries include shampoo and hand lotion. We could hear babies crying and loud voices in other rooms, and traffic is close by, but at night the hotel was fairly quiet (due in part to offseason). The front desk staff were excellent. Didn't try the free continental breakfast.

Tiny nits are the lack of a screen on the balcony door and windows, and the electrical outlet for the bed is behind the bed and hard to reach (for using a laptop on the bed). And there are no elevators, which was not a problem for us.

Will stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms face ocean, are close to parking, and there are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wash dc
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Last visit was about one year ago. On return, everything was just as grand as the last visit - even the weather. I chose a second floor room for the extra sight line of shore and seascape. The facilities have been kept up-to-date. When I awoke the first morning, I thought for a moment that I was in my own comfortable bed. You might want to read the information handout before stepping out onto the balcony. WARNING: the door locks behind you if closed. This might result in a few ackward moments. Although insignificent, you can waive the $1.00 safe fee, if the safe is not used. Enjoyed the clean, quiet, comfortable room and location. The continental breakfast food and location is adequate. The staff is especially helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Loved our stay at the Econolodge. Service was outstanding. Room was very nice all the rooms had a balcony and oceanview. Location was great and the free bikes was outstanding. Room was clean and updated. Great great hotel for the price. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

As frequent travelers to Virginia Beach over the past 40 years, we have just stumbled upon this little gem and can't say enough good things about it. Don't let the humble three-story, older construction turn you away! Inside are the most spin-n-span, up-to-date rooms, with private balconies and beautiful ocean views. Free breakfast, bicycles, HEATED outdoor pool (we swam comfortably in late October!) Their prices are less than half of what you'll pay for the beach's new, ritzy high-risers. (Heck, we have paid almost twice as much for rooms that were no better.) You'll love your fellow guests--and here's the best part: the staff here is top-notch in every way. No detail escapes them. They'll give you a dinner recommendation ... suggest an activity for a rainy day ... and if you tell them you are celebrating something-- they'll even make a little poster in honor of your occasion. We will come back here again ... and again... and again. Already have a trip to Christmas lights planned for the grandson AND another for our Valentine's beach excursion. LOVE THIS LITTLE PLACE!!!

Room Tip: ALL rooms have unobstructed balconies with straight-on views of the beautiful Atlantic. There are NO...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge on the Ocean

Address: 2707 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach > Northeast Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#28 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge on the Ocean 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge On The Ocean Hotel Virginia Beach
Econolodge Virginia Beach
Econo Lodge Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge on the Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.