We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great escape” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chesapeake Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Urbanna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Chesapeake Inn
Save
You added The Chesapeake Inn to your Saves list
250 Virginia Street, Urbanna, VA 23175   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Urbanna B&B and Inns
comet52
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A great escape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed here 2 nights, just before the 4th of July. Urbanna is a great small town located on the water (though the inn is a short walk, maybe 2 blocks away). We had our jetski and planned to explore the waterways around town. The accomondations were excellent and our room was extraordinarily comfortable. The owner could not be any more helpful. Our only regret was that the new restaurant on-site was not open yet. We look forward to getting back soon to enjoy the new dining experience. By the way the Rappahanock River and Chesapeake Bay made the trip spectacular.

Room Tip: i believe any room would be desirable based on conversations with 2 other visitors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
39
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kenwood, California
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We stayed just one night but LOVED the Inn, the owners and the lovely, top of the line decor. The inn is owned by a charming interior designer and her partners. Her expertise in decorating shows in each of the rooms, all decorated in a different style. There are little bicycle surveys to use at your leisure to ride around the charming town of Urbana. Be sure to visit the wine shop, interior shop and restaurant (just opened!) adjacent to the Inn! Also, ask about the swallows! :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebrook, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We were looking for a last minute place to stay and so stopped to ask a lady we saw in town if she could recommend a hotel. She just happened to be the owner of The Chesapeake Inn! So we drove over to check it out and were pleasantly surprised at the most delightful little inn...well kept, welcoming, beautiful attention to details and most refreshingly not like a chain hotel. The decor is very tastefully done, the king bed was comfortable and had lovely soft linens and bedding. Everything was neat and clean with nice little treats as well as local information for guests. And to top off the unique experience was the joy ride on the surrey bike for two! What a fun trip around town and all the locals smiled and waved!! The Chesapeake Inn is truly full of both charm and comfort...who could ask for more? We travel extensively, but this unique little place is one we will remember and hope to return to.

Room Tip: We had an outside room on a Saturday night and it was perfectly quiet...much better than large hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Our room was lovely, carefully chosen bedding and decor. Impeccably clean. Very spacious with plenty of space for a king bed, three chairs, table, closet and full size fridge, well appointed bath, with luxurious towels. Considering there isn't much competition in this area, this hotel/motel/inn is top rate. I love being able to park up close motel style, thought this doesn't feel at all like a typical motel. Nice selection of tea, coffee and delicious cookies provided and very personal attention upon check in. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stayed at the Chesapeake Inn in the Lisa room for two nights in April. It is a beautiful room with a comfortable king bed. The hotel has an outside sitting area that is great for meeting and conversing with the other guests. Angela, one of the hotel owners, was extremely friendly and helpful, answering all of our questions and filling us in on the places to eat. Urbanna is a quaint little town with very friendly people. We enjoyed the town walking tour and the restaurants near by. Something Different is a great restaurant with tasty food and excellent service. It is within walking distance from the hotel, and so are a few shops, other restaurants, and a grocery store. We couldn't pass up a chance to take the short drive to Merroir for oysters and Tangerine Wheat beers. Love that place! The Middle Peninsula is a great place to explore. There are wineries, historic sites, good restaurants, antique shops, boating, and so much more. If you stay at the Chesapeake Inn, you get a boutique hotel experience along with a good night's sleep. I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This is our third stay at The Chesapeake Inn. An old bottling plant converted to an Inn, each room is unique in it's design, spacious, with incredibly comfortable beds and outstanding service. We stayed in the Paris room this time. The bed was as comfortable as ours at home, the AC unit the best we've had recently (including nicer hotels) and the decor outstanding. Urbanna is ideally located to both hang out in town or base out of for day trips to Urbanna, Kilmarnock, and other areas. There are several top notch restaurants in town, not to mention several other just a few miles away, and the waterfront is beautiful. Why stay over in Irvington for 3-4x the price when you can have just as nice a room, and be only a 15 minute drive away, for far less?

Room Tip: There are 6 rooms off an outside hallway, and 7 rooms on an inside hallway. We prefer the inside ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Chesapeake Inn for a last-minute Valentine's Day celebration, and we couldn't have asked for better hosts. The room was spotless, the bed was cozy, and the decorations were delightfully un-generic. But what we loved the most was the true service we received. The Inn's manager (I believe), Angela, went out of her way to make our stay comfortable -- even rushing to lend me an umbrella when she saw me walking through the drizzle without one.
We can't wait to return. And if you're looking for a refreshingly sweet stay right in the middle of town, look no farther than the Chesapeake Inn.

Room Tip: Room #10 is great! And it even has fun, old-fashioned games on the bedside tables.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chesapeake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chesapeake Inn

Address: 250 Virginia Street, Urbanna, VA 23175
Location: United States > Virginia > Urbanna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Urbanna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urbanna's unique boutique hotel, catering to the boater, business and leisure traveler. Choose from our thirteen elegantly appointed rooms, each exhibiting its own distinctive character. We provide ample amenities including wireless internet service, 32" LCD televisions, full size refrigerators, microwave ovens, in room coffee makers and on site parking. Use one of our complimentary pedal Surreys to enjoy Urbanna Harbor, grab a bite to eat or take one for a joy ride around historic Port Town Urbanna. Nestled in the heart of town, you are only a short stroll to all of Urbanna's shops, restaurants and Marinas. Come to play, shop, and stay! 'Relax...You're here.' ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chesapeake Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.