We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean Front Recognition” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2101 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 114 hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Prince George's County, Maryland
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Ocean Front Recognition”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed here for a church conference in August. Beautiful property and rooms. Small parking lot but at least complimentary parking is offered. There is another lot within a short walking distance. Located on the the ocean front side with all rooms oceanfront. Check in and check out were a breeze. Room amenities were great. Air Conditioner in a horrible location, blows directly onto bed and sitting area. It should have been on the other side of the room/balcony to avoid getting patrons sick. If the air isn't on, it's hot so the air stayed on 95% of the trip. Again, it was August. Breakfast in the hotel restaurant was horrible in customer service, meal choices and meal portion. The buffet was hot so I opted to order from the menu. It took well over 15 minutes to be acknowledged by the server. And when I asked another server for a cup of water, he told me the area I was seated in wasn't his. Excuse me! I should have left then but I had a free meal voucher. I was very disappointed with that whole experience but let the issue go. Go off the property for a decent breakfast. There are plenty within walking distance. I was just being lazy that day. I enjoyed Doc Taylor's about a 2 block walk away. The conference rooms are very small but nicely appointed. Despite the food and AC issues, I would probably stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms are oceanfront. The suites are about double the size of the standard room. Unfortunately...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for the feedback about your trip to our hotel during August. We are in the process of addressing the issues you have raised and want to thank you for bringing them to our attention since that is the only way we can improve hotel operations. Again thank you for the nice comments as well as the constructive ones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    193
    132
    52
    20
    13
See reviews for
142
105
29
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My family and I arrived at Holiday Inn Oceanside in Virginia Beach, on August 7th, and planned to stay through the 12th. This trip was our annual summer vacation destination and this was the 6th year in a row for us staying at this particular hotel. Upon arriving, I found out that there were 3 different hotel reservations under my name with different arrival dates. I had explained to the front desk representative, Verisis, that I had originally reserved 2 rooms for my family and others back in February or March for the week of July 24th-July 29th, and had called 4 days before that scheduled arrival to cancel because I wasn't going to be able to come during that week. The representative that I had talked to at that time--I didn't get his name and hate that I forgot to get that info, nevertheless, told me that there were no reservations whatsoever under my name for the week in question. I even spelled my name for him letter by letter, and he still told me that there was nothing under my name for that hotel for that particular week. So, I took his word instead of documenting the details of our phone call, and left the situation alone. Now, 2 weeks later when my family and I are finally checking in on August 7th, I found out that those 2 reservations that I had tried to cancel 2 weeks before and was told had never existed, actually did exist and that there was a total of 3 different authorization holds on my debit card. Aaaah!!!!! In a world of panic, Verisis reassured me that the mistake would be taken care of and that the 2 additional holds on my card would be released. Not only did she take care of us during our check-in, but she also provided me with a lovely gift bag with goodies in it for being a rewards card member. Our rooms at Holiday Inn Oceanside are always pleasant--we love the new décor, and the hotel is smack dab in the middle of everything Virginia Beach has to offer. Verisis was awesome--she went above and beyond my expectations and helped me out during my time of need. If I could give her a raise, I definitely would. We will be back! :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for the kind comments about the hotel and Verisis at our front desk. We are pleased that your reservation issues were cleared up by Verisis and you had a great vacation. We love having our repeat guests give feedback about their stay and share all of the information with the entire team in order to improve service and quality for every guest. Again, thank you and hope to see you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldan, Pa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Before I go on to the negatives of our recent stay I want to say that the hotel was in an amazing location, and the rooms were very nice. The pool and proximity to the beach and everything else we needed was amazing. However that seems to be where the wonderful visit stopped.

When we checked in, we were given the keys and told our room. Unfortunately the room we were told was already occupied. To make up for the trouble we were given a coupon for complimentary breakfast. That would have been fine but it was only valid for the very next morning. Once we were given our new room, we got back up there to find out we were given a room with two queen beds instead of the one king bed we had reserved. When we went down about this we were given a third room which ended up being the right one, finally, but told there was nothing more they could do for us. I feel that after the hotel messed up our reservation twice, we should have been given something more than just a single free breakfast.

Once we got to our room, we noticed one of the lights took forever to come on and the toilet seat was broken. Since these were only minor nuisances, and not major issues, we decided not to bother the front desk for a third time about an issue.

