We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty Rooms and Don't care attitude” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2101 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #15 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Dirty Rooms and Don't care attitude”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2008

We usually stay at Holiday Inns because they are generally clean and ok for the price. So what a shock when we arrived and the front desk person seemed bored to see us. The room was dirty and the hotel was run down. For the price I was shocked. We called housekeeping and they said someone would clean the room. It hadn't been dusty for at least a month and the hand rail in the bathroom was corroded along with filthy fingerprints on the back of the bathroom door.

We went to dinner and when we got back, the room was the same. I called housekeeping again but they said the room had been deep cleaned. Yeah right. So they showed up again and I pointed out what needed to be done (I have photos). We went for a walk and when we got back, it was more of the same. EW! I didn't bother to call again.

The next day, we went out. When we got back the one bed had been made but that was it. No one even bothered to straighten the pillows on the other bed. And the dusty filth and gross bathroom still was the same. But a maid stopped by to see how it was and I showed her. She came back with a manager and our maid. I showed them all. We went out to breakfast. When we got back, 1/2 of the stuff was done, the rest wasn't.

Dont' bother with the Attitudes grill either. They have the worst service although the food is edible. The attitude all over the hotel is one of "we'd rather you didnt' bother to show up!" Next time, I won't.

  • Liked — the location--right on the beach
  • Disliked — the run down dirty atmostphere for an outrageous price.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    146
    59
    20
    15
See reviews for
151
121
30
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

We just returned from a wonderful vacation at Virginia Beach. Virginia beach is one the best, clean and secure beaches. It was not very crowded during the peak season.

Overall, the hotel is averagely clean and staff is nice. The bath rooms were the cleanest and had well maintained tiles. The TV is small. However, there are several nice hotels on the beach that I felt I would have been better option. But, this was not bad, just that I paid more than 200 for a room, that I don't think is worth that much. I wouldn't recommend their restaurant. They have *very* limited menu items and for vegetarians, don't even think about it. Their highly advertised kids eat free is just a joke. My kids told me that they would rather eat from the Subway infront of the hotel than eat in their restaurant.

As far as access to the beach, this is hotel is strategically located with access to everything. Given that they have a very limited parking next to hotel, I saw lot of musical chairs to grab a spot and once you got one, you don't want to leave and prefer to walk around or take $1 bus. The indoor swimming pool is very much next to the entrance and next to the beach side exit. It just doesn't give any privacy. But I hardly saw people swimming, given that their is enough water to play outside. The pool by itself is very small and if you are not careful, you could fall into the pool on one side. One of the side is just too narrow.

There are two elevators and 12 floors. We have been lucky most of the time to get elevator within few minutes of pushing the button. I highly recommend you to carry drinking water with you up the floor. Most of the time, the vending machines (on each floor) are sold out for water.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2008

This was our first time to Virginia Beach. If we go to a beach in the South it is usually Mrytle Beach, SC. Virginia Beach is so much better than Mrytle Beach! Holiday Inn on 21st is in the middle of it all. The streets and the boardwalk is live and active late hours.
If you bring your children, bring the bikes. However there are bikes to rent.
We only ate out one night, we at at the Holiday Inn, it has excellent seafood (crab cakes/soft shell crab sandwich).
The hotel is clean and updated. I am actually there right now using the free access, the weather was a bit cloudy today.
I would stay here again.
The only thing I didn't like was the parking, but we lucked out found a parking spot on the lot. We used public transportation and kept the car parked.

  • Liked — The restaurant and the open area that you can eat outside on the patio
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2008

Just came back from awesome vacation here. I was hesitant upon arrival because at last minute changed reservations from Holiday Inn Sunspree due to terrible reviews. I was pleasantly suprised.

The parking lot is too small and was concerned over the safety of the other lot due to the teenagers walking around. But they actually had an attendant sitting in chair for greater part of the day and put my mind to ease!.

Rooms had fantastic view of the ocean from laying in my bed!!! Beaches were crowded but very clean. Staff was excellent and very friendly and my room was very clean upon arrival. We dont let housekeeping in each day but found fresh towels at our door each time we didnt let them in and this impressed me that I didnt have to spend time chasing someone down.

The boardwalk (on street) does get crazy at night but hey its Virginia Beach and its for the younger crowd. Boardwalk on the ocean is peaceful and not bad at all. Our family walked it many times

Awesome time and great hotel. Will definitely go back and trust me I read these reviews and find them helpful. Im very picky about where we go and would recommend this hotel 100%.

