We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Upperville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant
Save
You added The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant to your Saves list
10087 John S. Mosby Highway, Upperville, VA 20184 (Formerly "1763 Inn")   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Upperville B&B and Inns
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We came here using a LivingSocial voucher and had an amazing weekend. All of the staff were incredibly friendly, the breakfasts and dinner were delicious, the room was cozy and rustic, yet somehow felt fancy at the same time, and the surrounding area is beautiful. We arrived in our room (the Kerry room) to a bottle of wine, a delicious cheese plate, a huge stone fireplace stocked with firewood, and a large jacuzzi tub. We came on a very cold weekend in February and were able to find lots of fun things to do during the weekend, but would love to return sometime in the Summer or Fall. I would definitely recommend driving down the John S Mosby highway and exploring all of the small towns and wineries along the way. We especially loved the Chrysalis Vineyards in Middleburg. Go for the $10 tasting and you won't regret it.
We stayed here about a month ago and have been talking about it ever since. We can't wait to come back for another visit sometime soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Kerry Room and loved it! The huge fireplace and jacuzzi tub in the room were a wond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    18
    9
    6
    5
See reviews for
6
51
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Went here with friends on a Living Social coupon. Both our rooms were "cottages" consisting of 1 building with several rooms. Lovely and friendly person at the check-in-desk (Donna) who couldn't have been more helpful. Drove up the lane to our rooms. Room was quite spacious with a king size bed with lovely linens. The room really was OK for 2 nights but could use some TLC in terms of maintenance...2x's our toilet wouldn't flush and my husband had to take the cover off and fix it. He found the chain was attached by a paperclip. Our biggest angst was the weather had turned warmer and there were stink bugs EVERYWHERE..both alive and dead on the windowsills. We had to put shoes on if we got up during the night as we could hear our shoes crunching stinkbugs under our feet. One morning there was a stink bug in the shower with me. We did receive a fruit tray and bottle of wine but on the 2nd day which really didn't give us much time to eat it. Was surprised that the wine was from South Africa as opposed to a local VA wine. NO internet service in the room. Breakfasts were VERY good with 4 choices and served by George, a most helpful and likeable guy and were included in the price.

Room Tip: Don't go in "stinkbug season"... Ask for a room with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ridge, Virginia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed in one of the cabins for Valentines weekend and had a great time. The cabins are a high end version of rustic, in that ours had a hot tub and a great stone fireplace, the inn features a wonderful restaurant and pub, and you are only 20 minutes or so from Middleburg, VA.

The views from the cabin are beautiful and we plan to go back in the spring or summer when we can really enjoy the outdoors and take full advantage of hiking at Sky Meadows Park, which is minutes away. The staff was very friendly, the bed was comfortable and the inn provided plenty of wood for the fireplace. It seemed like the perfect example of a well run, small, local business. The restaurant is very well regarded in the local area, so it is worth visiting even if you are not staying there. The pub had a cool, stone-walled, old world look that made it very cozy.

Room Tip: If you think you might use the fireplace all night, go ahead and purchase some extra wood. The inn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

The Blackthorne Inn in Upperville, Virginia, is a wonderful getaway destination. The 18th century inn sits on 45 wooded acres with a pond and has rooms in the main house as well as a number of cabins. We were there for a two-night stay and chose a cabin. Our private and quiet cabin was spacious and featured a very comfortable king-sized bed, double jetted tub, large comfortable couch in front of a working fireplace, and a large bathroom, as well as a refrigerator and accompanying sink. The main house has a restaurant and a pub which has its own, more informal, menu but serves from the restaurant menu as well. We found the pub very comfortable and the food was consistently good. For an appetizer we had Irish nachos, a very large dish of home-made chips and melted cheese, and then for entrees home-made chicken pot pie, which was loaded with chicken and came with a large green salad, and fish and chips. The second night we had a salmon salad and an ahi tuna salad as appetizers which were so large that we did not need to order entrees. Breakfasts are included and feature real Irish sausages, salmon omelettes, home fries, fruit, etc. Tne food was among the best pub food we have ever had with very geneorus portions.

In summary, the Blacklhorne Inn is a very pleasant place to stay with comfortable rooms, excellent food, and a very friendly and warm staff.

Room Tip: The cabins, while more expensive, are well worth the price for the space and comfort they offer as w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stopped by and tried Dinner here, with our son & daughter, had a wonderful evening, the food was great, you must try the Nachos, everything was fresh, and the atmosphere was so calming and nice. This is a lovely Inn located in the Equestrian Country, the grounds are really beautiful

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We just got back from the Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant for a little romantic couples getaway. We stayed in the Wicklow (cabin #4) which contained a wood burning fireplace, Jacuzzi tub, and a very high queen bed. We had a great time, the staff was very friendly and on two occasions gave our car a jump start due to us having some battery problems. We ate at the restaurant and very much enjoyed our meals.

I didn't give the Inn 5 stars for a few reasons, 1) it really is RUSTIC....cozy but nothing like a plush hotel 2) a few little things like my breakfast grapes not being washed (could still see the pesticide/dirt), the cabin bed felt a little small and needed a new mattress, and there really are little stink bugs here and there inside the cabin. I imagine it's impossible to keep them out. Oh, and the shower curtain had mildew and should be replaced.

Overall, the staff was charming and helpful, tons of wood burning fireplaces around the property provided warm ambiance, and the staff is helpful and happy to help wherever needed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Took my husband there for a supervise getaway for his 30th birthday. We loved the location, the room was cozy and super romantic with a large fireplace, jacuzzi and a huge bed. Had a nice country feel to it. Breakfast in the morning included was a nice touch. We couldn't have picked a better place to get away from DC for the night. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant

Address: 10087 John S. Mosby Highway, Upperville, VA 20184 (Formerly "1763 Inn")
Location: United States > Virginia > Upperville
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Upperville
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
The Blackthorne Inn And Restaurant Hotel Upperville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.