We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2101 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 115 hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Hotel had been recently renovated. The beds were a little small, but they were comfortable. The Location was great. The balcony was great you sit out in the evening, and early morning.
The front desk staff was great. I would suggest one stay on high floor less congested

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floor least congested
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for the comments. All of our guest rooms have a great view of the ocean and enjoying sunrises is one of my favorite things to do along with watching the dolphins. Hope to see you soon because the waves are calling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    186
    127
    49
    17
    13
See reviews for
135
102
29
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at a bunch of hotels on the boardwalk at VA beach over the years and the Holiday Inn was one of the best I've stayed at! I was there for a long weekend and wish I could have stayed longer, I'll certainly go back again. They've recently renovated the hotel and all the rooms and common areas look brilliant, marble floors in the bathrooms and just a nice vibrant color scheme which really welcome you in. And you can't beat the location and the fact that each room has it's own ocean facing balcony! Each room also has a fridge and a microwave which was a nice touch.

The customer service was great too, Myrtha was our room attendant and she was awesome and very friendly and helpful. Verisis checked us in and was awesome too!! No complaints with any of it. The hotel is very clean, even when it poured with rain and everyone scampered in off the beach, there was a guy there vacuuming up all the sand that had been dragged in, you'd never know it was dirty in the first place. Breakfast buffet was good, I didn't have dinner or visit the bar so can't comment on that. The only negative I can think of would be that it would be really nice to have a hot tub in the pool area, but that's really just me nit-picking and not a big deal at all.

I'll be back again for sure, maybe later this year again. Had a great time!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thanks for the great comments and feedback about the staff and hotel. We continue to strive for improvements in the service and quality provided to each of our guests. There will be a number of upgrades happening in the near future based on guest comments like yours. Hope to see you soon when you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastad, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This newly renovated Holiday Inn harbors a wonderful staff. The employees have helped me with all I asked for, the front desk personnel especially. But I would also like to mention the nice and outgoing Myrtha who took very good care of my room every morning during my stay.

The hotel is nicely renovated, clean and the level of personnal service is unusually high!

To be highly rekommended!

Mr Anders Cedergren, Swedish citizen travelling in Virginia

Room Tip: Higher up has better views, of course. Ask for a room that is serviced by Myrtha!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for the super comments about the hotel and one of our associates. I will pass that information on to the team today at our staff stand up meeting. We truly hope to see you soon when returning to the beach area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomahawk, Wisconsin
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My whole family had the pleasure of spending 5 days as guests while attending my niece's wedding. This is a top-notch hotel where customer service is #1. Every one of the staff were always extremely cheerful, helpful, and after 5 days of "living " with them all- we all almost felt like "family". The entire staff went out of the way to make our stay a very enjoyable one! "Extra Credit" is due to Verisis ( front desk), Malou ( Man./Bartender), Jordan ( helped us with a last minute party), Pauly ( our state of the art Bartender), and Mikey ( our cheerful, efficient server for many meals). All were true professionals that I will look forward to seeing on our next trip to Viginia Beach! Thanks guys, you ROCK!!!

Mike & Patty Beals

Room Tip: Fabulous ocean sunrises! Very much enjoyed our 6th floor room. Not too high, and not too low,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thanks for the great comments about the hotel and most of all, a number of our associates that serviced you during your last stay here. I will be sharing your information with the entire team today, at our staff rally and everyone mentioned will walk away with a small gift, as a thank you. We have the best views on the oceanfront and by far the best staff which is why the hotel is so successful. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This Holiday Inn is fabulous in cleanliness and service. The staff was very accommodating to our needs. They adhere to a strict No Smoking policy and enforce it very well. The staff was always pleasant and helpful. We have eaten at the hotel's restaurant and not really impressed with the food or the service, except for the bar. The bartender was fun and accommodating to my son who was having a virgin drink. She made extra for him and joked with him. Price of hotel suite was reasonable for the area. Restaurant prices are a little high.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large suites with lots of room for a family.
See more room tips
Green Features: Trash cans and recycling bins for cans and plastic are available on the beach.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for the feedback on the hotel and staff. We continue to offer some summer special rates on our web site so guests can decide which package they are interested in and can book it quickly and without any hassle. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The front desk staff was extremely courteous and helpful. They greeted us with kindness. We really love the 4 Angels Italian Ice that was free to the hotel guest.

The restaurant staff was so nice and the food was excellent. I want to personally recognize the Maitre-D Malou who was professional and so kind. She made us feel at home. Our server, Tonya was also really nice and courteous. Again, the food was delicious and fresh.

It is amazing when you treat the staff with kindness, they reciprocate 10 times in return.

A huge thanks for making us feel like family. I will let our friends know about your hotel and the courteous staff. THANK YOU! ~The Herrera family

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for the great comments about the restaurant and hotel. We are always trying new things in order to improve service and have a little fun with the staff. I am very happy you enjoyed the Ices which will be offered every Friday during the summer along with live music on our patio every Saturday. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Chesterfield, VA.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We spent a weekend at this hotel in April. From the very minute we (my wife & I) stepped into the hotel to check in we were greeted by Verisis Brown. She was as nice and helpful as she could be. Not just then but everytime we incountered her she was the same. She made us feel very welcome and she is the main reason we will return to your hotel for another visit.
Their were some kids that got a little loud Saturday night. We didn't say anything about it when we left but she knew we were on the same floor where the complaints were coming from. She asked us if we were bothered by the noise, which was a little loud at 2 am. She was very nice in the way she handled us with that problem.
She is a benefit to your company and she alone makes us want to return to you hotel for another stay.
You are very lucky to have such a devoted employee. She went above and beyond to make our stay outstanding.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for pointing out that Verisis Brown provided you with outstanding service while staying at the hotel. I will pass this information along to the entire team and give Verisis a gift card as a thank you. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach

Address: 2101 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#5 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Oceanside hotel in the heart of the Virginia Beach Resort District, a hotel especially designed to make your Virginia Beach vacation fun, comfortable and convenient. At the Holiday Inn Oceanside hotel, Virginia Beach, VA, all of our 150 rooms offer a beautiful oceanfront view of the coast and boardwalk with a large private balcony, refrigerator, coffee maker, free wireless high-speed Internet access, pay-per-view movies and HBO. Our guest rooms are perfect for family vacations, business travel or that special weekend getaway. Enjoy a delicious meal in your hotel room using our convenient room service or visit Key West Bar & Grill open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. For your enjoyment we also have an oceanfront outdoor cafe for a relaxing meal overlooking the beach and the boardwalk. You are only seconds away from many of the main attractions that Virginia Beach Resort District has to offer such as the Virginia Aquarium and Marine Science Center, Farm Bureau Live and the Virginia Beach Convention Center. Whether you are in Virginia Beach on business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Oceanside Hotel is the perfect east coast oceanfront retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Oceanside (21st) Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.