We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet get-away with little service.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Upperville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant
10087 John S. Mosby Highway, Upperville, VA 20184 (Formerly "1763 Inn")   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Upperville B&B and Inns
Chesterfield, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quiet get-away with little service.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

My husband and I spent our 25 year anniversary with a 2 night stay here and were assigned to the Waterford Cabin. It was clean, except for the sticky mouse trap poking out from under the stained white sofa and gouge marks on the very old wood plank floors where people have moved the sofa to get a better view of the TV. I enjoyed the rustic look of the cabin as well as the large jacuzzi tub in the room. The bed and bedding were very comfortable and there were plenty of towels. On the front deck there were 2 handmade rocking chairs. Very nice for sitting in the evening but nothing to see except trees 10 feet in front of us. That was still acceptable as we were just looking for a nice quiet getaway.
Our Living Social deal offered a bottle of wine and a fruit & cheese plate which were waiting for us upon our arrival. Within several miles of the Inn are many many vineyards/wineries so I was excited to try some good local wine. To our disappointment, our wine was not only nasty but already opened/uncorked and imported from Argentina! What??? So much for supporting the local economy.
Calls to the front desk are of no use. We called many times for pub hours, TV problems, wine questions, etc and never got an answer. We did drive down there only to find no one at the desk whatsoever. If you're looking to get away from it all, this is the place to do it...from all and everyone unless you leave the property.
The lady who brought us breakfast in the pub was friendly and the food was good. We opted not to use the $25 restaurant voucher for dinner because of the prices. Breakfast was free with our Living Social Deal or we would have gone elsewhere.
There is a beautiful pond with waterlily's, fish, turtles and 2 friendly guinnies walking around the property. The old house is gorgeous and we enjoyed sitting on the front porch of it soaking in the pretty views. This would also offer a nice setting for a small quaint wedding or reception.
If you're looking to drive country roads and enjoy the scenery, you'll find it in abundance nearby. Upperville and Middleburg, a short drive, are quaint towns with little shops and very friendly people. If you're looking for wine I assure you it's there. Lots of it! Wineries around every corner and each one better and better.
Blackthorne Inn area does offer a quiet getaway but make sure you get it at a price worth being secluded for. In hindsight, I would go again, if offered a good deal, just so I could be in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    18
    7
    5
    5
See reviews for
6
48
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We had a super-wonderful weekend away at the Blackthorn Inn! We were in the Tipperary Cabin and found it to be great. We purchased a Living Social deal and really were not sure what to expect. When we checked in the cabin was clean and cool and the wine that was part of our package was chilling in the refrigerator.

I read through the reviews and was surprised to see some complaints about the interiors. We had no complaints at all and our experience was excellent. I think it is on the more rustic side, but that being said, everything was clean and comfortable. The cabins are in the woods so it is nice and quiet and private.

The breakfast was delicious. Unlimited coffee in the pub and choice of several different things including waffles. We ate dinner at the restaurant and the pub and overall the food was great. We had the silk snapper and salads. So great! And the pub was fun too (great burgers!).

I am excited to plan another trip sometime soon--we will do some hiking in the nearby state park, wine tasting and hope to rent the same cabin to enjoy the woods surrounding them.

Finally, Donna was so friendly and helpful! She helped us plan our excursions out and was a pleasure to work with!

Room Tip: I liked our cabin, the Tipperary. I didn't see the other cabins but you may want to ask about t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Blackthorne Inn and had a good time. We purchased a Living Social deal that included a cabin stay with a $25.00 voucher for the restaurant and a bottle of wine. When we arrived, there was no one at the front desk and we had to see the restaurant manager who checked us in. Not overly friendly and warm, but the Pub was hopping so, he was a little on the busy side.

We were assigned to the Sligo cabin and when we got there it was oppressively hot inside. It was a hot day (96 degrees), but I don't think they turned the AC unit on until just before we got there. The window AC unit is older, but couldn't flush the hot air out, especially since the cabin is virtually two stories with a loft that there was no access to.

The cabin itself is very nice - fireplace, jacuzzi tub, large bathroom and a little patio deck with 2 chairs overlooking green space and trees. But...the carpet and two wing back chairs were FILTHY. Multiple large stains on the carpet and the winged chairs are a light taupe/tan color and the filth on them was nauseating. I had to drape them with towels just to sit in them. Other than those two items, the room was clean and had a nice atmosphere. A cheap steam cleaner can go a long way to make a good first impression.

