We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Stay Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3107 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Lights Package
Ranked #19 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Maryville, Tennessee
1 review
“Best Stay Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

All the staff was extremly friendly and helpful. Rooms were very nice and breakfast was wonderful. This was one of the BEST vacations we have had in years. Thanks to the full staff for making it so memorable.

Room Tip: Staff goes out of their way to satisfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    234
    97
    38
    21
See reviews for
337
253
23
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Entire staff was friendly and very accommodating from the sweet Scottish front desk lady, to the 5th floor maid with her cute stories, to the very nice man running the breakfast buffet. Very clean rooms, great view of the beach and ocean, especialy from the balcony off of our room. The microwave and frig were a bonus. Breakfast at this Hampton was nicer than others; it was a full hot breakfast with different entrees daily but always included eggs, sausage/bacon, hash browns, waffles, fruit, yogurt, breads, juice and coffee. There was even an area outside - beachside - for sitting and eating breakfast. Nice to have free Wi-Fi. Lovely experience!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011 via mobile

Overall nice place with clean indoor pool and hot tub. Great hot breakfast. Every room facing the ocean.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

We stayed at the Hampton Inn with another couple September 3-5, 2011 for the VA Beach Half Marathon. We stayed at another hotel for last year's marathon and it was a dump, so we specifically sought out a cleaner hotel. This hotel was perfect! It's clean, updated and right on the beach. The breakfast was expansive - hot food, cold food, fresh fruit, make-your-own-waffles, etc. We all agreed that we will continue to stay at this specific Hampton Inn during next year's half marathon.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Cara and FeFe at the front desk took immediate care of our reservation miscue and got us a room when they could have easily turned us away. From that moment everything about the hotel was great; staff, room, food, and location.
Thank you all.
Bob

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Park, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

checkin took only a couple of minute. got a room on 4th, went into the room, first thing to notice is, as expected, a great view to the ocean. all rooms are facing the ocean so don't worry about getting a ocean view room, you'll get it. carpet near window was little wet, not sure if it was due to a recent storm, Irene. ac works well. comfortable bed. bathroom sink didn't sink(?) water well and caused a water flood in a minute so I had to be careful not to run the water too long. little inconvinience and little surprised that room service didn't catch that. toilet flushes pretty strong so be careful, you may want the lid down before flusing it. refregirator and tv work great. I used the pool and spa for a few hours after hours out at the beach. all great. probably because it wasn't so crowded during the weekdays and right after the storm as well. stayed two nights and breakfast was good, tasty waffle a must have in the morning and the play ground right in front was useful for my boy to play. overall, great location, fair food, ok room condition, great service, so I'd say not so bad. But since there are so many hotels to explore, I'd do just that, next time. another ocean front hotel that is, you just can't compare the view and for a short stay, it's a must, for me. not sure about king size as we got the two double beds. I may explore that too next time at this same hotel. :-)

Room Tip: as said above, all rooms are facing the ocean, maybe get a king size bedroom?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vboceanfront, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Thank you for taking time to post a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. As you surmised , the carpet dampness by the balcony doors on some of our rooms was caused by Hurricane Irene. Also, we have taken care of the sink issue and apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. We hope that you will come back and see us and try one of our King bedrooms!

Sincerely,
Robert Waddell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

This is a great choice for a stay on Virginia Beach! Nicely appointed, friendly staff, plenty of easily accessible parking, a lobby restaurant with inside and outside (beachfront) seating, indoor pool with a decorative waterfall, and full breakfast included. The room was lovely with very comfortable, clean, nicely appointed beds. Each room is oceanfront which takes the guesswork out of what sort of view you'll have from your room. A small balcony gives you a nice option to enjoy the view and ocean breeze from the comfort of your room. The bathroom could have used a better scrubbing and the business center computers were SLOW, but I almost hate to complain about any of that because the rest of the hotel was so nice! We'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North

Address: 3107 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North is conveniently located with 120 ocean facing rooms. Wake up refreshed after an amazing night’s sleep on Hampton’s Clean and Fresh Bed®, and enjoy the ocean sunrise while sipping coffee from your private beach balcony. Our free hot breakfast buffet saves you money and time so you can get on with your day. At our Virginia Beach oceanfront hotel you get free WiFi, free onsite parking, and a microwave and refrigerator in every room. Relax in our newly remodeled waterfall pool and hot tub. Enjoy an exceptional dinner in our oceanfront restaurant, North Beach Bar & Grill. At the end of the day, join the fun in our lounge and seasonal outdoor boardwalk cafe. As always, your stay is backed by the 100% Hampton Guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.