We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful in the Fall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Upperville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant
Save Saved
You added The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant to your Saves list
10087 John S. Mosby Highway, Upperville, VA 20184 (Formerly "1763 Inn")   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Upperville B&B and Inns
Laurel, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful in the Fall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Had a nice stay at Blackthorne Inn as we toured Wine country. We stayed in the Kerry Room that had a cozy fireplace and warm jaquzzi. The breakfast was quaint and really good food. The grounds were well maintained and we felt at home.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    18
    9
    5
    5
See reviews for
6
49
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a quiet two night stay at the Blackthorne Inn. We went to see the fall foliage. On entering our spacious, attractive, and comfortable room we found a warm gas fire glowing in a Franklin style stove complete with ceramic logs. A bottle of wine along with a nice cheese and fruit plate were waiting for us in a compact refrigerator. That evening we had a delicious dinner in the main dining room overlooking a beautiful pond accented by a fountain. Behind us, and connected to the room we sat in, was the original stone house owned by George Washington. It offered a beautiful bar and three more smaller, private dining rooms. Each room appeared as though you had stepped back in time 250 years ago. Several fireplaces gave a natural warmth and cozy feeling throughout the house. My wife enjoyed large scallops and shrimp over pasta. I had a tasty steak. The next night we ate in the Pub and I enjoyed the Cottage Pie, the Inn's version of a Shepard's pie. My wife had a Greek dish with mutton and cheese. I ate a sample and it was excellent. We sat next to a warm fire in the rough stone fireplace. Each morning we had breakfast back in the Pub. It was served quickly, hot, and very delicious. Upstairs is a second pub for imbibing, and out back is a large attractive patio. We walked the grounds both morning and took in wonderful views of the Blue Ridge foothills, meadows, pastures, and woods. We also saw deer and a variety of birds. Maybe you have experienced similar places, but what will make a stay at Blackthorne Inn exceed your expectations is the personal warmth of the owners and their staff. Four daughters and a son along with their mother and father came over from Ireland 27 years ago. Their hospitality is genuine and they make you feel comfortable in their company and care. I highly recommend Blackthorne Inn at Upperville, VA.

Rob and Shirley from Jacksonville Beach, FL

Room Tip: Chose between rooms with a gas stove or fireplace to your liking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annapolis
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

A wonderful two-night stay at this unique B & B. Great accommodations, and even greater food. Beautiful settings near the little village of Upperville. Wined and dined in the very intimate dining room, and enjoyed two great breakfasts in the pub area. Day trips to many attractions in the general area, including Oatlands, a historic mansion and gardens.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purcellville
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We enjoyed a wonderful brunch this past Sunday on the patio at the Blackthorne Inn.
The Inn is located west of Upperville, VA. The say was beautiful and there was a nice
breeze on the patio. I enjoyed the best quiche I have ever had and the asparagus soup
was fantastic. My husband had the omlette and he thoroughly enjoyed it. It was out first
time at the Blackthorne and we were given a tour of the restaurant and property. We
definitely will return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

My husband and I spent our 25 year anniversary with a 2 night stay here and were assigned to the Waterford Cabin. It was clean, except for the sticky mouse trap poking out from under the stained white sofa and gouge marks on the very old wood plank floors where people have moved the sofa to get a better view of the TV. I enjoyed the rustic look of the cabin as well as the large jacuzzi tub in the room. The bed and bedding were very comfortable and there were plenty of towels. On the front deck there were 2 handmade rocking chairs. Very nice for sitting in the evening but nothing to see except trees 10 feet in front of us. That was still acceptable as we were just looking for a nice quiet getaway.
Our Living Social deal offered a bottle of wine and a fruit & cheese plate which were waiting for us upon our arrival. Within several miles of the Inn are many many vineyards/wineries so I was excited to try some good local wine. To our disappointment, our wine was not only nasty but already opened/uncorked and imported from Argentina! What??? So much for supporting the local economy.
Calls to the front desk are of no use. We called many times for pub hours, TV problems, wine questions, etc and never got an answer. We did drive down there only to find no one at the desk whatsoever. If you're looking to get away from it all, this is the place to do it...from all and everyone unless you leave the property.
The lady who brought us breakfast in the pub was friendly and the food was good. We opted not to use the $25 restaurant voucher for dinner because of the prices. Breakfast was free with our Living Social Deal or we would have gone elsewhere.
There is a beautiful pond with waterlily's, fish, turtles and 2 friendly guinnies walking around the property. The old house is gorgeous and we enjoyed sitting on the front porch of it soaking in the pretty views. This would also offer a nice setting for a small quaint wedding or reception.
If you're looking to drive country roads and enjoy the scenery, you'll find it in abundance nearby. Upperville and Middleburg, a short drive, are quaint towns with little shops and very friendly people. If you're looking for wine I assure you it's there. Lots of it! Wineries around every corner and each one better and better.
Blackthorne Inn area does offer a quiet getaway but make sure you get it at a price worth being secluded for. In hindsight, I would go again, if offered a good deal, just so I could be in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We had a super-wonderful weekend away at the Blackthorn Inn! We were in the Tipperary Cabin and found it to be great. We purchased a Living Social deal and really were not sure what to expect. When we checked in the cabin was clean and cool and the wine that was part of our package was chilling in the refrigerator.

