We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ultimate weekend getaway experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Upperville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant
Save
You added The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant to your Saves list
10087 John S. Mosby Highway, Upperville, VA 20184 (Formerly "1763 Inn")   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Upperville B&B and Inns
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
“The ultimate weekend getaway experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

If you're the type of person who likes to unplug for a weekend and live in the present this place is for you (disclaimer: they do have WiFi and DirecTV). My girlfriend and I discovered this place through a Living Social dealpiece. It was only a 90-minute drive from DC (with Friday afternoon traffic) yet it felt like we were a world away. The food was excellent... we ate both dinners there and enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. We also appreciated the genuine charm of the room, property and pub. It's truly a family-run experience and we had the pleasure of meeting the whole tree. The owner Shane chatted with us at the Pub that Saturday night and generously paid for a couple of our drinks. The Blackthorne Inn is close to VA wine country and Middleburg's charming business district. We'll certainly go back again soon... perhaps with a few couples to stay in the other cabins. Thank you!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Waterford cabin. It had a hot tub and plenty of firewood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    18
    9
    6
    5
See reviews for
6
51
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed in The Kerry Room 11/30-12/2 with a Living Social deal that included a 2-night stay, 4-course meal w/2 drinks, daily breakfast, wine tasting for 2 and wine/cheese/crackers in your room upon arrival. If you are looking for the Ritz, this is not for you -- this is a quaint, rustic, historic property from 1763! We were greeted by Donna in the office who is more than helpful and friendly and check-in was a snap. The Kerry Room consisted of 1 large rm which included a full wall fireplace already stacked with wood to start a fire and had plenty more wood available outside your door, king-size bed, jacuzzi tub, sofa and small kitchen with small fridge and coffee maker and there is a separate bathroom. We had a roaring fire each night and it was beautiful! Dinner on Fri. was at the Inn's restaurant and included Tomato Basil Soup, choice of 2 diff. salads, 3-4 entrees and dessert (it may be diff. choices on diff. nights). There was a trio singing in the small pub (~8-10 tables) and our waiter kindly found us a place to sit after dinner and brought our drinks and dessert to the pub so we could listen to the music. I don't know the name of the trio (1 woman/2 men), but they were excellent and sang songs, from Billy Joel, Elton John, country, etc -- they were also there Sat night. Had breakfast in the pub each morning which is available from 8-10am and they offer juice, coffee and choice of 4 different breakfasts. As for sightseeing, we toured Oatlands Plantation in Leesburg (~20 mi away) and also had the opportunity to purchase afternoon tea w/added highlight of having Sandy Lerner, found of Cisco Systems and Urban Decay cosmetics, author and owner of Ayrshire Farm which raises organic produce and humanely-raised meats and also owner of Hunter's Head Restaurant/Pub. We also spent Sat. visiting 2 wineries (even though our deal said 1 winery, Donna at Blackthorne told us to help ourselves to as many diff. winery tasting coupons that she had and said that if you mention you are staying @ the Blackthorne, others will offer wine tasting also) -- we visited Three Fox Vineyard which is ~6 mi fr Inn and Cobbler Mountain Cellars ~15 mi fr Inn -- both were very friendly and their wines start in the upper $20 range. Note that the later winery is off the beaten path and you will be on a stone/dirt road for several miles, but just follow the signs and know that you are going in the right direction. Dinner the 2nd night was at the Hunter's Head Restaurant/Pub which is ~2-3 mi down the road fr the Inn -- it was very quaint and has many authentic British offerings -- the food was very well done -- we opted for the beef stew and a fish fry and ate every bit! The only recommendation that I could make of the Inn would be to replace the mattress as it has 2 extremely deep valley's on each side where you lay and also to put a new bottle of local wine in the fridge vs. the re-fillable bottle they placed. All in all, it is a beautiful area and we had a wonderful stay in the country!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We spent two nights in a comfortable log cabin at the Blackthorne Inn. The property previously belonged to George Washington and is now owned and run by an Irish couple, the O'Connors. We enjoyed the wood burning fireplace that came with a large supply of split wood. It was a short walk through the woods to the restaurant and Wolf Tones Pub. The pub was fabulous and we enjoyed the lively atmosphere and hospitality of the O'Connors. The included cooked breakfast was excellent and service was friendly.
We will return

Room Tip: The log cabins are worth the extra cost. Very dark and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Had a nice stay at Blackthorne Inn as we toured Wine country. We stayed in the Kerry Room that had a cozy fireplace and warm jaquzzi. The breakfast was quaint and really good food. The grounds were well maintained and we felt at home.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a quiet two night stay at the Blackthorne Inn. We went to see the fall foliage. On entering our spacious, attractive, and comfortable room we found a warm gas fire glowing in a Franklin style stove complete with ceramic logs. A bottle of wine along with a nice cheese and fruit plate were waiting for us in a compact refrigerator. That evening we had a delicious dinner in the main dining room overlooking a beautiful pond accented by a fountain. Behind us, and connected to the room we sat in, was the original stone house owned by George Washington. It offered a beautiful bar and three more smaller, private dining rooms. Each room appeared as though you had stepped back in time 250 years ago. Several fireplaces gave a natural warmth and cozy feeling throughout the house. My wife enjoyed large scallops and shrimp over pasta. I had a tasty steak. The next night we ate in the Pub and I enjoyed the Cottage Pie, the Inn's version of a Shepard's pie. My wife had a Greek dish with mutton and cheese. I ate a sample and it was excellent. We sat next to a warm fire in the rough stone fireplace. Each morning we had breakfast back in the Pub. It was served quickly, hot, and very delicious. Upstairs is a second pub for imbibing, and out back is a large attractive patio. We walked the grounds both morning and took in wonderful views of the Blue Ridge foothills, meadows, pastures, and woods. We also saw deer and a variety of birds. Maybe you have experienced similar places, but what will make a stay at Blackthorne Inn exceed your expectations is the personal warmth of the owners and their staff. Four daughters and a son along with their mother and father came over from Ireland 27 years ago. Their hospitality is genuine and they make you feel comfortable in their company and care. I highly recommend Blackthorne Inn at Upperville, VA.

Rob and Shirley from Jacksonville Beach, FL

Room Tip: Chose between rooms with a gas stove or fireplace to your liking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annapolis
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

A wonderful two-night stay at this unique B & B. Great accommodations, and even greater food. Beautiful settings near the little village of Upperville. Wined and dined in the very intimate dining room, and enjoyed two great breakfasts in the pub area. Day trips to many attractions in the general area, including Oatlands, a historic mansion and gardens.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purcellville
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We enjoyed a wonderful brunch this past Sunday on the patio at the Blackthorne Inn.
The Inn is located west of Upperville, VA. The say was beautiful and there was a nice
breeze on the patio. I enjoyed the best quiche I have ever had and the asparagus soup
was fantastic. My husband had the omlette and he thoroughly enjoyed it. It was out first
time at the Blackthorne and we were given a tour of the restaurant and property. We
definitely will return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant

Address: 10087 John S. Mosby Highway, Upperville, VA 20184 (Formerly "1763 Inn")
Location: United States > Virginia > Upperville
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Upperville
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
The Blackthorne Inn And Restaurant Hotel Upperville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.