We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome value and room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge on the Ocean

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge on the Ocean to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2707 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451 (Northeast Virginia Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK EARLY AND SAVE 15%
Ranked #3 of 114 hotels in Virginia Beach
Columbia, Maryland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Awesome value and room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Loved our stay at the Econolodge. Service was outstanding. Room was very nice all the rooms had a balcony and oceanview. Location was great and the free bikes was outstanding. Room was clean and updated. Great great hotel for the price. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    79
    21
    3
    2
See reviews for
93
73
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

As frequent travelers to Virginia Beach over the past 40 years, we have just stumbled upon this little gem and can't say enough good things about it. Don't let the humble three-story, older construction turn you away! Inside are the most spin-n-span, up-to-date rooms, with private balconies and beautiful ocean views. Free breakfast, bicycles, HEATED outdoor pool (we swam comfortably in late October!) Their prices are less than half of what you'll pay for the beach's new, ritzy high-risers. (Heck, we have paid almost twice as much for rooms that were no better.) You'll love your fellow guests--and here's the best part: the staff here is top-notch in every way. No detail escapes them. They'll give you a dinner recommendation ... suggest an activity for a rainy day ... and if you tell them you are celebrating something-- they'll even make a little poster in honor of your occasion. We will come back here again ... and again... and again. Already have a trip to Christmas lights planned for the grandson AND another for our Valentine's beach excursion. LOVE THIS LITTLE PLACE!!!

Room Tip: ALL rooms have unobstructed balconies with straight-on views of the beautiful Atlantic. There are NO...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed here for one night last week. We chose it because of the rating on TripAdvisor and were not disappointed. It was a clean third floor room with an excellent view of the ocean and boardwalk, which we enjoyed. The room had an older couch and also a king size bed which was very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was better than we expected - bagels, cereal, apples, muffins, juice and coffee which we took to our balcony to enjoy while watching the ocean. There are no elevators but even to the 3rd floor room it was not a problem. It was not a fancy room, but very adequate and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a corner room on the 3rd floor - very quiet and great view of the ocean.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

My husband & I stayed here 2 nights for a recent concert we saw at the Farm Bureau Amphitheater. Hotel is ocean front, had FREE bikes to use for an 1 hour (they said if we went over that would be fine since it was the off season) which was wonderful to ride on the boardwalk, they did have a heated pool which was nice actually--I was a little nervous about that, but no nasty sickness to date! The continental bfast wasn't bad--bagels, danishes, cereal, coffee, tea, OJ, milk & they had a basket of apples that I helped myself to as well. The staff was super friendly & helpful. I also recommend riding the FREE shuttle (city bus) to the amphitheater if you are coming down to see a concert. It picks you up 1 block up from the hotel, we waited no time, then you get to go to the amphitheater stress-free since you don't have to deal w/ traffic, then at the end of the concert you meet the bus right outside the gates & it drops you right off outside the hotel. It really was so convenient & easy to use. The room was clean, spacious & well we slept just fine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel over the long weekend (Columbus Day) for only 1 night. I booked this based on the rating level of this hotel in Tripadvisor. It was actually rated as the 3rd best hotel on the ocean in some sites. So my review will take into consideration what this place is. It is a budget hotel. Do not book here thinking that you are going to be getting something equivalent to a Holiday Inn Express or a Hampton Suites. You basically get what you pay for. In this case, the staff are friendly and helpful, the cost was low ($90 with taxes in) and the rooms are clean. But it is very no frills. On the night that we stayed, there was a stiff wind blowing in from the ocean which was more than the door seals could handle. The heater seemed to push out cold air no matter what setting we selected so we basically turned it off, wore sweaters under the covers. There were no cups visible in the bathroom - we did notice some plastic cups by the fridge/microwave stand which is beside the coat/closet. But this was as we were checking out.

I under stand that this is a family run business trying to compete with the big corporations and is a bit of a throw-back to a simpler time for hoteliers. This would be great for a small family here for a beach weekend - spending little time in the room.

Free wireless internet is a basic - some of the larger chains like the 4 Seasons can learn from the Econo Lodge. But a return visit is not in my future for this hotel. I'm not particularly picky and the the price was right, but when you are on a romantic getaway the last thing you want to worry about is the smell of disinfectant, tired paint covering water damage and dealing with temperature fluctuations. Like I said, it is what it is.

Room Tip: Not sure - I had a 3rd floor room. Good view of the beach, but too windy/rainy to enjoy. If the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I love this hotel. Talk about value! The rooms are immaculate, spacious, and comfortable. In addition to the other amenities mentioned in other reviews, they have free wireless internet, and a nice moderate sized table with two comfortable chairs in the sitting area. We also appreciate the clean chairs and table on the patios. If an elevator is not a "must" stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

No frills, off season cost 71.10 a night, non-weekend rate. Balcony faces the ocean. Staff, pleasant and helpful. Older/smaller building needs some painting. Newer bedding and decor would be nice. You get daily continental breakfast of bagels, rolls, coffee and orange juice. Daily bike use without charge. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge on the Ocean

Also Known As:
Econo Lodge On The Ocean Hotel Virginia Beach
Econo Lodge On The Ocean Hotel
Econolodge Virginia Beach
Econo Lodge Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Econo Lodge
Address: 2707 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach > Northeast Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#26 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge on the Ocean 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Venere, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge on the Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.