We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2101 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #14 of 115 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here this past week and really enjoyed this hotel. The hotel has just recently been remodeled and the room was nice and clean. We enjoyed having the mini frig and microwave in our room. The coffee pot was great, as well. Loved sitting on the balcony watching the ships, people and jets go by. Very relaxing. Mini markets and Pharmacy, as well as gift shoppes and restaurants, were all within walking distance. The pool was nice, because it had the hot tub, built into one side of the pool. Very unique. The wait staff, desk personnel, and housekeepers were all exceptional and very friendly people. Awesome place to stay!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thanks for the great comments about the staff and hotel. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    136
    52
    20
    14
See reviews for
143
106
30
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wood-Ridge, NJ
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My family won't even consider staying somewhere else when we go to Virginia Beach. Perfect location right off the interstate and on the beach. Every room has a ocean-view balcony. Breathtaking view! Love watching the dolphins make their way up and down the coastline every day. There's so much to do and see right around the hotel, you could walk everywhere, or rent a bike right outside the hotel. The hotel is very clean and the rooms are slightly small for a family, but super comfortable. The parking lot is tight, but there's an overflow lot 1/2 block away that is very spacious and both lots are free. The front desk staff are very friendly and accomodating. The price went up again this year which was a bummer. I hope it doesn't again next year or we might have to give up our balcony view for something more inland.

Room Tip: Every room is great and facing the ocean, but we always ask for one of the top floors to get a bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for the outstanding feedback about the hotel and staff. I could not have said it better and this happens to be the best time of year to visit the beach in my opinion since it is still beautiful outside while the guest room prices are less than half of what they are during the season. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Never been to Virginia Beach before, so I got lucky when I chose a hotel right in the center of the boardwalk. Every room faces the beach. The hotel grounds are very clean as was our room. The front desk staff is very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was much better than other hotel breakfasts that I have had. If we come back to Virginia Beach again, I will definitely look to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thanks for the outstanding feedback about the hotel, location and staff which I believe are the top reasons to stay here vs. all of the other hotels on the beachfront. And this time of year our rates have been greatly reduced since we are off season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My family and I made last minute plans to vacation in Virginia Beach. We booked a hotel online, but were gravely disappointed with the distance to the beach. At a local restaurant, we encountered a couple who told us about the cleanliness and great service of Holiday Inn Oceanside. We were pleasantly greeted by Verisis Brown at the checkin counter. (What a sweet lady.) She assisted us in reserving a room for the next few days. The room was ready, so we were allowed to get in early. The room was clean and airy, with the view of the ocean outside our balcony. BTW, all rooms face the ocean.The location was perfectly situated in the middle of the boardwalk. Each morning, my kids enjoyed a free buffet breakfast and made the few-steps trek to the beach. the hospitality staff, headed by Francis Jordan, were quick and generous when we requested extra towels due to showering after the beach. At check out, Verisis Brown and Amanda Nixon reviewed the bill and were prompt with the paperwork.We definitly plan to return next year.

Room Tip: Fireworks on Wednesday nights, so higher floors have cooler view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for the great comments about the hotel and members of the staff. This information and comments will be review at our daily stand up meeting. We are always looking for feedback in order to thank the top performers and work on any issues that we may have.
Thanks again and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was a nice place to stay. The rooms were nice, standard but enough room for a family of four. Great proximity to the beach, and a good location in Virginia Beach. A little further south than our last stay, but still a good spot from which to go for walks either on the street (for the shops and restaurasts), or down the boardwalk which is beautiful. The restaurant hotel was quite good as well, kids eat free and there are other daily specials - a good value and great service. Our room had a great balcony (all are ocean view), which is a must in Virginia Beach. Its a small balcony mind you with just a couple of old plastic chairs, but that's fine. There was a small fridge which was a great help. The only thing I didn't like about this hotel was the pool. It was tiny and always looked very dirty. It was the only disappointment. But luckily we had great weather during our stay and spent our days at the beach - we even had dolphins swim by not more than 10 feet from where we were swimming, amazing!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We are really excited that you enjoyed your most recent stay at our hotel. Thank you for the nice comments about the hotel and staff. We think our location is the best because it is centrally located to everything on the beach and boardwalk. Just park your car and forget about it until it is time to leave. The dolphins seem to enjoy it as well since you can see them every morning and most afternoons just a few yards from the beach. Hope to see you soon and thanks again for the great comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was the best labor day holiday I've had in quite awhile. The staff was great, the room excellent and the beach location was superb. Even with all the activity going on, it was relatively quiet considering the entertainment going on nearby. I recommend this hotel and I will be returning next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thanks for the great comments about both the hotel and staff. It would be our pleasure serving you next year on your return visit. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, DE
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The hotel is centrally located on the beach. It's clean, fairly modern, the staff was friendly, and the oceanfront restaurant was pretty decent. The only complaint I have is that they messed up our reservation. We booked a king, and when we arrived, they told us the king rooms were sold out and we had a double. Outside of that, it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments and we are sorry about your reservation. We also believe that our hotel has the best location on the beach since you can park the car and then forget about it until you are ready to leave. This is the best time to visit because our rates have been reduced since we are off season and local businesses offer the best deals of the year on their goods and services. Thank you again and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach

Address: 2101 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Oceanside hotel in the heart of the Virginia Beach Resort District, a hotel especially designed to make your Virginia Beach vacation fun, comfortable and convenient. At the Holiday Inn Oceanside hotel, Virginia Beach, VA, all of our 150 rooms offer a beautiful oceanfront view of the coast and boardwalk with a large private balcony, refrigerator, coffee maker, free wireless high-speed Internet access, pay-per-view movies and HBO. Our guest rooms are perfect for family vacations, business travel or that special weekend getaway. Enjoy a delicious meal in your hotel room using our convenient room service or visit Key West Bar & Grill open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. For your enjoyment we also have an oceanfront outdoor cafe for a relaxing meal overlooking the beach and the boardwalk. You are only seconds away from many of the main attractions that Virginia Beach Resort District has to offer such as the Virginia Aquarium and Marine Science Center, Farm Bureau Live and the Virginia Beach Convention Center. Whether you are in Virginia Beach on business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Oceanside Hotel is the perfect east coast oceanfront retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Oceanside (21st) Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.