We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My hotel stay was wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3107 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Lights Package
Ranked #19 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Greenbelt, United States
1 review
“My hotel stay was wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I enjoyed my short but sweet stay (May 12-14) at the Hampton Inn Virginia Beach North. I was on the 7th floor. What a view! All of the hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful.The room was tastefully decorated and clean. We were pleased with the breakfast each day. The hotel provided a nice variety of hot/cold items to chose from. This hotel is in a great location. We attended a free concert in Neptune Park on Sunday. The band was fabulous. We rented bikes near King Neptune on Monday. Shops, restaurants, and a drug store are in walking distance. I would stay at this location again on future visits to Virginia Beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    234
    97
    38
    21
See reviews for
337
253
23
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Windsor, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This was a reasonably priced, clean hotel with a great location! My daughter and I stayed only 1 night but if I come back this is definitely where I'd stay with the rest of my family! The location is at the heart of shopping, places to grab a bite to eat, the outdoor concert venue, and right on the beach. All the rooms have a balcony facing the beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Great room, great view, lovely complimentary breakfast, loved the pool and jacuzzi and everyone was very helpful. Would stay here again in a minute. We ate dinner at the hotel grill and had delicious mahi mahi grilled and vegetables cooked perfectly. Took a drink from the bar into the pool area, very nice. The lovely duvet covers were perfect for sleep and I wanted to take one home. All the cleaning staff would greet us and ask how we were and if we needed anything, very friendly and welcoming. Front desk staff very friendly and enjoyable to work with. I would recommend this hotel and stay there again anytime.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Chose this hotel because of our past experience with the chain. Beautiful room overlooking the ocean. We were on the 4th floor. Neat and clean, mostly- stain on coverlette and someone's kleenex behind an end table that I found while looking for an outlet for my computer.

Breakfast was better than most hotels we have stayed in. Bananas, real oatmeal vs the instant type, real sausage and choices of teas.

Our dinner in the hotel the night we arrived was another issue. Poor to fair quality food. Would not recommend for those who care about what they eat. Vegetables were frozen type that were probably cooked in a microwave. Absolutely no flavor at all. I realize that there were no smells of real food cooking emanating from the kitchen.

I did find that noise was an issue at night. Could hear people talking out on the boardwalk late at night. The street sweeper came at 3:45 AM to do its job. There were also jet fighters flying overhead until about 11 PM.

The beach and surrounding area are impressively clean.

Room Tip: I would ask for a higher floor the next time. That would eliminate the glare of lights that were ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

CLEAN, Reasonably priced, extremely courteous staff and a continental breakfast that has EVERYTHING! My Husband and I would definitely stay here again. We come down a few times during the summer and this Hotel has been the best so far as far as value, cleanliness and extremely helpful staff. Had a room w/ an ocean view! Just perfect

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

All rooms face the ocean (so ask for a high floor) and are quite comfortable (standard Hampton) and in good shape given the amount of beach traffic that must go in/out the place every day. Front staff very courteous and accomodating and there is a bar area but I did not get a chance to use.

There are numerous restaurants and a CVS within 5/10 minutes walking with many types of food to choose from.....there is ample parking if you plan to drive in or rent a car from the airport. A taxi from the airport is approx $30 before the tip (17 miles).

Overall good place as was able to get very good room rates -- for Hilton Honor members there is a Hilton less than 100 yards from the Hampton hotel if you prefer to stay there. However I feel the rooms at Hampton have better views (all of them) and the price is quite less than Hilton.

Note: Rooms have window/wall air conditioners so when running they are loud.....large frig and microwave in room; Internet is quite fast and flat panel TV's in room. Small balconies to sit out on (two chairs) to enjoy the beach.

Will stay here again as price, location and comfort are perfect for a good stay to enjoy Virginia Beach.

Tip: Recommend high floor for view of beach & water.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Virginia Beach wow very nice the room was well tired but a great view even if the windows had a inch on dirt but the location was A1 and the price was great mgr discount for the night the room itself 2 double beds chair desk pretty standard Hampton with the comp breakfast I would stay again but at the reduced rate

Room Tip: Shop around before you choose
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonvboceanfront, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments about your recent stay. We pride ourselves on our property upkeep and attention to detail, and are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. With several days of Northeast winds over the past two weeks, it has been a real challenge keeping the glass doors and windows clear of the windborne salt and sand dust deposits. Nevertheless, your comments have been reviewed by the management team for opportunities to improve. We hope that you will visit us the next time you come to Virginia Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North

Address: 3107 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North is conveniently located with 120 ocean facing rooms. Wake up refreshed after an amazing night’s sleep on Hampton’s Clean and Fresh Bed®, and enjoy the ocean sunrise while sipping coffee from your private beach balcony. Our free hot breakfast buffet saves you money and time so you can get on with your day. At our Virginia Beach oceanfront hotel you get free WiFi, free onsite parking, and a microwave and refrigerator in every room. Relax in our newly remodeled waterfall pool and hot tub. Enjoy an exceptional dinner in our oceanfront restaurant, North Beach Bar & Grill. At the end of the day, join the fun in our lounge and seasonal outdoor boardwalk cafe. As always, your stay is backed by the 100% Hampton Guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.