We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great venue for a quiet retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Upperville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant
Save
You added The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant to your Saves list
10087 John S. Mosby Highway, Upperville, VA 20184 (Formerly "1763 Inn")   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Upperville B&B and Inns
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great venue for a quiet retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I recently stayed at the Blackthorne in one of the cozy cabins available. It is a delightful experience with comfortable beds, a fireplace stocked and ready to go for cool nights (which it was), and great breakfast served by the ever accommodating George. Dinner at the Inn was good, too. The surrounding countryside offered a selection of outdoor activities including the marvelous State Arboretum of Virginia Museum, a lovely garden close by.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    18
    9
    6
    5
See reviews for
6
51
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

we stayed there a while ago this last winter in march 2013. the property was gorgeous in the winter. the included breakfasts and the service are what stand out the most though! the gentleman serving the breakfast was the definition of charm!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Off the beaten path !! This diamond in the rough is in the horse and wine country of Virginia. Scenic surroundings! Engage in this relaxing treasure with an amazing staff and fabulous food from dinner to the incredible breakfast. Our cabin has a great bed and a wonderful real fireplace. Live entertainment in their Irish pub should you be interested, but I don't know if they have it every night. A must is to have their bread pudding......Better than Christmas morning !!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Viginia, Usa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We simply loved the Blackthorne Inn and will be back! George, our waiter in the mornings, was as nice and knowledgeable a guy as you will ever meet. He really made our stay special. Breakfast was "the best" and dinner was very good as well. What a great location. We visited a nearby winery fora wine tasting and hiked the Appalachian trail on Skyline drive. A wonderful two days!

Room Tip: The cabins are very, very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had the living social and the staff recommended a nice room, the Kildare. It was very spacious and clean, not too rustic but quiet and pretty setting. The breakfast is delicious with a few different options. The grounds are well maintained and we sat on the patio for dinner one night with nice live music.

Only minor complaint is waitress we had for dinner. We asked about a wine and she new nothing about any and couldn't make any suggestions. Then she didn't take our order for another 10 minutes. But overall it was a very nice place and good stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed in one of the Inn's log cabins which had a nice stone wood burning fireplace and king bed. Cabin was very nice and kind of isolated away from Inn back in the woods. This is a bed & breakfast and breakfast each morning was very good. This Inn is located between Winchester and Middleburg, Va., both historic Civil War towns. We had dinner at the Inn which was very good also. Friendly service. Will be back with friends.

Room Tip: Get a cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights here for our 10th anniversary recently. We had an amazing time. The staff was great, the room was cute and the location was so relaxing. We look forward to going back soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant

Address: 10087 John S. Mosby Highway, Upperville, VA 20184 (Formerly "1763 Inn")
Location: United States > Virginia > Upperville
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Upperville
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
The Blackthorne Inn And Restaurant Hotel Upperville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.