We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waited 11 months to arrive, and were not disappoited” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2101 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #16 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
PA
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Waited 11 months to arrive, and were not disappoited”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Made reservations at the 11 months prior point. Arrived, after great anticipation, and were not disappointed.
The place was updated a bit, and the attention to detail was evident.
The bed was so comfortable, it was almost too good to describe, which is a rare event in today's market.
The view was awesome, as it was in our previous visit. (This was the second visit).
The breakfast buffet not worth the time, but, other than that, the entire trip was perfect.

Room Tip: xx00 = close to elevator = noise. 8 and higher are good views of ocean and fireworks
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for the outstanding feedback about the hotel and staff. Hope to see you again when you visit the beach area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    140
    55
    20
    15
See reviews for
145
110
30
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Locust Grove, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We booked a week ahead of time asked for two rooms as close as possible so we could be near our daughter and two grand children. We arrived a couple of hours ahead of check-in time and found out that our rooms were next to each other. The hotel is in 21st Street and the balconies of our fifth floor rooms allowed for perfect views of the Wednesday night 20th Street fireworks. All rooms face the Ocean and provide great views of the beach area. Reception staff provided warm and friedly service and information. The hotel must have been renovated recently and it showed. The rooms, elevators, hallways and common area were clean and the daily cleaning service was excellent. Parking spaces were limited right next to the hotel, but more free parking was available a short distance away. The restauaunt had good selections and for us "Kids Eat Free" was a plus. Central location in the beach area, cleanliness and friendly staff were my reasons for a high rating.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thanks for the great comments and we hope to see you again on your next trip to the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The room was clean and nice. The housekeeper was pretty, friendly, and efficient. We loved sitting on the balcony and watching people rolling and strolling by on the boardwalk and beach right at our feet. We saw lots of dolphins playing in the water, some quite close to people! There is only one pool, and it is an inside pool, but it was quite nice with a waterfall and water jets to massage my back. I only have two reasons for not giving the Holiday Inn 5 stars: 1. the parking is scarce in front. Even when I was directed to the other parking lot (only 1/2 block away, but still...), it was tight in the evening and felt vaguely unsafe. 2. Pricey rooms, even though I realize I am at the beach. Breakfast was high, too. We went to Macdonalds ( 1 block away) and Subway ( across the street).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for the honest feedback about the hotel and staff. We are not the cheapest on the oceanfront but we are clean, safe and very focused on guest service while having a newly renovated hotel located in the heart of Virginia Beach oceanfront. We have stayed away from charging guests for parking unlike some of the other beach front hotels. Starting the middle of August we have reduced rates and added some outstanding packages so if you are in the area please look us up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This was our first time staying at this hotel and we enjoyed it very much. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. Parking is a little tight in the main lot or the off premise lot which is a very short walk away, only about a half a block - depending on what floor you are on you can see your car from the hotel. Note that it is also *free* which is not the case with all of the hotels down there. The rooms were very clean and well situated. The bed was a bit too firm for us, though. It looked like they had probably updated in the recent past – fresh and modern furnishing. We did order breakfast to our room one morning - it was delicious!! Some of the best omelets I have ever had and the juice tasted fresh and not at all bitter/chemically. It was nice to sit on our balcony each day and enjoy the beach far from the crowds or just head a few steps down to feel the sand between our toes. Conveniently located in the middle of the "strip" you can wander easily stopping for food or shopping. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thanks for the nice comments about the staff and hotel. You are correct many of the hotels have started to charge for parking and we have no plans to do so now or in the future. Also all of our guest rooms have been recently renovated along with the salt water pool, new fitness center and business center. The free WiFi available throughout the hotel has been upgraded as well. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights. My son picked Holiday Inn for his out of town family to stay for his Wedding which was in May. Properly greeted, clean rooms, great breakefast buffet priced just right. We received group rates which made it very affordable.

Room Tip: The King size bed was real comfortable, with lots of pillows and a refrigerator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thanks for the great feedback and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waverly, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel several times in the past decade..it has undergone a renovation this past March. The biggest thing I noticed was the friendliness of the staff and manager. Customer service has greatly improved. We never noticed much action at all at the restaurant and bar. I had a bad experience at the restaurant my last stay so we just didn't try it this time. Plus there are so many other wonderful places to eat. I do wish some sort of breakfast came with a room stay. But overall, great location and great service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for giving us another try. We are always trying to improve our services and quality for each and every guest. As a side note we do offer room packages that include breakfast for the entire family. This option is much cheaper than buying it at any local restaurant. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dracut, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is a very nice hotel directly in the middle of the boardwalk, the fireworks are directly in front of the hotel. Staff is very nice and the rooms are clean with comfortable beds. Expensive but worth it. Breakfast is a little pricey but convenient.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for the great feedback about the hotel and staff that you posted. Our location on the beach front is the best, you are within walking distance to many different shops and entertainment for the entire family. The beach is just outside your guest room and every room has a great view of all the action on the beach and ocean. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach

Address: 2101 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#10 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#11 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#29 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Oceanside hotel in the heart of the Virginia Beach Resort District, a hotel especially designed to make your Virginia Beach vacation fun, comfortable and convenient. At the Holiday Inn Oceanside hotel, Virginia Beach, VA, all of our 150 rooms offer a beautiful oceanfront view of the coast and boardwalk with a large private balcony, refrigerator, coffee maker, free wireless high-speed Internet access, pay-per-view movies and HBO. Our guest rooms are perfect for family vacations, business travel or that special weekend getaway. Enjoy a delicious meal in your hotel room using our convenient room service or visit Key West Bar & Grill open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. For your enjoyment we also have an oceanfront outdoor cafe for a relaxing meal overlooking the beach and the boardwalk. You are only seconds away from many of the main attractions that Virginia Beach Resort District has to offer such as the Virginia Aquarium and Marine Science Center, Farm Bureau Live and the Virginia Beach Convention Center. Whether you are in Virginia Beach on business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Oceanside Hotel is the perfect east coast oceanfront retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Oceanside (21st) Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.