We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maple Tree Pancake House

Maple Tree Pancake House
2608 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3144
757-425-6796
Improve this listing
Ranked #255 of 1,256 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

I have ate here many years ago so when came back had to go to it, still great and still easy on the wallet, nice people and very good food esp the pancakes!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    31
    21
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Delicious food - an unexpected great find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I visisted this restaurant...stumbled in to this restaurant, actually...after running a half-marathon in Virginia Beach this past St. Patrick's Day weekend. It was freezing cold and I was looking for the first place on my path serving up pancakes, coffee, and warmth while I waited for a friend to finish the race. Maple Tree Pancake House is unassuming from the outside but nice and cozy on the inside. The place was full of post-race runners and pretty packed, but regardless of how busy the hosts, cashier, and wait staff were all as friendly as if you were the only customer. I had swedish crepes and bacon, both of which were delicious and served quickly and piping hot. The coffee was average, black perculator coffee (don't go in to a place that's not Starbuck's expecting Starbuck's, and you won't be disappointed!) All in all, a great place to grab an inexpensive but tasty breakfast and enjoy the beach area. Will repeat the experience, this time without the freezing cold and sore muscles!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Went to breakfast here on a Monday morning about 11:00 a m. The restaurant has some parking, but not much. We entered the restaurant and were immediately seated as there were not many customers. After being seated our waiter came to ask if we wished coffee and/or orange juice. We chose coffee and water. Service was quick. We both ordered pancakes, with me asking for biscuits and my husband asking for extra-crispy bacon. To my surprise, our food came out quickly, much faster than I thought it would. The odd thing I found was I ordered banana pancakes and anticipated the bananas on top of my pancakes. When they arrived, there were four on top of my pancakes, which puzzled me. Apparently, they put the fruit IN the food. The pancakes were good, both my banana pancakes and my husband's chocolate chip pancakes. The biscuits were tasty and to our surprise his bacon was very crispy. Everything was tasty and service was very good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead, Kentucky
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just had breakfast here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I just had breakfast here as it is across the street from my hotel. It is not amazing but certainly nothing to complain about. Quality eggs and pancakes. The coffee ($2.50) is 'free refills' but tastes mediocre at best. $7-$10 per person for breakfast not including a drink.

A+ for service and family friendly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“sub-par”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

ham/cheese omelletes had very little cheese...tea was terrible...soda tasted flat...would recommend going elsewhere...

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maple Tree Pancake House also viewed

 

Been to Maple Tree Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maple Tree Pancake House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.