We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not on St Patrick's Day” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3107 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Lights Package
Ranked #19 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Danville, Virginia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Not on St Patrick's Day”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel before and loved it. Not this time. We had no idea that on St. Patrick's Day weekend there is a marathon run involving 27,000 people, we were told. The room rate went way up and everything was crowded. The parking lot was blocked off Saturday until after noon. If we would need our car on Sunday, we were advised to have our car moved to a parking garage up the street Saturday night. We were told the fee would be as much as $20 to park there. Loud music dominated by the theme from "Rocky" began to play just after dawn outside the hotel. My advice would be to think twice before coming here on that weekend unless you are involved in the race!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonvboceanfront, Manager at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We appreciate you staying at our hotel and taking time to post your review. We apologize that your stay was not as you had experienced during a previous visit. The Shamrock Marathon weekend is a busy, exciting time, with runners and their family and friends converging on the oceanfront. We understand how this, the road closures, and festive atmosphere might impact those looking for a relaxing getaway weekend. The management team has reviewed your feedback so that we can improve our advance notification process and better communicate the event impact to our guests.
We hope that you will stay with us the next time you plan a trip to Virginia Beach so that you can have the experience that you previously enjoyed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    234
    97
    38
    21
See reviews for
337
253
23
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Room 716 had hair in bathroom, this room has the Jacuzzi in the room. Check the cleanliness before you stay for the night.
The view was great but the cleanliness was terrible and i would not stay here again

Room Tip: make sure to take advantage of the refund guarantee if you stay and you have a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonvboceanfront, Manager at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the housekeeping issues which you experienced. As you can tell from other reviews, this is not typical of our hotel. We strive to ensure that our rooms meet the highest housekeeping standards and that our guests are 100% satisfied with their stay. The management team has reviewed your feedback and will use it to help us improve. We hope you will give us another chance if you visit this area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

this hotel was in a perfect place, right on the board walk close to everything to walk. But most of all the rooms were very clean the hotels was very clean, and OMG the staff were so out of there way with friendliness from the front desk to the cleaning service, I truly enjoyed my stay

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at many hotels in Va Beach, but this hotel has got to be the best! 24 Hour Pool and Spa was amazing! Breakfast was great and the staff was very accommodating. Rooms are all Oceanfront and offer s great view of the ocean.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendship
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located right on the ocean with stunning views of the ocean. Half of the rooms are a true ocean view. Very friendly staff but the rooms and common areas could have been cleaned better. Not horrible but not as clean as I would have expected during the off season. Surrounded by restaurants and shops, you can't do much better if you are looking for a weekend destination.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

With an unexpected house flood, we were stranded with only options of staying at a hotel for a week. We chose The Hampton Inn North in Virginia Beach and crossed our fingers that we made a good decision because there are so many hotels on the strip. We were pleasantly surprised with such a great experience throughout our whole stay with that hotel. The front desk workers, Miss Jackie, as well as the manager, Dan Schaffner were exceptionally compasionate and worked with us to make our stay affordable and reliable. They provided a pack and play for our 1 year old baby as well as a healthy breakfast each morning that was all included in our stay. I truly would choose this hotel again in the future and even go as far as paying for the hotel stay of my family when they visit from out of town. All the workers were very helpful and polite. The hotel room was overlooking the ocean. it was beautiful and everything that I could desire in a hotel. The beds were AMAZING. In fact, we are planning on purchasing one of them when we get our new home in the future. With all the stress of our home flooding, I have to say that staying at this hotel gave us peace of mind and greatfulness. Thank you Hampton Inn . God Bless you all.

Room Tip: Ocean view is so beautiful. I would choose oceanview side !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed at Hampton Inn as a group for gymnastics competition. Excellent choice. Very clean and efficient hotel. Probably one of the cleanest we have stayed at. The bedding was very comfortable and clean! The breakfast buffet had a variety and the service was very efficient and hospitable. The bar was very nice and stayed open for us since some competitions ran late. The fitness room could have had more equipment but was average I guess.

Room Tip: Rooms were very clean and bedding comfortable. Probably one of the cleanest we have stayed at. Fit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North

Address: 3107 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North is conveniently located with 120 ocean facing rooms. Wake up refreshed after an amazing night’s sleep on Hampton’s Clean and Fresh Bed®, and enjoy the ocean sunrise while sipping coffee from your private beach balcony. Our free hot breakfast buffet saves you money and time so you can get on with your day. At our Virginia Beach oceanfront hotel you get free WiFi, free onsite parking, and a microwave and refrigerator in every room. Relax in our newly remodeled waterfall pool and hot tub. Enjoy an exceptional dinner in our oceanfront restaurant, North Beach Bar & Grill. At the end of the day, join the fun in our lounge and seasonal outdoor boardwalk cafe. As always, your stay is backed by the 100% Hampton Guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.