We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Upperville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant
Save
You added The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant to your Saves list
10087 John S. Mosby Highway, Upperville, VA 20184 (Formerly "1763 Inn")   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Upperville B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't bother!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

Gorgeous location and the food is good but the cabins are in dire need of a handyman and an exterminator! Not worth the money!!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bheins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

"rustic" and badly maintained is not the same thing! Bed was big but sheets and bedding old and creepy=not clean. AC was a small window unit that was turned off on our arrival a 90+ degree day... bathroom was beyond horrible! It was tiny, shower is leaking, dirty showercurtain no shelf or any kind of place to put shampoo etc. towels didnt even fit in the bathroom they were placed outside... no hairdryer... the phone was not working in the room and there is absolutely no cellphone service, do i need to mention no internet?
the noice from the acorns falling on the roof at nite was unbareble, had to leave music on the tv + use earplugs to get any sleep at all.
breakfast left a lot more to ask for service was terrible, didnt even get a coffee refill...

would absolutely not recommend this place to my worst enemy!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank niceadvice_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

Was there for my birthday with my husband and stayed in the Wexford Cottage. Very quaint, cozy, charming and quiet. It was a cute, rustic log cabin. Very clean, very comfortable bed with nice bedding. Gorgeous stone fireplace in the cabin, but didn't use it since it is summertime :-)
I thought it was well maintained considering it is a log cabin. The dinner in the dining room was delicious and our service was great. I loved our entire meal. After dinner, we went to the Irish Pub and sat outside on the stone patio and again, had great service. Late night we moved inside into the pub and really enjoyed the ambiance and drinks. Our breakfast the next morning was again delicious and served very quickly. I thouroughly enjoyed myself and thought this was a wonderful overnight getaway with my husband.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TKM_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

Stayed here while visiting family in Middleburg. It looks as though they have fixed the place up quite a bit as I did not see any of the negatives that other reviewers mentioned. While a little bit more than a usual hotel, the excellent food at the restaurant/pub and the history of the property (George Washington's) more than made up for it.

Will definitely attend again!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frnkszigic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

Luckily we stayed only one night. We were so disappointed that for slightly more money we could have stayed at the Ashby Inn--a wonderful place nearby. We thought we'd try something new and closer to our event venue but were remiss to not check reviews. We paid $200 for a room on a Monday night. Outrageous for the accomodations' condition. The pictures on the website did not represent our room at all. The peeling wallpaper, sad decor, horribly uncomfortable bed, rattling window air conditioner and rotting wood from the drip underneath it, door frame falling apart.... We didn't even want to shower there. The restaurant for breakfast? Flies/bugs in the windowsills, sad breakfast (no menu/choice--we were asked only how we liked our eggs with no explancation or choice of menu. We were served watery coffee, cold toast, fat soaked bacon, overcooked eggs, withered grapes that shouldn't be plated. So we left and enjoyed lovely fresh croissant at the bakery in Middleburg. While the location is indeed lovely for a wedding or event, I would not recommend sleeping here.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodieInArlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carroxu
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

We had our wedding at the Blackthorne and it was beautiful! The food was amazing and the scenery you cant beat, our pictures turned out beautiful. The atmosphere is awesome, the owners make you feel like family. We have been back many times for dinner and drinks and it is an awesome place to go. Dont miss out on this place, it is truly something special.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carroxu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

There is a fine line between "rustic" and "not maintained." The pricepoint charged far exceeded the accommodations provided. For $50 more, we could have stayed at the Ritz Carlton in Downtown DC.
There were dead flies in the windowsills, rust and cobwebs in the shower, exposed light fixtures, chipping paint (if painted at all), broken mirror frames, and a bed that squeeked terribly.
The next romantic getaway will be the Ritz!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Run down condition
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WickedVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upperville
20.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Warrenton
Hampton Inn Warrenton
#1 of 6 in Warrenton
4.5 of 5 stars 330 reviews
16.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
14.0 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Airlie
Airlie
#3 of 6 in Warrenton
4.0 of 5 stars 118 reviews
21.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Leesburg
9.2 mi away
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
#2 of 8 in Middleburg
5.0 of 5 stars 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant

Address: 10087 John S. Mosby Highway, Upperville, VA 20184 (Formerly "1763 Inn")
Location: United States > Virginia > Upperville
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Upperville
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
The Blackthorne Inn And Restaurant Hotel Upperville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing