We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good- Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge on the Ocean

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge on the Ocean to your Saves list
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2707 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
wash dc
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very Good- Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

There are two Econ Lodges on the beach. This is the smaller three story unit. There is easy, adequate on-site parking. Staff is most friendly and helpful. Room was clean, quite and comfortable. Up-grade to flat screen TV, refrig, microwave. Can't imagine why - but there is an iron and ironing board. Bathroom is on the smaller side but adequate. Continental breakfast was limited. You are asked to take your breakfast on a tray back to your room. There are no tables in the food area. Overall, great value for an off season visit.

Room Tip: Did not see much difference in rooms. Try Doc Taylor's on 23rd St for a good breakfast or lunch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    97
    27
    5
    1
See reviews for
125
102
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed one night for the Wicked 10K. This was the one of the better values close to the race finish line. It was also within walking distance of several places to eat. Check-in went very smooth and we were able to get check-out extended for an hour the next day without a problem.

I am a bit of a germaphobe and I found the room and bathroom to be clean. The balcony faced the water as did all the rooms in the hotel. The beds were comfortable. The water pressure in the shower was really strong. I only wish there were more than two pillows on the bed, probably spoiled from more expensive hotel stays.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia Suburbs, PA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

With military family stationed near Virginia Beach VA, my husband and I are becoming experts on beachfront ‘travel on the cheap’. We both love the ocean, love a beachfront full-on view, and value saving $$$ so we can travel more frequently. Econo Lodge on the Ocean seems to have been 'made for us'. Let's start with the basics ... the rooms are of sufficient size (bathroom with in-shower tub, king size bed, desk, couch and coffee table in the little sitting area). The rooms are clean. The price was excellent (Going directly to the hotel website and getting the senior discount saved us $$$ over the other hotel sites lowest rate). You sign a waiver upon check-in that you won’t bring pets, have parties, or play loud music or TV – so it’s quiet. And, hallelujah, the staff is well-trained and just lovely.
Now to the goodies ... and here is the best one ... every room has a full front beach view (I've attached pictures of the beach view to the North and 2 straight on) -- all taken from our front porch). Not usually a fan of continental breakfast, this one is excellent with a variety of instant oatmeals, choice of cereal, mini pastries and muffins, and full size bagels with butter, cream cheese, peanut butter and jelly spreads. Beverages included juice, milk, tea and a truly decent medium blend cofee. There is free usage of hotel bikes during daylight hours. Each room has a small refrigerator (including a freezer) and a microwave. And, again, the hotel staff is well-trained and polite.
So what's not to love? The biggest downside is that this three story hotel has no elevator. So pack lightly. The parking lot is tight, tight, tight and fills to the brim. And, as would be expected in an economy hotel, the shampoo isn't very sudsy and the towels are on the smaller side. But, as long as you are 'willing and able' to hike your bags up the steps if needed, it's a value hunters dream.
Oh and one more thing … there is another Econo Lodge on the shoreline in Virginia Beach VA. It’s larger and has an elevator … but, it does not have customer ratings as strong as the motel at 2707 Atlantic … so be aware.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor give you a great view of the beach without the hike to the third floor. R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed one night in Virginia Beach while enroute from Chincoteague to the Shenandoah Valley and, knowing nothing about this area, we chose to stay here based on the other reviews on this site. The staff was exceptionally friendly, the place was very clean, and the room (on the 3rd floor) was perfect for our needs. We had a private balcony overlooking the boardwalk and the ocean, and were walking distance to lots of options for food and drink. The hotel also offers free use of bikes which provided a perfect way to explore the area in a short period of time. The best part - the very low price we paid for the room. Granted, it was a weeknight in mid-October, and I'm sure the rooms are more expensive during the summer season, but we would consider this place a value for double what we paid.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napanee
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Stayed here a couple of years ago..older style hotel but updated,clean and friendly staff.Location is on the beach and provides a great view and sounds of the ocean.Will stay there again inthe future.

Room Tip: There are no elevators in this three level hotel...if mobility is a problem and you cannot get a gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We were very satisfied with our choice of this hotel. The price was very reasonable compared to other hotels in the area. We enjoyed sitting out on our private balcony, taking in the view of the ocean, the sunrise and people watching. The room was clean and beds were comfortable. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The free breakfast consisted of danish, toast, bagels, cereal, OJ, coffee, hot chocolate, tea and a bowl of apples. The free use of bikes was quite a nice extra. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We were at the Econo Lodge for five nights at the beginning of October. The rooms were very clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is perfect with a nice view of the ocean. One morning, we opened the curtain and, while sitting in our room, watched the sun rise. How convenient is that! It was also very quiet. We were on the first floor (because there are no elevators) and the view of the ocean was good. We will stay there again when we go to Virginia Beach.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Econo Lodge on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge on the Ocean

Address: 2707 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge on the Ocean 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our rooms at the Econo Lodge on the Ocean are oceanfront with a private balcony or ground floor patio overlooking the beach and the boardwalk. You have a choice of two double beds or one king bed with sleeper sofa. Each is equipped with a microwave, refrigerator, in-room coffee maker, hairdryer, iron/board, and in-room safe. Hotel amenities include an outdoor heated swimming pool, free bicycles for our guests, and free high speed wireless internet access. A complimentary continental breakfast is served each morning from 7 to 10 AM. Our guest parking is on-site, 1 car per room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Econo Lodge on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge On The Ocean Hotel Virginia Beach
Econolodge Virginia Beach
Econo Lodge Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge on the Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.