We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Upperville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant
Save Saved
You added The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant to your Saves list
10087 John S. Mosby Highway, Upperville, VA 20184 (Formerly "1763 Inn")   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Upperville B&B and Inns
Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My husband and I spent two relaxing nights in The Wexford cabin. We loved it. The cabins are located in a wooded area of the property and are a pleasant stroll from the main inn. There was maid service daily .The mattress was comfortable. The bed is high so beware if that is a problem for you (there were bed steps if needed). Rustic elegance is a good way to describe the atmosphere. As others have described there were a number of stink bugs in the cabin but they were not a problem at all. It's a cabin in the woods so that's some of the rustic part. The owners have included an article about them in the information book located in the room. The Wexford cabin has a wood bunring fireplace which we enjoyed. Naturally there is a wood smoke aroma in the cabin because of this so if you are allergic or really dislike that smell I would suggest getting one of the rooms with a propane fireplace. The cabin was clean. We arrived a little on the late side and the lights had been turned on for us. The grounds were well kept and pretty. The restaurant patio is a pleasant place to dine or have a drink and even though it was cool outside we stayed warm due to the patio heaters placed around. A hot breakfast is served in the pub each morning and is good. George, who serves breakfast each morning, was a delight to chat with. The surrounding countryside is beautiful. Cell phone service is sketchy not only on the grounds but also in the surrounding areas. Overall a beautiful and charming place of which we will return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    18
    7
    5
    5
See reviews for
6
48
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed there this weekend using a Living Social voucher and had a lovely time. The staff was super friendly and the breakfast was outstanding. The property is really pretty and they have two guineas, lots of geese and a cat who permanently reside there and wander around throughout the day. You really have the feeling like you're hundreds of miles away from the city and forget that you're less than an hour outside of DC. Our room was very quaint and clean. The only complaints were that while the jacuzzi tub was nice and big, the jets didn't work. Also, there were a ton of stink bugs in our room - I suspect there will be even more in the spring and summer. Also, minimal front desk staff on the weekends and possibly understaffed during the week. No cell signal for the most part and wifi was only available in the restaurant - which was a plus for us so we could unplug for the weekend. Overall, a great experience. Will return if they get the stinkbug infestation under control.

Room Tip: Ask about stink bugs before you show up and how far your room is from the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Spent 2 nights in The Mayo (formerly horse stables)Huge fireplace and plenty of wood to burn.This was a godsend as the room was drafty,since it was well below freezing outside we used the fireplace non-stop.Everything was clean and well stocked with complimentary wine and cheese brought to our door. The pub was super cozy with the feeling once inside that you could be in Ireland.Fish and Chips came out fast and hot,come to think of it most everything came out of the kitchen in record time.The bar was well stocked with typical Irish beers like Harp and Guinness .Smithwicks etc.Of course i was hoping for more craft beers since everything else was Bud,Miller ,Heineken and variants.Being a total beer geek. some strong ales ,Barleywines or IPAs would have been welcome.Anyway we had a great time and would recommend .We would like to go back in the fall when we could take advantage of the patios and explore the grounds more.

Room Tip: If the temperature is near or below freezing i think the cabins and cottages must be warmer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

If you're the type of person who likes to unplug for a weekend and live in the present this place is for you (disclaimer: they do have WiFi and DirecTV). My girlfriend and I discovered this place through a Living Social dealpiece. It was only a 90-minute drive from DC (with Friday afternoon traffic) yet it felt like we were a world away. The food was excellent... we ate both dinners there and enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. We also appreciated the genuine charm of the room, property and pub. It's truly a family-run experience and we had the pleasure of meeting the whole tree. The owner Shane chatted with us at the Pub that Saturday night and generously paid for a couple of our drinks. The Blackthorne Inn is close to VA wine country and Middleburg's charming business district. We'll certainly go back again soon... perhaps with a few couples to stay in the other cabins. Thank you!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Waterford cabin. It had a hot tub and plenty of firewood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed in The Kerry Room 11/30-12/2 with a Living Social deal that included a 2-night stay, 4-course meal w/2 drinks, daily breakfast, wine tasting for 2 and wine/cheese/crackers in your room upon arrival. If you are looking for the Ritz, this is not for you -- this is a quaint, rustic, historic property from 1763! We were greeted by Donna in the office who is more than helpful and friendly and check-in was a snap. The Kerry Room consisted of 1 large rm which included a full wall fireplace already stacked with wood to start a fire and had plenty more wood available outside your door, king-size bed, jacuzzi tub, sofa and small kitchen with small fridge and coffee maker and there is a separate bathroom. We had a roaring fire each night and it was beautiful! Dinner on Fri. was at the Inn's restaurant and included Tomato Basil Soup, choice of 2 diff. salads, 3-4 entrees and dessert (it may be diff. choices on diff. nights). There was a trio singing in the small pub (~8-10 tables) and our waiter kindly found us a place to sit after dinner and brought our drinks and dessert to the pub so we could listen to the music. I don't know the name of the trio (1 woman/2 men), but they were excellent and sang songs, from Billy Joel, Elton John, country, etc -- they were also there Sat night. Had breakfast in the pub each morning which is available from 8-10am and they offer juice, coffee and choice of 4 different breakfasts. As for sightseeing, we toured Oatlands Plantation in Leesburg (~20 mi away) and also had the opportunity to purchase afternoon tea w/added highlight of having Sandy Lerner, found of Cisco Systems and Urban Decay cosmetics, author and owner of Ayrshire Farm which raises organic produce and humanely-raised meats and also owner of Hunter's Head Restaurant/Pub. We also spent Sat. visiting 2 wineries (even though our deal said 1 winery, Donna at Blackthorne told us to help ourselves to as many diff. winery tasting coupons that she had and said that if you mention you are staying @ the Blackthorne, others will offer wine tasting also) -- we visited Three Fox Vineyard which is ~6 mi fr Inn and Cobbler Mountain Cellars ~15 mi fr Inn -- both were very friendly and their wines start in the upper $20 range. Note that the later winery is off the beaten path and you will be on a stone/dirt road for several miles, but just follow the signs and know that you are going in the right direction. Dinner the 2nd night was at the Hunter's Head Restaurant/Pub which is ~2-3 mi down the road fr the Inn -- it was very quaint and has many authentic British offerings -- the food was very well done -- we opted for the beef stew and a fish fry and ate every bit! The only recommendation that I could make of the Inn would be to replace the mattress as it has 2 extremely deep valley's on each side where you lay and also to put a new bottle of local wine in the fridge vs. the re-fillable bottle they placed. All in all, it is a beautiful area and we had a wonderful stay in the country!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We spent two nights in a comfortable log cabin at the Blackthorne Inn. The property previously belonged to George Washington and is now owned and run by an Irish couple, the O'Connors. We enjoyed the wood burning fireplace that came with a large supply of split wood. It was a short walk through the woods to the restaurant and Wolf Tones Pub. The pub was fabulous and we enjoyed the lively atmosphere and hospitality of the O'Connors. The included cooked breakfast was excellent and service was friendly.
We will return

Room Tip: The log cabins are worth the extra cost. Very dark and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Had a nice stay at Blackthorne Inn as we toured Wine country. We stayed in the Kerry Room that had a cozy fireplace and warm jaquzzi. The breakfast was quaint and really good food. The grounds were well maintained and we felt at home.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant

Address: 10087 John S. Mosby Highway, Upperville, VA 20184 (Formerly "1763 Inn")
Location: United States > Virginia > Upperville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Upperville
Also Known As:
The Blackthorne Inn And Restaurant Hotel Upperville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.