We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sister getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3107 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 115 hotels in Virginia Beach
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sister getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

this hotel was in a perfect place, right on the board walk close to everything to walk. But most of all the rooms were very clean the hotels was very clean, and OMG the staff were so out of there way with friendliness from the front desk to the cleaning service, I truly enjoyed my stay

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    370
    206
    81
    29
    17
See reviews for
294
218
23
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at many hotels in Va Beach, but this hotel has got to be the best! 24 Hour Pool and Spa was amazing! Breakfast was great and the staff was very accommodating. Rooms are all Oceanfront and offer s great view of the ocean.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendship
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located right on the ocean with stunning views of the ocean. Half of the rooms are a true ocean view. Very friendly staff but the rooms and common areas could have been cleaned better. Not horrible but not as clean as I would have expected during the off season. Surrounded by restaurants and shops, you can't do much better if you are looking for a weekend destination.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

With an unexpected house flood, we were stranded with only options of staying at a hotel for a week. We chose The Hampton Inn North in Virginia Beach and crossed our fingers that we made a good decision because there are so many hotels on the strip. We were pleasantly surprised with such a great experience throughout our whole stay with that hotel. The front desk workers, Miss Jackie, as well as the manager, Dan Schaffner were exceptionally compasionate and worked with us to make our stay affordable and reliable. They provided a pack and play for our 1 year old baby as well as a healthy breakfast each morning that was all included in our stay. I truly would choose this hotel again in the future and even go as far as paying for the hotel stay of my family when they visit from out of town. All the workers were very helpful and polite. The hotel room was overlooking the ocean. it was beautiful and everything that I could desire in a hotel. The beds were AMAZING. In fact, we are planning on purchasing one of them when we get our new home in the future. With all the stress of our home flooding, I have to say that staying at this hotel gave us peace of mind and greatfulness. Thank you Hampton Inn . God Bless you all.

Room Tip: Ocean view is so beautiful. I would choose oceanview side !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed at Hampton Inn as a group for gymnastics competition. Excellent choice. Very clean and efficient hotel. Probably one of the cleanest we have stayed at. The bedding was very comfortable and clean! The breakfast buffet had a variety and the service was very efficient and hospitable. The bar was very nice and stayed open for us since some competitions ran late. The fitness room could have had more equipment but was average I guess.

Room Tip: Rooms were very clean and bedding comfortable. Probably one of the cleanest we have stayed at. Fit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My family stays at this property every year. The manager Dan and the staff were great. The night audit team (Kathy and her husband) were so informative. They gave me hand written directions several times and were great company when I couldn't sleep at 5 a.m. Looking forward to seeing them again in June! Love the free parking and the bike trail too.

Room Tip: Bring a pedal bike, the three mile bike trail is so fun. Check out First Landing state park. You can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonvboceanfront, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for posting a review and for your kind words! We always appreciate hearing that our managers and staff were helpful, and that you enjoyed the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in June!

Rob Waddell - DOSM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishersville, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Really upset there was no mention of major beach construction occuring directly behind the hotel (between the hotel and the water's edge). The equipment turned on at 9:30 PM Saturday night (a couple hours after we arrived) and stayed on all night and into Sunday. The construction equipment totally ruined the view and the noise was unpleasant. The Hampton website made no mention of this construction which is certainly noteworthy when considering an ocean front property. There is another Hamption further up the beach which was unaffected. It seemed likely to me the reason the construction wans't mention was to get bookings regardless of customer satisfaction. I made a video of the construction with with sound to capture the noise. Send me an e-mail address and I'll send the link when I post.

Room Tip: Call the hotel to ask about construction or other events which may make you stay unpleasant. Hampto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonvboceanfront, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay at our hotel. We always appreciate hearing from our guests. I understand that the noise from the beach replenishment was an issue during your time with us, and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. Yesterday's response to another review provides additional insight, but if you would like to discuss this further, please contact me directly. Thank you again for your comments.

R. Waddell - DOSM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North

Address: 3107 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North is conveniently located with 120 ocean facing rooms. Wake up refreshed after an amazing night’s sleep on Hampton’s Clean and Fresh Bed®, and enjoy the ocean sunrise while sipping coffee from your private beach balcony. Our free hot breakfast buffet saves you money and time so you can get on with your day. At our Virginia Beach oceanfront hotel you get free WiFi, free onsite parking, and a microwave and refrigerator in every room. Relax in our newly remodeled waterfall pool and hot tub. Enjoy an exceptional dinner in our oceanfront restaurant, North Beach Bar & Grill. At the end of the day, join the fun in our lounge and seasonal outdoor boardwalk cafe. As always, your stay is backed by the 100% Hampton Guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.