We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Upperville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant
Save Saved
You added The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant to your Saves list
10087 John S. Mosby Highway, Upperville, VA 20184 (Formerly "1763 Inn")   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Upperville B&B and Inns
Stafford, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stopped by and tried Dinner here, with our son & daughter, had a wonderful evening, the food was great, you must try the Nachos, everything was fresh, and the atmosphere was so calming and nice. This is a lovely Inn located in the Equestrian Country, the grounds are really beautiful

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    18
    7
    5
    5
See reviews for
6
48
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We just got back from the Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant for a little romantic couples getaway. We stayed in the Wicklow (cabin #4) which contained a wood burning fireplace, Jacuzzi tub, and a very high queen bed. We had a great time, the staff was very friendly and on two occasions gave our car a jump start due to us having some battery problems. We ate at the restaurant and very much enjoyed our meals.

I didn't give the Inn 5 stars for a few reasons, 1) it really is RUSTIC....cozy but nothing like a plush hotel 2) a few little things like my breakfast grapes not being washed (could still see the pesticide/dirt), the cabin bed felt a little small and needed a new mattress, and there really are little stink bugs here and there inside the cabin. I imagine it's impossible to keep them out. Oh, and the shower curtain had mildew and should be replaced.

Overall, the staff was charming and helpful, tons of wood burning fireplaces around the property provided warm ambiance, and the staff is helpful and happy to help wherever needed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Took my husband there for a supervise getaway for his 30th birthday. We loved the location, the room was cozy and super romantic with a large fireplace, jacuzzi and a huge bed. Had a nice country feel to it. Breakfast in the morning included was a nice touch. We couldn't have picked a better place to get away from DC for the night. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odenton, Maryland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The setting is beautiful, but the accomodations were average. The room was very hot and I couldn't regulate the gas stove. The bed was like a woeden slab, not comfortable at all. Kudos to the restaurant and for the great breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I recently stayed at the Blackthorne in one of the cozy cabins available. It is a delightful experience with comfortable beds, a fireplace stocked and ready to go for cool nights (which it was), and great breakfast served by the ever accommodating George. Dinner at the Inn was good, too. The surrounding countryside offered a selection of outdoor activities including the marvelous State Arboretum of Virginia Museum, a lovely garden close by.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

we stayed there a while ago this last winter in march 2013. the property was gorgeous in the winter. the included breakfasts and the service are what stand out the most though! the gentleman serving the breakfast was the definition of charm!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Off the beaten path !! This diamond in the rough is in the horse and wine country of Virginia. Scenic surroundings! Engage in this relaxing treasure with an amazing staff and fabulous food from dinner to the incredible breakfast. Our cabin has a great bed and a wonderful real fireplace. Live entertainment in their Irish pub should you be interested, but I don't know if they have it every night. A must is to have their bread pudding......Better than Christmas morning !!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant

Address: 10087 John S. Mosby Highway, Upperville, VA 20184 (Formerly "1763 Inn")
Location: United States > Virginia > Upperville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Upperville
Also Known As:
The Blackthorne Inn And Restaurant Hotel Upperville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.