We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“splendid” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hunter's Head Tavern

Hunter's Head Tavern
9048 John Mosby Hwy, Upperville, VA
5405029020
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Hunter's Head Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Upperville
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: just west of the Citgo Station
Transit: We are located on the north side of Route 50.
Description: Experience our English-style Pub that serves traditional pub fare, fine dining cuisine and mouthwatering homemade desserts. Entrees and appetizers feature local farm meats (Certified HumaneR and Certified Organic) as well as local produce. From our famous burgers, to roasted chickens, to veal and pork chops, Hunter's Head Tavern provides a unique opportunity for customers to dine with confidence. Our main ingredients come from farms dedicated to maintaining the health and well-being of their animals as well as the land. Domestic and imported beers are available on tap along with an excellent wine selection including local and organic choices. Five different dining rooms and extensive outdoor seating during the warm seasons provide a dynamic dining experience whether you are looking for a family-friendly, romantic or cozy neighborhood environment. Pets are also welcome to dine on the patio.
home
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“splendid”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Hunters Head was a 45 minute drive for us and worth it. We were greeted by a warm staff, seated quickly and had great service throughout. The atmosphere is wonderful as were those who serviced our table. The food was just wonderful.....

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    74
    10
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great food and setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This is a real english pub. Grab an outdoor table then saunter into the restaurant to place your order (the wait staff will bring your food to you, but they don't take your food order). The outdoor seating area is beautiful, but the inside is equally comfy on a not-so nice day. The food is great - I love the beef stew. They have a great selection of beers and ales. The servers are always pleasant and attentive.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful outdoor garden dinning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Hunters Head is one of our favorite restaurants to go to during the warm months of the year. They have a great outdoor seating area. It is a very nice garden setting with casual outdoor furniture. They don't cram the tables together so you don't have to listen conversations going on at the tables around you. They are also dog friendly.

The English pub style of ordering your drinks and food at the bar is unique. After you place your order and pick up you drinks you take a wooden spoon with a number painted on it to your table. By placing the spoon in an empty wine bottle on your table, the waiter finds your number and brings your food. From ten on you receive full waiter service.

The menu is not that extensive but it changes often as it is written out on two chalk boards so you can refer to it when placing your order at the bar. Their steaks and chicken are raised organically and they usually have some sort of fish. We had the mussels in white sauce the other night and it was very good. They also offer a wide variety of pub food (I love the fish and chips) plus they have Bass, Harp, and Guinness on tap. This is a great casual restaurant with simple but great tasting fare.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quaint and Beautiful Setting...and Good Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

There's nothing better than a ride out to Hunter's Head! Western Loudoun County is gorgeous!! Rolling, manicured, hills, with huge estate's, dotted with horses and other livestock grazing in the fields. Every time we drive out there I have to pinch myself at how lucky we are to have this in our own back yard!
Hunter's Head's outdoor seating area just adds to any day we decide to make the drive. Even in the winter time, indoor seating, is still great. The ceilings are low, because it was built when people were not so tall, and it looks like an old English tavern.
Most of what's on the menu comes from their own Ayrshire Farm. If it doesn't then most likely it's from another local producer. Everything we've ever had has been amazing.
Make the trip, you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Wholesome Pub food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The Hunter's Head is very like an English pub--wooden tables, outside seating, pleasant service. In addition, it has its own farm so the meat is nourishing and wholesome. Deserts are outstanding. For Sunday brunch I had a strawberry shortcake with cream on a real scone.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunter's Head Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Hunter's Head Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunter's Head Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.