We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History and Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Upperville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant
Save
You added The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant to your Saves list
10087 John S. Mosby Highway, Upperville, VA 20184 (Formerly "1763 Inn")   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Upperville B&B and Inns
Annapolis
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“History and Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We spent two nights in a comfortable log cabin at the Blackthorne Inn. The property previously belonged to George Washington and is now owned and run by an Irish couple, the O'Connors. We enjoyed the wood burning fireplace that came with a large supply of split wood. It was a short walk through the woods to the restaurant and Wolf Tones Pub. The pub was fabulous and we enjoyed the lively atmosphere and hospitality of the O'Connors. The included cooked breakfast was excellent and service was friendly.
We will return

Room Tip: The log cabins are worth the extra cost. Very dark and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    20
    9
    6
    5
See reviews for
6
53
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Laurel, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Had a nice stay at Blackthorne Inn as we toured Wine country. We stayed in the Kerry Room that had a cozy fireplace and warm jaquzzi. The breakfast was quaint and really good food. The grounds were well maintained and we felt at home.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a quiet two night stay at the Blackthorne Inn. We went to see the fall foliage. On entering our spacious, attractive, and comfortable room we found a warm gas fire glowing in a Franklin style stove complete with ceramic logs. A bottle of wine along with a nice cheese and fruit plate were waiting for us in a compact refrigerator. That evening we had a delicious dinner in the main dining room overlooking a beautiful pond accented by a fountain. Behind us, and connected to the room we sat in, was the original stone house owned by George Washington. It offered a beautiful bar and three more smaller, private dining rooms. Each room appeared as though you had stepped back in time 250 years ago. Several fireplaces gave a natural warmth and cozy feeling throughout the house. My wife enjoyed large scallops and shrimp over pasta. I had a tasty steak. The next night we ate in the Pub and I enjoyed the Cottage Pie, the Inn's version of a Shepard's pie. My wife had a Greek dish with mutton and cheese. I ate a sample and it was excellent. We sat next to a warm fire in the rough stone fireplace. Each morning we had breakfast back in the Pub. It was served quickly, hot, and very delicious. Upstairs is a second pub for imbibing, and out back is a large attractive patio. We walked the grounds both morning and took in wonderful views of the Blue Ridge foothills, meadows, pastures, and woods. We also saw deer and a variety of birds. Maybe you have experienced similar places, but what will make a stay at Blackthorne Inn exceed your expectations is the personal warmth of the owners and their staff. Four daughters and a son along with their mother and father came over from Ireland 27 years ago. Their hospitality is genuine and they make you feel comfortable in their company and care. I highly recommend Blackthorne Inn at Upperville, VA.

Rob and Shirley from Jacksonville Beach, FL

Room Tip: Chose between rooms with a gas stove or fireplace to your liking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annapolis
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

A wonderful two-night stay at this unique B & B. Great accommodations, and even greater food. Beautiful settings near the little village of Upperville. Wined and dined in the very intimate dining room, and enjoyed two great breakfasts in the pub area. Day trips to many attractions in the general area, including Oatlands, a historic mansion and gardens.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purcellville
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We enjoyed a wonderful brunch this past Sunday on the patio at the Blackthorne Inn.
The Inn is located west of Upperville, VA. The say was beautiful and there was a nice
breeze on the patio. I enjoyed the best quiche I have ever had and the asparagus soup
was fantastic. My husband had the omlette and he thoroughly enjoyed it. It was out first
time at the Blackthorne and we were given a tour of the restaurant and property. We
definitely will return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

My husband and I spent our 25 year anniversary with a 2 night stay here and were assigned to the Waterford Cabin. It was clean, except for the sticky mouse trap poking out from under the stained white sofa and gouge marks on the very old wood plank floors where people have moved the sofa to get a better view of the TV. I enjoyed the rustic look of the cabin as well as the large jacuzzi tub in the room. The bed and bedding were very comfortable and there were plenty of towels. On the front deck there were 2 handmade rocking chairs. Very nice for sitting in the evening but nothing to see except trees 10 feet in front of us. That was still acceptable as we were just looking for a nice quiet getaway.
Our Living Social deal offered a bottle of wine and a fruit & cheese plate which were waiting for us upon our arrival. Within several miles of the Inn are many many vineyards/wineries so I was excited to try some good local wine. To our disappointment, our wine was not only nasty but already opened/uncorked and imported from Argentina! What??? So much for supporting the local economy.
Calls to the front desk are of no use. We called many times for pub hours, TV problems, wine questions, etc and never got an answer. We did drive down there only to find no one at the desk whatsoever. If you're looking to get away from it all, this is the place to do it...from all and everyone unless you leave the property.
The lady who brought us breakfast in the pub was friendly and the food was good. We opted not to use the $25 restaurant voucher for dinner because of the prices. Breakfast was free with our Living Social Deal or we would have gone elsewhere.
There is a beautiful pond with waterlily's, fish, turtles and 2 friendly guinnies walking around the property. The old house is gorgeous and we enjoyed sitting on the front porch of it soaking in the pretty views. This would also offer a nice setting for a small quaint wedding or reception.
If you're looking to drive country roads and enjoy the scenery, you'll find it in abundance nearby. Upperville and Middleburg, a short drive, are quaint towns with little shops and very friendly people. If you're looking for wine I assure you it's there. Lots of it! Wineries around every corner and each one better and better.
Blackthorne Inn area does offer a quiet getaway but make sure you get it at a price worth being secluded for. In hindsight, I would go again, if offered a good deal, just so I could be in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We had a super-wonderful weekend away at the Blackthorn Inn! We were in the Tipperary Cabin and found it to be great. We purchased a Living Social deal and really were not sure what to expect. When we checked in the cabin was clean and cool and the wine that was part of our package was chilling in the refrigerator.

I read through the reviews and was surprised to see some complaints about the interiors. We had no complaints at all and our experience was excellent. I think it is on the more rustic side, but that being said, everything was clean and comfortable. The cabins are in the woods so it is nice and quiet and private.

The breakfast was delicious. Unlimited coffee in the pub and choice of several different things including waffles. We ate dinner at the restaurant and the pub and overall the food was great. We had the silk snapper and salads. So great! And the pub was fun too (great burgers!).

I am excited to plan another trip sometime soon--we will do some hiking in the nearby state park, wine tasting and hope to rent the same cabin to enjoy the woods surrounding them.

Finally, Donna was so friendly and helpful! She helped us plan our excursions out and was a pleasure to work with!

Room Tip: I liked our cabin, the Tipperary. I didn't see the other cabins but you may want to ask about t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upperville
14.0 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
14.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#2 of 9 in Front Royal
4.5 of 5 stars 514 reviews
20.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Warrenton
Hampton Inn Warrenton
#1 of 6 in Warrenton
4.5 of 5 stars 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Airlie
Airlie
#3 of 6 in Warrenton
4.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
9.8 mi away
Salamander Resort & Spa
Salamander Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Middleburg
4.0 of 5 stars 665 reviews
10.5 mi away
Middleburg Country Inn
Middleburg Country Inn
#1 of 8 in Middleburg
5.0 of 5 stars 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant

Address: 10087 John S. Mosby Highway, Upperville, VA 20184 (Formerly "1763 Inn")
Location: United States > Virginia > Upperville
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Upperville
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
The Blackthorne Inn And Restaurant Hotel Upperville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.