  • Liked — Beautiful Ocean views--Sunsets and Sunrises from my bed
  • Disliked — parking- small indoor pool; no outdoor pool
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

We just got back from Virginia Beach, the weather was great and jellyfish were far and few. The past 2 times we were here we stayed at the Dyas Inn Oceanfront. It was further to walk to the shops and quieter. We thought this year, we would try something new The hotel itself was good, front desk, and anyone who worked there, went out of their way to accomodate. One day coming back from a walk along the boardwalk we were approaching the Holiday Inn and all you could see was a massive swarm of seagulls! It was disgusting. People were feeding them from the balconies! So you can imagine what the balconies below looked like. We told the front desk and they did go out and tell the people to stop feeding the seagulls. But that was an ongoing problem all week. Also one night kids were throwing water balloons at the people walking by on the boardwalk. That was also addressed by the the front desk. Yes the parking is terrible,we only got a space after 4 days, but for the most part we walked everywhere. So nothing against the hotel, it seems that Virginia beach itself is going down the tubes. Which is too bad. Alot of teenagers hanging around looking for trouble.

  • Liked — the oceanfront view, access to beach and the strip
  • Disliked — the clientele, the parking
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

The hotel was clean and fresh. The room we had was the largest suite they offer. It was very spacious and accomodating. The front desk was always helpful and responded within minutes of request. The parking lot was small but we were lucky to have gotten a spot- once parked -leave it there. You do not need the car to go anywhere but the aquarium which we did before checking into the hotel anyway. This ensures a spot for you and your car. The aquarium was worth the price of the admission just to be able to touch and play with the stingrays. The Imax was also playing the latest batman film. The hotel is central on the boardwalk and all shops and restaurants are close by.
Do not eat at Giovanni's - thefood was ok but not worth our bill. And they add their own gratuity and we were only 5 people. Usually this is added on for parties of 8 or more- $18.00 in gratuity alone we had to pay for service that was not worth that at all- and the pizza had more cheese on it than other toppings- need to ask for them to cook it well done and be careful choosing your toppings - very expensive to add on. Doc Taylor's was the best breakfast place and also the Waffle Company - all you can eat buffet you do not mind eating it all... some buffets you need to be careful of - recommended by the locals to stay away from the seafood buffets. If you want a really good dinner place for a great price - you need to visit Tou Taugs (right beside Doc Taylor's).

  • Liked — The king size bed
  • Disliked — Toiletries , bare minimum, elevator too hot in the hallways, parking.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2008

Nice hotel, right on the beach. Staff was friendly and accommodating and kept the room cleaned. Room service was great, never actually ate in the restaurant. Room was super clean upon arrival, bathroom is decent sized and beds are actually comfortable.

Cons are

the lack of a larger parking lot, we only managed to snag a space once during the 3 night stay, but the overflow parking lot isn't -that- far away

and the fact that a 12 story hotel only has two elevators so a lot of time was spent waiting forever for the elevator to come. Luckily we were on the 2nd floor so I did a lot of hoofing it up the stairs instead.

Also, there are only 3 luggage carts, so on check out day, all three were being used and 3 people were in line ahead of us, so we ended up carrying all our stuff (6 people stayed including 2 small children) down in 2 trips, not a huge deal.

The view is great and its nice to wake up to the sunrise over the ocean, so any tiny inconveniences were completely overlooked or forgiven.

I plan on going straight back to Virginia Beach first chance I get and will definitely consider this hotel again.

  • Liked — Great view, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Parking!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach

Address: 2101 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#10 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#27 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Oceanside hotel in the heart of the Virginia Beach Resort District, a hotel especially designed to make your Virginia Beach vacation fun, comfortable and convenient. At the Holiday Inn Oceanside hotel, Virginia Beach, VA, all of our 150 rooms offer a beautiful oceanfront view of the coast and boardwalk with a large private balcony, refrigerator, coffee maker, free wireless high-speed Internet access, pay-per-view movies and HBO. Our guest rooms are perfect for family vacations, business travel or that special weekend getaway. Enjoy a delicious meal in your hotel room using our convenient room service or visit Key West Bar & Grill open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. For your enjoyment we also have an oceanfront outdoor cafe for a relaxing meal overlooking the beach and the boardwalk. You are only seconds away from many of the main attractions that Virginia Beach Resort District has to offer such as the Virginia Aquarium and Marine Science Center, Farm Bureau Live and the Virginia Beach Convention Center. Whether you are in Virginia Beach on business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Oceanside Hotel is the perfect east coast oceanfront retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Oceanside (21st) Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.