We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean and newly renovated!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2101 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #16 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
PHILADELPHIA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Very Clean and newly renovated!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed here for 4 days while on a golf trip. Comfortable, clean, and an excellent location to use as a central starting point if you are on a golf trip. Foe beachers this is a true delight. Right on the beach in the heart of Virginia Beach. You don't get a better location that this. The rooms are newly redone and pass the clean as a whistle test. Beds comfortable and an indoor pool so the kids can have a blast on those rainy days.

Room Tip: The higher... the better. Just don't get a room directly over the pool. It maybe noisy. Parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for the great comments and I totally agree that the higher you are in the hotel the better view of the beach and fishing pier. But every room has a great view and the dolphin families have returned and can be seen from any guest room along with the restaurant/bar/pool and fitness room in the mornings and afternoons. Again, thank you for staying with us and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    140
    54
    20
    14
See reviews for
145
108
30
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fryeburg, Maine
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We have stayed at this property before, we choose to stop in VA Beach on our way further into NC each year. Last year, we had a nice experience. This year, there was UV formal party there which turned into a living nightmare. While I understand that a hotel has no control over what its guests do, they do have control over how they respond to such situations. We were awakened many times over the course of our stay due to drunken people in the hallways and on the balconies. There was fighting involved between floors on the balcony, as well. We NEVER heard security dealing with any of it; if it was too much for your staff, then the VA Beach PD should have been called, it is that simple.
When we checked out the next day, a man was complaining to a staff member about similar issues. I spoke up and echoed his sentiments, while standing there, then I was presented with my receipt. Another staffer apologized to me, sincerely, then tried to get into my account to modify it, (a credit of some sorts I am assuming). Unfortunately, the other agent had closed out my account. The staffer then asked me for my name and number, which I provided with my email address, and assured me that the GM would contact me and send me a gift certificate. I waited, very patiently, for some contact. No one ever called me, this upsets me. It has been
2 and 1/2 weeks.
I think that your front desk is good, however, due to your security, I rated your staff as average.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments and feedback. Our security force is made up of off duty Virginia Beach Police as well as ASG. If we are informed of any issues the problem guests are removed and arrested. When things are not be reported until the next day we research the issue with the VBPD/ASG and respond to the situation as needed including arrests and/or removal from the hotel. All day and night long rounds are made throughout the hotel by security and we are noted as being the safest on the beachfront. Thanks again for your comment and if you would llike to discuss more please call the hotel and ask for the GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night whilst in business, after checking in, coach loads of teenagers piled into the hotel, running up and down hall ways with water guns, shouting from room to room. I went to reception and asked if there was a floor with no teenagers on it! They promptly found me another room and were very apologetic, giving me free breakfast. The rooms are all clean and have ocean views. We went to the restaurant for breakfast and as usual were the only people in it. I wouldn't have had breakfast other than I had a free one! The wait was as usual very long, I do not know how a kitchen takes so long to poach 2 eggs (30 minutes), the restaurant lets the hotel down.

Room Tip: Good hotel, breakfast elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for the honest feedback about the hotel and restaurant. We are always looking for comments so that we can improve services and quality provided to each and every guest. This information will be shared with the entire hotel team at our rally on April 26th. Also, on May 3rd we have planned a great openning of our Sip Sip restaurant/bar. There will be live music, new menu and fun specials for the whole family so if you are nearby please stop in and join in the fun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eaton, Ohio
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is a great hotel along the beach. You look out your room right into the ocean. The boardwalk runs right beneath you. Upon arrival I was greeted by Amanda. She was just cordial at first but then became a really nice person to meet. She helped me find a place to get delivery from since I had a late check in. The food from the place she recommended was great and just right to have late at night. The next day I asked about attractions to see or avoid and also for the best restaurants. This time I was helped by both Jeanette and Amanda. Again their recommendations were excellent. I plugged the coffee pot in and it started smoking. I unplugged it and left and forgot to tell the desk. However, on my return the old one was sitting outside my door and a new one had replaced it. The housekeeping staff is great I did not have to ask for replacement of any washcloths, towels, soap or anything. The room was exceptionally clean. Glass on doors was clean, even the baseboard were clean and the bathroom was spotless. This has been an excellent stay and recommend this particular Holiday Inn very highly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
onur g, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Oceanside for your stay at beautiful Virginia Beach Oceanfront. All your nice words about our team members especially for our excellent housekeeping department will be certainly forwarded to them at our next employee rally. We as a front desk team are putting strong effort to research area restaurants and menus to be able to recommend the best places on the beach area to our guests. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to provide you better stay next time.

