We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay; Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge on the Ocean

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge on the Ocean to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2707 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451 (Northeast Virginia Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 114 hotels in Virginia Beach
Luray
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great stay; Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Econo Lodge for the Neptune Festival! The room was clean and attractive and oceanfront. Each staff member was helpful and very welcoming. One staff member moved a cone so we could park close to the building late in the evening, and the next morning he offered to carry our luggage to our car. The breakfast was a good start to the day, and we didn't have to go out. Art at the front desk was knowledgeable and fun to talk to.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    84
    23
    4
    1
See reviews for
110
82
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
maryland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The hotel and our room where very clean.Employees where pleasant and very helpful. Morning breakfast was a fast way to start your day with juice, bagels, Danish, coffee, cereal, and more. It was wonderful waking up to the ocean. The only bad thing was jets flying very frequently were very,very noisy. But that was not their fault.

Room Tip: We chose a third floor room so we would not hear people above us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemmons, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I stayed at this motel and had best stay on virgnia beach. My room had great ocean view and I enjoyed our stay there, had great FREE breakfast and clean rooms.Staff working there was excellent and frendly. Swimming pool was clean and heated. I will be back again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I stayed here a few months ago but unfortunately have not had the chance to make a Tripadvisor review until now. This was the best Econo Lodge experience I have ever had. Their parking lot is the perfect size and the rooms are nice, clean, and comfortable. You can literally walk out your back door and just a few steps onto the beach. There was a safe in the room, and a very cold fridge/freezer. Every employee we ran into was incredibly nice, and the man working front desk let us keep the car in the lot before we checked in/after we checked out so we could enjoy more time on the beach. The only complaint I had was that breakfast was a little bit sparse but it was acceptable, considering most oceanfront hotels do not even offer breakfast in the rate. I would love to stay here again sometime soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the bottom floor, so you can just walk to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I selected this hotel based on the reviews. and the review were right. Great location right on the beach. When you check in you will see a wall full of awards. Now I know why. Nice FREE breakfast. But the one thing is the staff, Everybody had a smile and were as friendly as could be. I'll be back

Room Tip: All the rooms are beach front. I think there are only about 35 rooms so you will never be over-run...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Friendly & professional staff, and that was everyone, not just the front desk crew.

Rooms are clean, quiet, oceanfront, get tremendous morning light but have superb near-blackout curtains if you want to sleep past dawn.

You can pay a lot more in Virginia Beach for lodging (and it's a roll of the dice, because even some of the pricey places don't get you what you paid for). You can pay a lot less (and get really bad accommodations).

The Econo Lodge is a really superb little hotel on the ocean.

Things that stood out:
room refrig worked great & the temp was actually adjustable! unlike so many room fridges that are obviously in need of replacement;
clean, this place was so clean;
the free beach cruiser bikes for guests to use - - awesome;
only steps to the beach;
walk to many restaurants, or take the bikes;
good, friendly people who want to help out.

I recommend this hotel & I will stay here again.

Room Tip: If you have lots of 'stuff' to carry, you may want to select a ground floor room. This hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel for a couple of nights and I was pleasantly surprised. The room was clean and had what we needed: the coffee maker, the hair dryer, etc. Importantly there was no smell of moldiness and humidity that you get in other hotels by the beach All the rooms have a view on the ocean. It was great to be able to sip coffee on the balcony and watch dolphins! The hotel was not cheap, well over $200 a night in a weekend but I was very satisfied.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge on the Ocean

Address: 2707 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach > Northeast Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#30 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge on the Ocean 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge On The Ocean Hotel Virginia Beach
Econolodge Virginia Beach
Econo Lodge Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge on the Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.