On our third night there we tried to order room service. It took three long calls before any one even answered. Once someone finally answered I kept getting bounced back and forth between the front desk and guest services before finally being told the restaurant was short-staffed and unable to accommodate room service orders at that time. Very disappointing.

Finally, on our last night there, both of our keys became deactivated. I could see one key not working, but both of them? They were not being kept near our phones or any credit cars because I have heard these can mess with the magnetic strips on cards. Luckily the front desk took care of it right away, but it was still very annoying having to head all the way back to the lobby just to get back in to our room.

I was hoping that since we were staying in a major hotel chain our visit would have been excellent, but I must say we were more than a little disappointed in our stay. I'm sorry to say that when we return to Virginia Beach we will be staying at another hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for the honest feedback about your last stay here at the Oceanside Holiday Inn. At no time are we perfect and we do admit when things go wrong and in your case they went really wrong and we did not try to improve the situation. We are very sorry and would like to make it up if you can just give us another chance. A call would be great and ask for Joe or Jason.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I am not a person who frequents Holiday Inns. I am more of Marriott consumer. I joined friends who were staying here. The rooms were clean. I think the hotel was recently renovated.

The buffet breakfast was sorta plain. Should be included in the price of the room.

Minor issue with TV was resolved promptly. Staff friendly. Would consider returning.

Room Tip: King sized beds are in suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for giving Holiday Inn a try during your last stay at the beach. We enjoyed serving you and do offer certain packages that do include anything on the breakfast menu for an additional $5 to $10 dollars. This package is by far the best value for a family that would like breakfast every morning. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

This was my family's first beach trip and I booked this hotel based on the good reviews I read. When we arrived we found parking easily and the hotel was very clean with a great location. Not one complaint I definitely would stay there again. Kids eat free, drink and appetizer specials I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. I thank the previous guests for their honest reviews and I thank Holiday Inn for living up to my expectations. Great 1st family beach trip!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
We are excited and pleased about the comments you made about the hotel and staff. We really enjoyed servicing your family and look forward to a return trip soon. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The hotel and room were very clean. Great oceanfront view from our balcony. The food at the SipSip restaurant in the hotel was excellent. Staff was very helpful/friendly. The only downfall about this location is that it is a very "touristy" area.

Room Tip: Do not eat at the hotdog stand directly across the street from the hotel ~ it's filthy, the food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for the comments and feedback about the hotel and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for five nights. The location was perfect, almost exactly in the center of the boardwalk strip. We are priority club members and had made reservations long in advance. We had king room with ocean view. Upon arrival we were checked into a first floor room. When we requested a higher floor, they had none available. We were compensated with two breakfast tickets for each day of our stay. The breakfast buffet was very good. We felt this was very fair. We were also presented with a priority gift package upon arrival, with water, cookie, and microwave popcorn. It was a nice touch. The hotel staff was very friendly, from desk, to restaurant, to valet to housekeeping. We did not use the pool. Everything seemed fairly clean, but there was a big dead bug on a nightstand in our room that was there our entire stay. We did not complain because everything else seemed fine. The free parking was either next to hotel or half a block away, so it was very convenient. Wish this hotel had an outdoor pool as well as an indoor one, but we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for the comments about your last stay at the Oceanside Holiday Inn. As a PCR member we would like to give you a special thank you since all of our PCR members are so very important to our future success. We are always looking for new features that PCR members would like to see, such as our new additional points earned when booking through the IHG web site or during the off season we will be offering breakfast with room packages at reduced rates. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach

Address: 2101 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#19 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Oceanside hotel in the heart of the Virginia Beach Resort District, a hotel especially designed to make your Virginia Beach vacation fun, comfortable and convenient. At the Holiday Inn Oceanside hotel, Virginia Beach, VA, all of our 150 rooms offer a beautiful oceanfront view of the coast and boardwalk with a large private balcony, refrigerator, coffee maker, free wireless high-speed Internet access, pay-per-view movies and HBO. Our guest rooms are perfect for family vacations, business travel or that special weekend getaway. Enjoy a delicious meal in your hotel room using our convenient room service or visit Key West Bar & Grill open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. For your enjoyment we also have an oceanfront outdoor cafe for a relaxing meal overlooking the beach and the boardwalk. You are only seconds away from many of the main attractions that Virginia Beach Resort District has to offer such as the Virginia Aquarium and Marine Science Center, Farm Bureau Live and the Virginia Beach Convention Center. Whether you are in Virginia Beach on business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Oceanside Hotel is the perfect east coast oceanfront retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Oceanside (21st) Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.