We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel, great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2101 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #16 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Average Hotel, great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

The hotel needs some updating. The overall hotel was not as clean as one would expect. Carpets were dirty, the hallway area had a smell to it, the floor ice machine did not work. The room was basic and could have used refreshing. The bathroom had some stains as did the carpet and walls and the furniture and tv dated amd ac unit somewhat noisy. Housekeeping missed the room one day and the next did not provide all the towels the next day despite notifying the front desk of the missed service. The staff was average at best and did not seem highly knowledgeable regarding the area and did not seem very customer conscientious. For the price I would have expected somewhat better. The bright spot was the location, it was pretty much right in the center of the boardwalk.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    140
    54
    20
    14
See reviews for
145
109
30
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
lusby
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

A few of my colleagues and myself needed to make last minute plans to attend to business in Virginia Beach and the General Manager (Mary Collins) and the Front Desk Manager (Jimmy Kinnane) went above and beyond to accommodate our needs in obtaining the rooms we needed within a short notice during the peak tourism period. They were extremely helpful and provided us with all of the services we required.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durand, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

First time staying in a hotel in VB. Great experience, had room on 12th floor overlooking ocean. Just beautiful. Hotel was clean and recently remodeled. Service was good, would highly recommend. Ate at the hotel restaurant and the prices were moderate and the food good, plus can't beat the convenience right off the beach.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, VA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Nicely located central at the board walk. In May we're able to get a buy one get one free deal. Just like at a previous stay at this hotel we didn't use the indoor pool because it was full with noisy kids.The rooms aren't anything special either but okay. We always enjoy the balcony and proximity to the ocean. Breakfast was meager but included and we liked having it out side on the veranda. VA Beach has come a long way. The bord walk is paved and offers an extra lane for bicycles, which can be rented at every corner. The sand at the beach is very clean and gets raked every night. Definitely a great location for a long weekend.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Perfect location in the middle of the action.
Excellent service, good staff,
Holiday inn a sure value all the time....almost.....

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

The manager & staff at the Holiday Inn Oceanside, Virginia Beach were great! The food at the restuarant was wonderful & the decor was beautiful. We had such a relaxing weekend & felt extremely pampered! The rooms were clean & comfortable. We loved our view of the ocean. Simply wonderful!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather M, Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach, responded to this review, September 10, 2011
Hello Beth201159;
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the Holiday Inn Oceanside. We greatly appreciate the feedback and can't wait for you to visit again.
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

While this hotel was slightly more than we had wanted to pay, it was very clean and the staff were nice and helpful. We only wished that they had had a continental breakfast. We also would have liked if they had means in place to leave a tip for the maid via credit card. Parking was also a little bit of a pain as they have limited parking on site. Most of the guests have to park at a lot a half block away. It wasn't a bad walk and the lot was free for guests, but it would of been nice to park at the hotel, especially when it came time to pack up the car. Aside from cleanliness, the location was great and our kids loved the indoor pool. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting VA Beach.

Room Tip: oceanfront is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach

Address: 2101 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#10 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#24 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Oceanside hotel in the heart of the Virginia Beach Resort District, a hotel especially designed to make your Virginia Beach vacation fun, comfortable and convenient. At the Holiday Inn Oceanside hotel, Virginia Beach, VA, all of our 150 rooms offer a beautiful oceanfront view of the coast and boardwalk with a large private balcony, refrigerator, coffee maker, free wireless high-speed Internet access, pay-per-view movies and HBO. Our guest rooms are perfect for family vacations, business travel or that special weekend getaway. Enjoy a delicious meal in your hotel room using our convenient room service or visit Key West Bar & Grill open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. For your enjoyment we also have an oceanfront outdoor cafe for a relaxing meal overlooking the beach and the boardwalk. You are only seconds away from many of the main attractions that Virginia Beach Resort District has to offer such as the Virginia Aquarium and Marine Science Center, Farm Bureau Live and the Virginia Beach Convention Center. Whether you are in Virginia Beach on business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Oceanside Hotel is the perfect east coast oceanfront retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Oceanside (21st) Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.