I read through the reviews and was surprised to see some complaints about the interiors. We had no complaints at all and our experience was excellent. I think it is on the more rustic side, but that being said, everything was clean and comfortable. The cabins are in the woods so it is nice and quiet and private.

The breakfast was delicious. Unlimited coffee in the pub and choice of several different things including waffles. We ate dinner at the restaurant and the pub and overall the food was great. We had the silk snapper and salads. So great! And the pub was fun too (great burgers!).

I am excited to plan another trip sometime soon--we will do some hiking in the nearby state park, wine tasting and hope to rent the same cabin to enjoy the woods surrounding them.

Finally, Donna was so friendly and helpful! She helped us plan our excursions out and was a pleasure to work with!

Room Tip: I liked our cabin, the Tipperary. I didn't see the other cabins but you may want to ask about t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Blackthorne Inn and had a good time. We purchased a Living Social deal that included a cabin stay with a $25.00 voucher for the restaurant and a bottle of wine. When we arrived, there was no one at the front desk and we had to see the restaurant manager who checked us in. Not overly friendly and warm, but the Pub was hopping so, he was a little on the busy side.

We were assigned to the Sligo cabin and when we got there it was oppressively hot inside. It was a hot day (96 degrees), but I don't think they turned the AC unit on until just before we got there. The window AC unit is older, but couldn't flush the hot air out, especially since the cabin is virtually two stories with a loft that there was no access to.

The cabin itself is very nice - fireplace, jacuzzi tub, large bathroom and a little patio deck with 2 chairs overlooking green space and trees. But...the carpet and two wing back chairs were FILTHY. Multiple large stains on the carpet and the winged chairs are a light taupe/tan color and the filth on them was nauseating. I had to drape them with towels just to sit in them. Other than those two items, the room was clean and had a nice atmosphere. A cheap steam cleaner can go a long way to make a good first impression.

The room still wasn't cooled down hours after we arrived (we checked in at 3pm and by 8pm it was still soooo hot) and I called guest services on the house phone to see if they had a fan. It rang, rang, and rang and no one picked up. So, we just dealt with the heat all night. By morning it had cooled down/

The breakfast was okay - omelet or eggs with homefries. If you have a special diet, don't look for low fat at breakfast because everything was oily. Breakfast is served from 8am to 10am only.

The restaurant food is fabulous (we didn't try the pub food like the bangers and mash, Irish nacho's). Their patio area is pretty and you can order from the Blackthorne restaurant or pub food. Over our stay my husband and I had the Costa Rican snapper, ahi tuna, crab stuffed avocado, NY Strip, chicken with garlic polenta, and the seafood pasta. All of it was so good. Service was great too! If you go to the restaurant, purchase a Restaurant.com certificate and you can get a good deal.

The Inn has an adopted cat named Stella and she is gorgeous and friendly. There are two Guinea hens that roam the property - cute as can be. The property itself is beautiful. There is a large pond with a bridge and gazebo over it. Bring bread or cheese to feed the sunfish, painter turtles, and snapping turtles. There is also bass in the pond and they like crawlers.

For fun, there is a drive-in movie theater about 20 minutes away just west of 81 on Route 11. We hadn't been to a drive-in since the 80's and it was a real treat.

Overall our stay was okay and perhaps may have been better if the room had been cooled and the carpet and furniture wasn't so dirty.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant

Address: 10087 John S. Mosby Highway, Upperville, VA 20184 (Formerly "1763 Inn")
Location: United States > Virginia > Upperville
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Upperville
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
The Blackthorne Inn And Restaurant Hotel Upperville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.