We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great fall weekend at the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3501 Atlantic Avenue, 36th Street & Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #23 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Salem, VA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great fall weekend at the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I visited Virginia Beach with colleagues for a meeting, and we really enjoyed the Sheraton on the beach. It was November, cool but sunny, and we walked on the beach in the morning, visited Norfolk Botanical Garden and Dismal Swamp, ate delicious Italian food at Sophia's a block away, and were very impressed with the helpful staff. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms have nice balconies.... not all of us had such a room, but we gathered there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren R, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Mama01Salem, Thank you for a great review! I’m glad the chilly weather this time of year didn’t prevent you from enjoying not only the beach but other local attractions further inland. Always great to hear that our staff was helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    218
    104
    56
    46
See reviews for
247
192
22
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My boyfriend and I had a great time at this hotel! I loved the fact that it was pet friendly as well! When we first arrived, the front desk (Lauren) and staff were extremely friendly and warm. They advised us of the local weather conditions, and how nice of a day it would be the next day. They provided visitor guides and offered local suggestions. I was very comfortable walking in.

The lobby was nice and clean, and the entire property was clean! We went into our pet friendly room and it was spectacular! Our beagle roamed around and I was so happy that the room was fitting for both my boyfriend and I, as well as the dog. :) (Did I mention they even carry Ceasar wet dog food in case your pup is a little extra hungry like ours was :) )

Room service was great. The dinner dish I ordered was one of the best tasting room services I've had. It had a creamy sauce loaded over the chicken with delicious potatoes. Also ordered a molten chocolate ice cream and it was scrumptious! :)

We opened the door of our oceanfront view to hear the sounds of the ocean. Our beagle, Linus walked out onto the patio and was fascinated! He has never been to the ocean before.

We even strolled down to the beach and let him play in the sand. He felt so free and happy. So did we! We walked along the boardwalk hand in hand. It was a very great stay!

I cannot wait to visit Sheraton in VA Beach again! Thank you for the great stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren R, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Donna R, Thank you for all the kind words! I’m happy to hear that the entire staff from front desk to housekeeping blew you away with service. We can’t wait to have Linus and yourself return we really enjoy when we have our four legged friends in house.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deadwood, SD
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Great staff- very friendly and helpful. Love that parking is free!! Room, even with partial view, has a nice view. Free WiFi is also nice. The lounge area is comfortable and has a nice view during the day.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren R, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Brett D, Love to hear from a guest who appreciates the free parking both valet and self. We hope travels bring you to our area again. Please feel free to contact me before your next stay and we can try and get a full oceanfront view for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My recent stay at the Oceanfront Sheraton was excellent. The highlight though was the service at the hotel. All staff I interacted with was cheerful, friendly, and helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel. The rooms had obviously been newly remodeled and were quite comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren R, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Sarah W, Thank you for the great review. I’m happy to hear that our service alone was the highlight of your trip. We look forward to serving you again on your next trip to Virginia Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed here in October, 2012. The hotel has been recently re-done. For all intents and purposes it is a brand new hotel. It is right on the beach. The room was large, bright, comfortable and well-furnished, and included a refrigerator and microwave. The breakfast, included, was excellent. One had the choice of a buffet, or ordering from a full menu. I would stay here again without a moment's hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren R, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Robert633, Thank you for taking notice of all the hard work we have put into renovating the property. We look forward to having you back again after our second phase of renovations you can experience all of our new public spaces.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester City, NJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

When I wrote most of this we had just gotten back from The Sheraton Oceanfront Virginia Beach. Let me start by saying that we have been going to this hotel on and off for the last eight years, so I would say I’m pretty knowledgeable of the hotel and the problems that were taking place. We stayed from June 29 to July 7, 2012. Unlike most we had the opportunity to stay in three rooms. Our choice. Our first room was one of the cabana rooms. They have added balconies which made the rooms maybe six inches to a foot shorter. Not a huge difference other than the fact that you now have a balcony. It's quite a nice trade off from the old rooms with just floor to ceiling windows, if you ask me. We spent one night in this room.
For the next three nights we stayed in one of the king handicapped suites. It's very nice with 2 rooms overlooking the pool. Two problems with this room, one, no chest of drawers (the hotel is working on figuring this one out), but we just put the pillows on the shelf under one of the nightstands and used the shelf in the closet to put our clothes on to unpack, and the fact that it sits over the pool. The cabana rooms are great for families, but if you are older or wanting to get away from the kids and noise for any length of time I do not recommend these rooms. Do not get me wrong we really enjoyed the room, (the room itself was very quiet with the door closed) and if you do not want to use your balcony during peak summer dates I would jump at that room again.
For the final four nights we checked into a tower oceanfront room. Ahh! , A balcony that we could sit out on and not listening to the screaming kids. The rooms have been remodeled and are very inviting. The bathrooms did not change that much, but I found the shelf that had been added under the sink much nicer than the metal racks that used to be there. By the way for the people that are complaining the balconies are not safe, take another look. They are made of metal and very strong. Trust me I have seen a lot of children and teenagers in the hotel over my stays there.
I love the pool. It is now a straight pool with a fountain in the middle. Where it is located, it now gets a great deal of sun, much more than before, so it is warm enough to get into and swim in. Not one child had a complaint about the pool the entire time we were there. They were in it from 10AM until 10PM. The one thing the hotel could do is make some adult only time for the pool. No children.
Mind you I have grown children and a grandchild. My children were never allowed to behave in the way that many parents allowed their children to behave. Screaming and yelling in the dining room to the point that they were asked twice to take the child out of the dining room, but the parents were too self centered and absorbed to care about all the other people that were paying their way as well. But the hotel cannot be blamed for this.
Many thanks for another great vacation go out to too many people for me to count, but at the bar Patty is the best with Skip a short distance behind. We enjoyed all the bartenders but go way back with these two. The front desk did a wonderful job accommodating us and our wanting to change rooms. Especially Olivia, poor woman probably wishes I would never come back. The management and staff of this hotel really goes out of their way to make it a great vacation, summer, fall, winter or spring. Thanks for making it a special place to visit.

Room Tip: If you want to sit on the balconey and really enjoy the sound of the ocean, ask for a room in the to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren R, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Lynrichsr, Thank you for your loyalty to the hotel being that you have been repeat guest for so many years. All of your comments and reviews on our several room types are appreciated. We have been able to work out all the kinks in the new design of our guest suites with the addition of dressers. I’m glad to hear that you like all of the renovations that we have done to the rooms and pool. With your trip for next summer you will be able to experience the completion of our second phase which includes all of the public spaces within the hotel and the addition of a parking garage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed three nights at the Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel (Virginia Beach) in connection with a conference.

The bed was fine and the stay was not at all an unpleasant experience, however the hotel looked a little old and worn down, most of the personnel were there for the money - not for the guest and the gym is really not that exciting.

My colleagues stayed at the Hilton 3 minutes down the street. All though the Hilton is also not a new hotel it seemed to be in a better shape, the personnel seemed more energetic and the activity level / atmosphere seemed more vibrant.

The only very good experience from the Sheraton was the view to group of dolphins playing in the ocean right outside the breakfast restaurant. Had they not showed up then I would have rated the Sheraton 1-notch lower.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren R, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Hbj1973, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I do apologize that our service fell short of your expectations this gives us an opportunity to retrain our staff to better serve the guest. I do invite you back again to stay with us hopefully the dolphins will be back out in the ocean playing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel

Address: 3501 Atlantic Avenue, 36th Street & Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#21 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#24 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm welcomes and great ocean views greet you at the Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel. Situated on the exclusive northern end of the Virginia Beach Boardwalk with direct beach access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.