We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calming Effect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3107 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Points!
Ranked #18 of 115 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Summersville, West Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Calming Effect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

One really doesn't think of Virginia Beach as being a truly southern city, but once you've stayed here, it changes your mind. The staff have a genteel lilt to their speech, and it is so relaxing to hear the little cook quietly humming a hymn each morning as she makes you fresh waffles!

The maids are outstanding and it is so nice to have them check on your satisfaction throughout the week. We never once encountered an employee who failed to ask if there was anything we needed and were we enjoying our stay!

We will be back year after year!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    223
    93
    37
    19
See reviews for
327
239
23
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Virginia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Located right in the middle of the action on 31st and Atlantic Ave. All rooms are Ocean Front (Not just view) with nice balconies, perfect to watch the fireworks happening every Saturday night during the summer. Just steps away form a beautiful beach and all the attractions of a busy boardwalk, right under your balcony. There are two stages with live music every summer night right next to the hotel and it is all free. Great restaurants are just steps away, there is also a restaurant in the hotel but it's very basic so I don't frequent it. The breakfast is hot and plentiful with all the amenities. The service staff at breakfast is a crapshoot, I had some exceptionally nice people most of the time but some days there was a couple of different people and they where just plain rude. Go to breakfast early (before 8AM) if you want to beat the crowds; the breakfast area gets very, very crowded. Front desk staff was very friendly. The rooms are simple but clean and comfortable. I like high floors because if I don't want to hear all the noise of the boardwalk I just close the doors and it's gone, in lower floors you may have to be part of the fun until 10:00 PM whether you like it or not. If you want the more quiet rooms, ask for high floor on the north side of the hotel, that is the area further away from the music stages. Of course, it is summer and you are on vacation so if you want to be part of it all then choose the opposite. They actually have rooms right on the first floor with direct access to the boardwalk and beach form your backdoor.

Room Tip: If you want the more quiet rooms, ask for high floor on the north side of the hotel, that is the are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Since two days my wife and me are in this hotel, everything was perfect except the house keeping, they don't know how to make a bed, very lousy way and very tight with soap shampoo and other items.. We still have three other night to spend here, and hope they will improve the service.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonvboceanfront, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for the feedback about your current stay. The General Manager and Housekeeping Manager have addressed the issue, and we understand that now everything is great! We hope that you enjoy the remainder of your stay and come back again soon!

Rob Waddell
DOSMRM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

My spouse and I really enjoyed our stay at the Hampton Inn, 31st location, Virginia Beach. The purpose of our trip was to attend a family reunion which was held at another hotel in Chesapeake. We decided to extend our stay and book a room on the beach. Couldn't be happier, we got a ground floor room and was able to walk out from our room and be on the boardwalk. We also enjoyed the live music and activities surrounding Neptune Park.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We decided to head to the beach for a few days after the summer swim team season. I booked this hotel using my hotel points and wasn't disappointed. I would return. The parking was very good, the hotel was clean and updated, and the free breakfast was good, too. Of course, access to the boardwalk, restaurants, and entertainment was very easy. The wifi worked well here and is not an additional charge. I recommend that you consider this hotel for a family vacation.

Room Tip: Since this is ocean front, I recommend that you try to get anything from the 3rd floor and up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streamwood, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This hotel was perfect for our first stay at Virginia Beach. Every room had the ocean front view. Room was clean and decently sized. Bathroom was updated. No Bed Bugs !!! No complaints at all. Out door porch eating area was very nice. Room service was good. The restaurant could have offered more choices of food but overall was great. This Hotel is not over pricey like the Hilton next door seemed to be. Out door music shell next door with live music every night. The beach was clean, no rocks, no seaweed, no shells to cut your feet. The indoor pool was a bit cold, but maybe that was me feeling that way. Located on the North end of the beach, also the perfect area, especially for families, away from the "spring break crowd" area that the southern end appears to be geared for. Everyone was very friendly and accommodating. Yes, I would pick this hotel again if I ever come back to vacation

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I booked a room at this hotel through AAA, and got a discounted rate. We were just looking for something on the beach with a balcony. The hotel is located next to the Hilton in a very nice spot on the North End of the Virginia Beach boardwalk. Hampton Inn offers free parking, wifi and breakfast. Not every hotel offers these freebies, and you wind up saving a lot of money when they do.

We arrived a little bit early and our room wasn't yet ready. They allowed us to park the car in the lot, and said they'd call us when the room was ready. We wound up checking in exactly at check in time (4 pm). The front desk personnel were friendly and explained the wifi and breakfast to us. They gave us some information on local restaurants, as well (we already had a reservation at Terrapin, a few blocks away - it was phenomenal.) Our room was on the second floor, and had a balcony facing the beach. It had a huge fridge and a flat screen TV with cable. The room, bathroom and balcony were clean, but felt a little dingy and dated. I feel like the whole place needs a refreshing/facelift.

Our room was close to the elevators, and it was very noisy, with the constant stream of people in and out. The walls must be paper thin, because the family next door had young children. We heard them crying and talking all afternoon. It actually kept me from napping.

The pool area (indoors) was tiny and crowded, so we didn't go swimming. I am a little turned off by public pools as it is and this pool area was really small with almost no seating. The pool was right next to the lobby, and so the lobby smelled of chlorine and there were constant wet footprints all through the lobby. I think in the future, I would book a hotel with an outdoor pool area, as we really wanted to be able to hang out on a lounge chair under the sun for a few hours.

We didn't eat in the restaurant, which has an outdoor patio overlooking the beach, but we stopped in for drinks. The service was a little slow and confused. The patio table and chairs were a little dirty. The breakfast (served in the restaurant from 6-10 am) was very nice, considering it was complementary. They had fresh waffles, which was a nice touch.

Overall, this hotel served our needs.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonvboceanfront, Manager at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for writing a review!
I am glad you enjoyed your stay however, my sincerest apologies for the obstacles in which you encountered. You will certainly have to come back and enjoy staying with us next year because this Winter we are refreshing the entire hotel with new paint, furniture, carpets and more! In the Summer months we are quite busy and there will be guests constantly up and down the elevators as well as in the pool area. I am delighted you enjoyed breakfast, and the waffles. Please do come visit again!

All the best,
Brittany Nosay
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North

Address: 3107 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North is conveniently located with 120 ocean facing rooms. Wake up refreshed after an amazing night’s sleep on Hampton’s Clean and Fresh Bed®, and enjoy the ocean sunrise while sipping coffee from your private beach balcony. Our free hot breakfast buffet saves you money and time so you can get on with your day. At our Virginia Beach oceanfront hotel you get free WiFi, free onsite parking, and a microwave and refrigerator in every room. Relax in our newly remodeled waterfall pool and hot tub. Enjoy an exceptional dinner in our oceanfront restaurant, North Beach Bar & Grill. At the end of the day, join the fun in our lounge and seasonal outdoor boardwalk cafe. As always, your stay is backed by the 100% Hampton Guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.