We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true gem!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge on the Ocean

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge on the Ocean to your Saves list
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2707 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A true gem!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I love this hotel. Talk about value! The rooms are immaculate, spacious, and comfortable. In addition to the other amenities mentioned in other reviews, they have free wireless internet, and a nice moderate sized table with two comfortable chairs in the sitting area. We also appreciate the clean chairs and table on the patios. If an elevator is not a "must" stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    104
    27
    5
    2
See reviews for
135
113
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

No frills, off season cost 71.10 a night, non-weekend rate. Balcony faces the ocean. Staff, pleasant and helpful. Older/smaller building needs some painting. Newer bedding and decor would be nice. You get daily continental breakfast of bagels, rolls, coffee and orange juice. Daily bike use without charge. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

From the moment I pulled into the parking lot, until the moment I left this hotel, I had a completely 100% positive stay.
There's no bells-and-whistles here, just a clean, comfortable, friendly beachfront resort hotel.
As I explored Va Beach during my stay, I actually felt sorry for those who may have chosen one of the high end, high-rise, high-ticket hotels along the beachfront. I thought about them when I was able to just walk out of my ground-floor room directly onto the boardwalk and beach, or just sit on my patio and relax, and probably for a third of what they were paying.
Obviously, people look for different things in a hotel while on a vacation (I was on a one-day getaway). For me, it supplied a perfect, relaxing experience.
Centrally located amid the 'action', it was an easy walk to many shops and restaurants.
One other thing needs to be noted: The staff was as friendly and helpful as you could ever imagine. From the front desk to housekeeping, everyone seemed to want to help you have a good stay. They seemed to take pride in their hotel, as they should. It's a winner.
Heated pool; free bikes; and free (basic) continental breakfast.
We are already looking forward to our next visit - and a longer stay - next time.

(Here's a tip: You can easily turn your basic, comfortable room into a fine-dining restaurant. There's a Harris-Teeter right around the corner. Go shopping there, get creative on the microwave, and have a gourmet lunch on your patio. If you're with someone you love, don't forget the candle!)

Room Tip: Need a view of the beach? Ask for a 2nd or 3rd floor. The ground floor has an amazing view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luray
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Econo Lodge for the Neptune Festival! The room was clean and attractive and oceanfront. Each staff member was helpful and very welcoming. One staff member moved a cone so we could park close to the building late in the evening, and the next morning he offered to carry our luggage to our car. The breakfast was a good start to the day, and we didn't have to go out. Art at the front desk was knowledgeable and fun to talk to.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The hotel and our room where very clean.Employees where pleasant and very helpful. Morning breakfast was a fast way to start your day with juice, bagels, Danish, coffee, cereal, and more. It was wonderful waking up to the ocean. The only bad thing was jets flying very frequently were very,very noisy. But that was not their fault.

Room Tip: We chose a third floor room so we would not hear people above us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemmons, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I stayed at this motel and had best stay on virgnia beach. My room had great ocean view and I enjoyed our stay there, had great FREE breakfast and clean rooms.Staff working there was excellent and frendly. Swimming pool was clean and heated. I will be back again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I stayed here a few months ago but unfortunately have not had the chance to make a Tripadvisor review until now. This was the best Econo Lodge experience I have ever had. Their parking lot is the perfect size and the rooms are nice, clean, and comfortable. You can literally walk out your back door and just a few steps onto the beach. There was a safe in the room, and a very cold fridge/freezer. Every employee we ran into was incredibly nice, and the man working front desk let us keep the car in the lot before we checked in/after we checked out so we could enjoy more time on the beach. The only complaint I had was that breakfast was a little bit sparse but it was acceptable, considering most oceanfront hotels do not even offer breakfast in the rate. I would love to stay here again sometime soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the bottom floor, so you can just walk to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South
Courtyard by Marriott Virginia B...
#3 of 114 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 652 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#6 of 114 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 404 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Bea...
#17 of 114 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Belvedere Beach Resort
Belvedere Beach Resort
#1 of 114 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 371 reviews
1.1 mi away
Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites
Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites
#9 of 114 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 489 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Vir...
#46 of 114 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge on the Ocean

Address: 2707 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge on the Ocean 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our rooms at the Econo Lodge on the Ocean are oceanfront with a private balcony or ground floor patio overlooking the beach and the boardwalk. You have a choice of two double beds or one king bed with sleeper sofa. Each is equipped with a microwave, refrigerator, in-room coffee maker, hairdryer, iron/board, and in-room safe. Hotel amenities include an outdoor heated swimming pool, free bicycles for our guests, and free high speed wireless internet access. A complimentary continental breakfast is served each morning from 7 to 10 AM. Our guest parking is on-site, 1 car per room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Econo Lodge on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge On The Ocean Hotel Virginia Beach
Econolodge Virginia Beach
Econo Lodge Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge on the Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.