Onur Guduk
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I found this hotel to be so accommodating and relaxing that I extended my stay for an extra day. Tim Payne in the Dining Room, and Crystal at the Lobby front desk were Exemplary Employees who did everything possible to make my stay (and that of others) magnificent.

Room Tip: I treasured my room because it was away from children. Except for some roudy late night guests, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
onur g, Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your noce comments about our hotel and team members. We are greatly appreciated to you for choosing Holiday Inn Oceanside for your spring break. All the great words you wrote above are excellent motivation for us to improve our service quality. We will look forward to see you again at our property. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do to make your stay any better at the future.
Kindest Regards;

Onur Guduk
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

I love to go on vacation and get great service. That's how it was at this wonderful oceanfront hotel.

Very nice and clean rooms with interior corridors. Nice patio with cheap plastic chairs. Curtains are thick and very good at keeping out the rising sun. As a woman a felt very safe at this hotel as well as walking around on the Boardwalk. This Holiday Inn has a much better location than the other one that's north of the center of the fun stuff.

Now for the service, wow I was blown away at the wonderful front desk staff, maintenance workers, housekeepers really anyone who works here. Every question was answered, I kept deactivating my key and they kept fixing it with a smile. They helped me find the nearest Waffle House so I could get a Pecan Waffle.

Stay here if you want 5 star service at an affordable price with oceanfront room.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thanks for the great comments about the staff and hotel. We strive to be the best on the beach front since there are many choices. We are cuurently working on a few exciting features for the summer months which include receptions for our PC members.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Typically I'm not a fan of Holiday Inn and actually I don't think I've stayed in one since high school. My company booked me here for the weekend they also booked the boardrooms where I had to give a speech and meet with clients. From the moment I walked in Onur Guduck, the front desk manager was absolutely wonderful. I had so many problems with MY company not sending me the correct information, Onur and a young man named Tim were amazing every step of the way. From printing information,locating packages, setting up the boardrooms, to making sure I had breakfast in the morning. Every time I turned my head the staff were there to help. I've stayed at hundreds of 4 & 5star hotels, it is very seldom the staff is this amazing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for those kind words about the staff and I will be thanking Onur and Tim during our staff meeting today. We hope that anytime you plan on returning to the beach we can be your home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach

Address: 2101 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#10 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#24 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Oceanside hotel in the heart of the Virginia Beach Resort District, a hotel especially designed to make your Virginia Beach vacation fun, comfortable and convenient. At the Holiday Inn Oceanside hotel, Virginia Beach, VA, all of our 150 rooms offer a beautiful oceanfront view of the coast and boardwalk with a large private balcony, refrigerator, coffee maker, free wireless high-speed Internet access, pay-per-view movies and HBO. Our guest rooms are perfect for family vacations, business travel or that special weekend getaway. Enjoy a delicious meal in your hotel room using our convenient room service or visit Key West Bar & Grill open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. For your enjoyment we also have an oceanfront outdoor cafe for a relaxing meal overlooking the beach and the boardwalk. You are only seconds away from many of the main attractions that Virginia Beach Resort District has to offer such as the Virginia Aquarium and Marine Science Center, Farm Bureau Live and the Virginia Beach Convention Center. Whether you are in Virginia Beach on business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Oceanside Hotel is the perfect east coast oceanfront retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Oceanside (21st) Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.