We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Museum to learn about beach rescue here.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Coast Guard Station

Old Coast Guard Station
24th Street & Boardwalk, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
757 422 1587
Improve this listing
Type: History Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A museum that exhibits early life-saving equipment.
Weyers Cave, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Museum to learn about beach rescue here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We were greeted with enthusium and smiles and a brief oral history and guide to start us off. Then we were left on our own to read and study on the 2nd floor. Very informative.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    47
    13
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice quaint historical Coast Guard station.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Inside there's alot of pictures and old artifacts to see. The fee was only a few dollars or if you want to become a member it's free. If you enjoy Coast Guard history this place I would highly recommend to check it out.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Visit to Old Coast Guard Station”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Small museum with small fee and small store right on the boardwalk, nice to visit when you are walking by, nothing special.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“What a wonderful history lesson!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

We were just walking down the boardwalk and decided to take the tour of the Old Coast Guard Station. Wow, we really got a great history lesson from one of the fantastic volunteers! He explained every thing from the beginnings of the "surf men" to the equipment they used to save shipwrecked men, to the part the early coast guard played in our history. They have salvaged many wonderful artifacts, which makes history come alive, as well as very nice videos and displays. The building itself is a treasure. We were quite impressed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Nebo, West Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quality merchandise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We'd visited here a year ago and took the tour and bought wonderful gifts. The tour is so interesting. The tour guide is really knowledgeable and is open to questions. He's really nice too. This trip we only went into the gift shop and found all sorts of wonderful treasures to bring home. The lady that works in the gift shop is very nice and friendly and knows so much about the local area that we have all sorts of ideas for new things to do on our next trip.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Coast Guard Station also viewed

 

Been to Old Coast Guard Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Coast Guard Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.