The room still wasn't cooled down hours after we arrived (we checked in at 3pm and by 8pm it was still soooo hot) and I called guest services on the house phone to see if they had a fan. It rang, rang, and rang and no one picked up. So, we just dealt with the heat all night. By morning it had cooled down/

The breakfast was okay - omelet or eggs with homefries. If you have a special diet, don't look for low fat at breakfast because everything was oily. Breakfast is served from 8am to 10am only.

The restaurant food is fabulous (we didn't try the pub food like the bangers and mash, Irish nacho's). Their patio area is pretty and you can order from the Blackthorne restaurant or pub food. Over our stay my husband and I had the Costa Rican snapper, ahi tuna, crab stuffed avocado, NY Strip, chicken with garlic polenta, and the seafood pasta. All of it was so good. Service was great too! If you go to the restaurant, purchase a Restaurant.com certificate and you can get a good deal.

The Inn has an adopted cat named Stella and she is gorgeous and friendly. There are two Guinea hens that roam the property - cute as can be. The property itself is beautiful. There is a large pond with a bridge and gazebo over it. Bring bread or cheese to feed the sunfish, painter turtles, and snapping turtles. There is also bass in the pond and they like crawlers.

For fun, there is a drive-in movie theater about 20 minutes away just west of 81 on Route 11. We hadn't been to a drive-in since the 80's and it was a real treat.

Overall our stay was okay and perhaps may have been better if the room had been cooled and the carpet and furniture wasn't so dirty.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severn, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We had a Livingsocial voucher for a two-night stay and a 4-course-dinner so got a reasonable deal (the place isn't cheap!! It's not really comparable to B&Bs and pubs in Britain and Ireland). The guy at check-in didn't seem overly friendly and was clearly not one of the Irish members of staff, but all the rest of the staff were great and it was lovely hearing the Irish brogue. We had our 4-course-dinner at the restaurant - food was very good! - and the second night ate at the pub, where the food was also quite yummy if slightly overpriced. Drinks were pricey, too, but then again, you don't get Magners on draught all the time, do you :-)). What we found a little annoying was the fact that they had some construction going on late into the evening on Friday and Saturday, with drilling etc. - surely that could have waited until during the week when the place wouldn't have been full of guests who were all looking for a quiet countryside getaway!!
All in all, I would really recommend it - the area is beautiful, lots of wineries and charm! On Saturday, we went to a State Park (Sky Meadows or something) which was virtually minutes away from the B&B and took a lovely hike, so that's something nice to do.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We went to Blackthorne Inn as a getaway for my boyfriend's birthday. It was so close, yet so far away! Very cozy room, beautiful grounds, delicious food and incredibly friendly staff! I hated to leave!!! We can not wait to get back for another stay! I would highly reccomend the Blackthorne Inn to anyone looking for a wonderful, relaxing getaway to the gorgeous hunt country for a night or an entire week!

Room Tip: They Kerry room had a gorgeous view and all of the ammenitites we were lookng for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed in one of the cabins for a 2 day get away. The cabin was unbelievable, there was a fireplace, hot tub for 2 and an over sized king canopy bed. The property was beautiful, well maintain and the staff was so gracious.

The location was right in the middle of horse and wine country with some of the most beautiful scenery I have ever seen. I can't recommend this place enough.

Room Tip: Choose one of the cabins
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purcellville VA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

On October 7, 2011 our son got married. He and his fiancee Kelli chose The Blackthorne Inn for their reception and the owners catered to our every need for 4 days of parties, and festiviaties. A huge part of their decision was the fact that the Inn is owned by an Irish family. Members of the bridal party travelled from Ireland for this happy occasion. They booked all the cabins for 3 nights, and then the party began.

We had dinner for the two families on Thursday evening.Approximately, 40 guests. The food was exceptional. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and kind.

Only if we had had the wedding in Ireland would it have been any better! This family is exceptional. The food was delicious, Shame you did us proud.!!! Thank you thank you thank you.

Again, the food at the reception was hot, delicious and plentiful. At the end of the reception, we headed to the bar on the upper level and continued to celebrate till the wee hours of the morning. Couldn't have been more perfect. A huge thank you to Sharon for all her help and patience in the planning. A day and night to remember.Slainte

Room Tip: Enjoy the food and stay the night. Wonderful cabins and delicious breakfast the next day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant

Address: 10087 John S. Mosby Highway, Upperville, VA 20184 (Formerly "1763 Inn")
Location: United States > Virginia > Upperville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Upperville
Also Known As:
The Blackthorne Inn And Restaurant Hotel Upperville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant to your Saves list